We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Paradise Simply Sublime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
“A Paradise Simply Sublime!”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Great friendly staff. My wife and I spent two nights in a Hillside Villa on honeymoon. Lovely place. They had flowers on our door mat and also our bathroom jacuzzi. Huge bathroom and bedroom. Very nice pool and great day bed by the pool where we had our daily breakfast delivered and setup by our private butlers. Can't say enough good things about it. The entire place is well kept and joy to be in. Went for a local bicycle ride around the paddy fields. Swept away restaurant is a must go beautifully located next to Ayung river. Sound of river flowing in one of the most romantic setting at night. My wife didnt want to leave!!!

Room Tip: I would try the Ayung rooms in future as they are located right next to Ayung river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyChu178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    78
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
183
827
25
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Samaya takes your breath away. All the staff provided not only impeccable service but done with such warmth and care you just want to stay!! The head butler (Joe?) - go girl! Was delightful and provided great information and also organized a care package as the products they use (shampoo etc) was truly glorious. From management to girls on the desk to the ever fantastic butlers and smiley security and gardeners - all this made The Samaya experience one to remember! Afternoon tea -delicious- Swept Away Restaurant- delicious, room service -delicious need I say more - thank you!

Room Tip: hill side villa was great but realistically views are from restaurant and breakfast dining overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Just came back from the samaya ubud after 4d3n trip to ubud ,bali. What should I say? This villa resort is an unique top class resort with world class service staff, food (bbq dinner, international cusine and complimentary daily afternoon tea)from 'swept away' restaurant really swept me
Away with its romantic ambience and splendid food. Everywhere I go I am greeted by friendly resort staffs and managers. They even provide daily newsletter with guest name printed on it! How lovely. My wife and I are quite sad leaving this resort today to return to our home. How we wish to stay a couple of days in this resort. The villa (hill side villa) is amazing with spacious bathroom and our very own jacuzzi , own private swimming pools, gazebo and king size bed! They even provide free shuttle service n pick up to ubud and airport. Their spa service and couple treatment room have great view of the adjacent ayung river and their spa treatment price is reasonable and world class. If you are travelling to Bali and planning a stay over at ubud. Look no further, the samaya ubud will provide you an enjoyable experience and memory that will last for a lifetime !! My special thanks to the resort manager mr kadek and his team

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satjexon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My wife and I celebrated her birthday here for a 4 days in the Ayung Villas and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff are super tentative and the service is first class, quality food is served in the restaurant where we dined twice. Breakfast is also very good and served either on the terrace with spectacular views or in the privacy of the villa. The hotel is located about 20 mins drive from the 'back packer' Ubud, so the location is perfect for people looking to escape and relax + enjoy the local views. The hotel offers an efficient (& free) taxi service to Ubud, so convenience is not a problem. The only slightly negative aspect is they could had spent a little more on the decor, especially when you consider the excellent Indonesian furniture which is available but don't let this minor aspect deter you as the place is fantastic. Will defo be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LILYandSAMHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My wife and I spent 6 days at The Samaya at Ubud in April 2012. The pool villas were delightful with great foliage around the pool, although the trade off is slightly cooler water in the pool. The boutique resort pool was excellent. Food at Swept Away (and in room) was very high quality. Whilst the wine list was as expected in Bali (expensive and average quality) at least the menu included a full page explanation of the diiifculties of importing wine into Indonesia and the frustrations faced by the hospitality industry. The highlight of the stay was the quality of the staff (with no exceptions), always very friendly and highly competent. Whilst the resort is not walking distance to Ubud central, the location on the river is great and the shuttle bus service very efficient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I and my wife were at the Samaya to celebrate our Silver Anniversary and I had chosen the Samaya at Ubud after having gone through reviews on trip advisor. Surprisingly for the first time the hotel exceeded on each count over what ever I had read on the reviews. The pick up at the airport is the start of a delightful journey where the driver greeted me and my wife with our first names. There were cold towels, water bottles and fruits as a part of the welcome kit. The driver was well aware that we were celebrating our silver anniversary! The drive to the hotel was perfect. However The location is such that as you enter you may be led to feel that you have perhaps landed at the wrong place. Don't worry, the real story starts now. An amazing paradise unfolds as you enter the campus. The welcome is so warm that you would have to look back in your own past if you had ever been welcomed so warmly. Garlands of white flowers are showered on you by the resort manager himself. Every staff member is aware of your name and welcoming you with your first name. We were straight away led to our villa through a golf cart, The villa we stayed was the Ayung River facing villa. The villa is simply amazing. Superb layout, great pool, nice gazebo, riverside sitout, a modern jacuzzi and lots more. We had superb afternoon tea with lots of accompaniments which was unbelievable. Morning breakfasts were amazing. Being strict vegetarians was no handicap, there were amazing varieties and being offered by ever smiling and helpful staff. The butler service to the villas is very efficient and they go to any extent to satisfy you and each little request is seriously attended to. On the penultimate day the front office staff on their own asked for my air tickets to carry out the web checkin. A note was also placed on the bed to inform us to carry Indonesian currency with us till the end as a departure tax of Rupaiya 150000 per person needs to be paid while departing from Bali airport. To sum up, me and my wife had the greatest vacation of our life at the Samaya. The hospitality was unforgettable and the grand views from the villa would remain painted in my mind like a picture postcard!

Room Tip: I would suggest the river side villas to all who don't mind paying the little bit extra which fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanjay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tata Steel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

:):):):) A very enjoyable stay in Samaya, Ubud. We stayed here for a few nights in May 2012.Our tour package was made from Antilog Vacations which offer good deals on Bali stay and sightseeing packages online.Our trip was booked frm India for 6 day stay at this place.

The resort concierge is on top of the hill and over look the Bali's signature 'Rice Field'. Our Villa was right next to the river. You could constantly hear the sound of river stream. Such a calming effect it had! The villa was kept well maintained. The rooms and the bathrooms were clean and all the basic amenities were present. The staff was very diligent, dedicated, sincere, friendly and devoted to its work with a broad smile always on their faces. The hotel worked out of its way to please the guests. You could have all the privacy you need and the best part is you don't hear any crazy traffic and tourist noise!

We did a rice field trekking one morning with two of the staff members which we liked a lot, too. Breakfast was another highlight. We enjoyed it at the Scene Restaurant on top of the hill - close to our villa. The views at breakfast in the Scene restaurant are truly spectacular with the terraced rice fields in the foreground giving way to the palm trees and mountains in the distance and the food so good!! We did the dinners at the Swept Away and it also served so exquisite delicacies.

There is a very efficient, flexible and complimentary car service in to Ubud which allows you to explore the town and it's many restaurants (we would recommend Sari Organic for lunch and Melting Pot Warung for dinner - need to book for both). There were buggies to take you around if you didn't fancy the walk. Spa was amazing and again wanted to please. I would also recommend Monkey forest (don't buy the bananas if you don't want to be harangued by the monkeys).

********A word of praise for Antilog , our travel agent , as well.They gave us a good budgeted package cheaper than what others were offering and gave very good services which one expects on such an overseas tour.Kudos********

All in all, it is a must visit place for all, every age group.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mahendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
977 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
997 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 195 in Ubud
194 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 195 in Ubud
464 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Destinology, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing