We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place with wonderful staff!”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I picked Samaya Ubud for my birthday trip in Bali and we are glad we chose Samaya!

We were warmly welcomed when we arrived and throughout the stay, the service was impeccable in all parts of Samaya. We were chauffeured to and fetched from all the different places within Ubud which we visited and there wasn't much waiting time.

This was our second trip to Bali. Recently, we went back to Bali again for the third time and tried another resort villa which was of similar price range as The Samaya and when we compared the two experiences, we felt that Samaya Ubud was much better.

All in all, we loved the place and would certainly recommend it as we had a really pleasant experience!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    80
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
191
848
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

It is a beautiful resort. Quiet and relaxing with great staffs that attention to details. I had my wedding here and I couldn't be more happy with all the arrangements. Everything was perfect. All the staffs are so friendly and catered to all our needs.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boat338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
577 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Samaya is in a class of it's own. I have never experienced such wonderful service. The staff could not do enough for you. The villas are beautiful ....we didn't want to leave the complex at all. Although the villas are outside of Ubud the resort provides a shuttle into town whenever you wish to go.The food was very good in the restaurant and both breakfast and afternoon tea are included.We spent some time in the spa too and were throughly pampered by the girls there.
I would go there again without a moments hesitation !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andream0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is one of the best resort that we have ever stayed. The resort concierge is on top of the hill and over look the Bali's signature 'Rice Field'.

Our Villa is right next to the river. You can constantly hear the sound of river stream. The villa has really good villa setup. You can have all the privacy you need and the best part is, you don't hear any crazy traffic and tourist noise!

The resort staffs are very friendly too. We stayed there for 5 days and the 1st day they already know our name and it make you feel special...

The only crazy experience we had was the driver from the Resort... He was a bit dangerous (if you know the road to Ubud) and on the way back to the airport, he was dozing off and we had to yell at him.

Room Tip: Room next to the river is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillyBBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

If you are deciding between the many villas that Ubud has to offer, look no further cos Samaya is no doubt the best choice ever. My wife and I cannot sing enough praises for this place. Everything from the environment to the food to the butlers spell perfection. Of course, this is not with its tiny winy flaws such as stained floor tiles and part of its curtains were slightly mouldy, which I believe after they read this review they'll pay attention it. We also like it that the resort service manager actually welcomed us personally during our arrival and all the staff in the villa addressed us by our names.
3 nights for us is not enough. We're now already contemplating our next trip to Samaya very soon.
Thank you for giving us such a wonderful experience. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gyrineum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK, North America etc
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The service was impeccable, the villa was clean, modern and beautiful. I cannot say enough great things about this hotel and the staff. it is ideal for a couple looking for a private,relaxing place to stay.
We stayed in one of the riverside villas. All the food was delicious but breakfast was especially so and you can have it in the villa, out in the garden or on the terrace overlooking beautiful rice paddies. The hotel offers walks around the rice paddies which I would highly recommend. I would also recommend Monkey forest (don't buy the bananas if you don't want to be harangued by the monkeys). Ubud itself is interesting but only for a day or two so we hired a car with driver for the day to explore the main attractions in the area and around Bali for only 60 euros for the day - highly recommended.

Room Tip: riverside villas have a great view of the river, wonderful in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biztraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I came to Ubud as part of our honeymoon and wow it is a must. Perfect rooms - lots of space and everybeed catered for from Bose docking station to free DVDs, perfect staff who smile everyday and where nothing is too much trouble. All our needs catered for inc special requests for food that were not in the menu. Free afternoon tea and if you like a specific cake they will make them just for you on the days you require. Spa was amazing and again wanted to please. If you fancy nightlife there is a free car that takes you into Ubud but we were more than happy with the food and service in the hotel but did venture into town once and there were plenty of bars and restaurants. Breakfast was first class and again they would make anything if. It on the menu. Also, another plus point was that breakfast didnt finish so you could have it anytime if day if you wanted to sleep till lunch! Served in room ir in restaurant. Pools in villas were large enough to swim in and clean. The whole resort was well maintained. There were buggys to take you around if you didn't fancy the walk. Views were delightful over the padi fields. If you want a really lively resort this ain't for you but if you want to have the luxury if a private pool, excellent service and nightlife just at your fingertips, this is the place to come! Thank you Samaya

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.9 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
220 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,022 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,849 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
703 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 198 in Ubud
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Destinology, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing