We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must in Bali....Just a piece of Paradise !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

This is the first time we will write a review while we are still staying in the hotel....no words to tell how perfect it is !
Each person in the staff calls you by your name, at the restaurants, the lobby, the spa, .... never lived such an experience :-)
Everything is done for our confort and privacy. The hotel & staff do everything to match your planning (breakfast at any time in your room by uour pool or at the restaurant, cleaning when you are not in the room,.....)
Great complementary activities and services : shuttle for the nearby area, trekking in the morning, cycling in the afternoon and afternoon tea....everything is perfect !
We do not want to leave this hotel anymore !!!! Just found paradise !

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romain_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed at the Samaya Villas in Ubub from 3 May 2012 for 4 nights. The previous reviews say it all. If you are looking for a place to unwind, feel like part a family and to be treated like royalty then stay at the Samaya. We could not fault the friendly and efficient service we received by all members of staff. We stayed in the river villas and they are beautiful. The views and the sound of the river next to your villa are amazing. The food in the restaurants and room service were fantastic. Breakfast in the restaurant is better as the views of the rice fields are spectacular and everything on the menu is first class with all breads and pastries being cooked at the Samaya and delivered fresh from ovens. Highly recommend the pancakes too. Shuttle to and from Ubud is so easy and efficient. I cannot recommend these villas enough and cannot wait to return and also try the Samaya at Seminyak.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

On arrival at Samaya Ubud you go down a badly maintained road and wonder what you are in for and then when you turn into the resort itself the world changes and you feel you have made the right decision.
On arrival at the main foyer we were greeted with necklaces of frangipanis and warm welcomes from everyone. We were greeted by senior staff and shown the unbelievable view from the top of the hill. In the distance at the bottom we could just make out what would be the river our villa would ajoin.
We were taken by electric buggy down the hill on well maintained paths and were shown all the amenities we might choose to avail ourselves of. At the gorgeous Swept Away restaurant we were introduced to the manager Wayan who was warm, engaging and a delight to talk to.
When we got to our villa we were welcomed with a fresh fruit cocktail and we checked in (at the villa).
The villa we chose was on the river and the view was spectacular. The pool and garden surrounding were lovely as were the day beds under a balinese gazebo.
The bed was fantastic as was the bathroom and spa. The large screen Samsung TV and DVD was a nice touch.
The villa, to me, seemed a little worn but in great shape nevertheless. This was a surprise as the resort has only been operational for under 2 years although it took a very long time to build.
The best part of our 4 day stay was the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Any time day or night you simply rang 0 and your every wish was granted. You were made to feel at all times that it was their pleasure to serve you. The food was simply amazing and you could decide when and where you wanted to eat every meal (eg in the villa, in the garden at a restaurant etc).
We have been to Ubud before and experienced the Pita Maha. Whilst the Pita Maha had better villas the Samaya had the best view, best food, and best butler service we have ever experienced.
We will be sure to return when funds allow.
When we left I was impressed with the manager's desire to get feedback on every aspect of our stay. He seemed determined to ensure that our feedback would result in even better treatment of guests.

Stayed: May 2012
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I picked Samaya Ubud for my birthday trip in Bali and we are glad we chose Samaya!

We were warmly welcomed when we arrived and throughout the stay, the service was impeccable in all parts of Samaya. We were chauffeured to and fetched from all the different places within Ubud which we visited and there wasn't much waiting time.

This was our second trip to Bali. Recently, we went back to Bali again for the third time and tried another resort villa which was of similar price range as The Samaya and when we compared the two experiences, we felt that Samaya Ubud was much better.

All in all, we loved the place and would certainly recommend it as we had a really pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaithLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

It is a beautiful resort. Quiet and relaxing with great staffs that attention to details. I had my wedding here and I couldn't be more happy with all the arrangements. Everything was perfect. All the staffs are so friendly and catered to all our needs.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boat338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Samaya is in a class of it's own. I have never experienced such wonderful service. The staff could not do enough for you. The villas are beautiful ....we didn't want to leave the complex at all. Although the villas are outside of Ubud the resort provides a shuttle into town whenever you wish to go.The food was very good in the restaurant and both breakfast and afternoon tea are included.We spent some time in the spa too and were throughly pampered by the girls there.
I would go there again without a moments hesitation !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andream0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is one of the best resort that we have ever stayed. The resort concierge is on top of the hill and over look the Bali's signature 'Rice Field'.

Our Villa is right next to the river. You can constantly hear the sound of river stream. The villa has really good villa setup. You can have all the privacy you need and the best part is, you don't hear any crazy traffic and tourist noise!

The resort staffs are very friendly too. We stayed there for 5 days and the 1st day they already know our name and it make you feel special...

The only crazy experience we had was the driver from the Resort... He was a bit dangerous (if you know the road to Ubud) and on the way back to the airport, he was dozing off and we had to yell at him.

Room Tip: Room next to the river is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillyBBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,287 reviews
2 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
287 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
3 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#2 of 199 in Ubud
509 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £221 - £489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing