We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pause to truly feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A pause to truly feel”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

From Samaya Seminyak we proceeded to samaya Ubud. After watching the blockbuster 'eat, pray, love" we were pretty excited. Coming from Sri Lanka, we were amazed at the similarities of the terrain. Our villa close to the spa was truly a pleasure for leisure. We let our selves be pampered by the ever attentive and smiling staff. There's so much love and passion in every staff member, it's truly truly enchanting. The bike ride at 8 am started off pretty smooth. Mid way, we needed to ride through the paddy fields. Wow, that was treacherous specially for some of us who hadn't touched a bike for almost a decade :) the uphill ride was truly an energy taxer. But the amiable guide made it all worthwhile with his encouraging smile. The city of Ubud was a bit disappointing. My advice would be to stay in and enjoy the sounds of silence of this beautiful country home away from home.

Room Tip: The villa closest to the spa was really useful as it was in close proximity to the swept away restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    80
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
191
848
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I would go back to Bali just to stay at the Samaya Ubud again. The views are breathtaking, the rooms are private and indulgent and the service is like none other. Long story short, there was a mix-up with our reservation and the staff at the Samaya Ubud went so far above and beyond that they made our vacation unforgettable. The breakfasts and afternoon tea at both locations are simply the best anywhere and both the Ubud and Seminyak locations are simply perfect. Thank you to the staff for taking such great care of us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanghaisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We spent 6 blissful nights at the Samaya ib Ubud and were very sad to leave , all the staff make a point of gettting to know you and this friendly atmosphere become a very important part of your stay .
The butler service is excellent and now we are in the Samaya Seminyak we have something to compaire giving Ubud 10 out of 10. Thank you Wayan and all your staff for a wonderfully time and taking time out to meet us.
The voice of the river will stay with me for some time .
Denise & Andrew Pepper
Perth

Room Tip: The river villas are very cool with a lot less humidity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Wayan and his team at the Ubud Samaya are just wonderful. The hotel is a real gem hidden away in the jungle. Do not be put off by the road leading to the hotel! They think of everything for you, attention to detail is fantastic. The atmosphere is so tranquil you cant help but relax and unwind. The rooms are spotless and the bathroom...wow it's amazing, and the outdoor space is wonderful. A true haven for couples looking for some privacy and R&R.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetcherrypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, Warks
Level Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Where to start ....... The samaya ubud is the most fantastic experience ever. If TA had a ten star button we'd press it ! We've just spent five wonderful days there , the whole experience superseded anything we've had before and we are lucky enough to be seasoned travellers at five star venues, this is truly five star. The staff are wonderful and so genuine, Eka, kebet and budi (sorry for bad spellings!) we're some of the friendly faces who made our stay so pleasurable as well as Dennis and the fantastic breakfast girls. I can't explain how great the customer service was, the 24hr butler service is brilliant, afternoon tea and breakfast are sumptuous and the samaya staff serve it literally when and wherever you want. We ate at swept away one night and had the fish barbecue , I can't describe in words how good it was. We had villa 105 (ask for it when booking) ,its modern and spacious with a great pool and gazebo , couldn't fault it , it's 100% private also . You have free bike ride and trek should you want it , free wireless net obviously and Wayang the manager is always on hand if needed. This is truley five star and no wonder the rave reviews they receive !!!!!! The staff are an absolute credit to the resort. So some tips!
- the resort is on a very steep hill, but don't worry the butlers have golf buggys to zoom you around in and are prompt and always on time
- 105 is a cracking villa
- swept away is a must, wine is expensive but the food ism first class
- ask for a picnic breakfast down by the river, a wonderful experience
- the spa was wonderful, we had the two hr couples ritual of royalty , highly recommended.
- They have a free shuttle bus which leaves and collects at our connivence
- you can swim in the river but the currents fairly strong ;-)
- if you need anything just press zero on the phone and the samaya do the rest
- if you do the bike ride its not exactly easy but if you tell them what out like they will adjust the route to suit.

We were there on honeymoon and the treats and surprises never stopped but we won't ruin that for others ;-) don't bother trawling the net looking at other resorts, this is the one trust us, it blew both my wife's and my minds !!!!!!

We are now off to the samaya seminyak for seven nights ;-)

A&A

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AALowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We recently stayed in the Samaya Ubud, it is one of the highlights of our trip to Bali, the location and privacy of the hotel is amazing, its real hideaway! Upon being taken to our villa we were very impressed by the attention to amenities in the room. They do provide almost everything you require even after sun cream! The room itself was a more modern design then the rest we stayed in, and it was beautifully fresh and clean. Every morning the breakfast is set overlooking the rice paddys of Ubud and it truly is a beautiful place to have breakfast, with lots of good options for breakfast itself (everything is al la carte). I was also happy that the manager personally greeted all the guest every morning and was very attentive with anything that might be a concern. The hotel is not near many of the main tourist areas of Ubud, they do offer a free shuttle service though to most of the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebec_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We recently spent 2 weeks in Bali (our fifth trip) and travelled from Nusa Dua, to Ubud to Jimbaran Bay. The Samaya Ubud was the highlight of them all.

We stayed in a Royal Villa, which had a huge pool, beautifully appointed room with everything you could ever need. The peacefulness of the villa's was amazing, we felt so relaxed and alone even though the resort is right next door to a local village.

Service was a real highlight. And also sophisticated. They knew when you were out to clean up the room, to turn down service even think to delay your afternoon tea till you returned. When you combine this with some of the friendliest/best service we've had in Bali - it was magnificent. They truly went above and beyond to ensure you were enjoying your stay.

Food was wonderful. The breakfast was served overlooking a valley and rice paddies, beautiful setting. Lunch or dinner was in Breezes, great food and overlooking the river. So peaceful. Afternoon tea was actually a bit of a highlight each day as it was so good. Savoury sandwiches, scones (with the best home made jam) and sweet treats.

All up I can't recommend the Samaya highly enough. Having been to Ubud a number of times I feel this is the best in Ubud and it's certainly matched (if not bettered) it's sister resort in Seminyak which is another favourite of ours.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneytravelbug71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.9 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
220 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,022 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,852 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
703 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 198 in Ubud
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, Destinology, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing