We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could feel myself unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

After a heavy year of work I was looking for a place that I could really unwind,
We found it with this hotel.
From the moment we checked in the service was amazing, no rush, just attentive service.
Our villa was on the hillside overlooking paddy fields and then jungle.
We had an amazing space with huge bathroom opening onto our own manicured garfen with private pool.
I loved this place, the manager made a point of coming to see us to check everything was good a couple of times, our butler took care of everything, from making any bookings to supplying us with complimentary afternoon tea,
If you want a great place to switch off, this is it

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikesfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

The villa is very nice . The room is spacious. The swimming pool very big for villa standard and the breakfast very amazing and also the afternoon tea. I love everything about the villa, the view and the service. Very recomended .they have beautiful restaurant near ayung rivier.i will love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was quite simply spectacular! Nothing was too much effort for the staff and service is excellent. The hillside villa was just perfect - private pool, jacuzzi, beautiful room - the works!
You pay a bit extra but it is well worth it; considering we're from Perth where a similar price/night would not get you a third of the experience to say nothing of the service.
As a day excursion the whitewater rafting in the area was heaps of fun too!
We are so staying here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This was our second holiday staying at the Samaya Ubud (the first was two years ago).

It was just as fabulous and the people just as friendly as the first time. There was a lot of "welcome home" which was a bit cheesy, but endearing.

This time we took the "Samaya Experience" package (2 nights in Ubud and 3 in Seminyak).

Ubud was relaxing and just what we needed. Seminyak has more activity.

Both are fabulous, although for long weekends we prefer Ubud because of the complete relaxation of the place and the people.

But there is nothing to fault in either location.

Just fabulous people and perfect service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin_and_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Staying at the Samaya Ubud was a wonderful experience in every way.

Friendly and attentive service.
Clean and luxurious amenities and rooms.
Beautiful grounds.
Delicious food and serene restaurants.
Awesome spa and gym.
Built for complete relaxation and privacy.

I cannot say enough great things about The Samaya Ubud!

Room Tip: We were right next to the river with a private pool and a view of a waterfall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Service was fantastic helped with any problems or information but not intrusive amazed about this place especially our butler who's name I sadly forgot. At the hotel reception, were warmly greeted by Wayan, the hotel manager, who was so kind and would do anything for you and gave a complimentary upgrade to me what seemed to be their largest villa with a huge pool 1.8m deep both ends and a gazebo with complimentary afternoon tea. YES! They provide daily afternoon tea and you can opt to have it in your villa or at the Swept Away restaurant with the gushing river view . They have cooking lessons where you go shopping with the Chef early in the morning at their local market must for the people who like to cook. DO not have breakfast if so very very light one. Have the B-B-Q on a different night ( so much food) Food service was very quick and of very high standard. Trekking and cycling (not for beginners as you ride on main rd and you need to have your experience in heavy traffic) great and had a local guide who lives next door and invited me into his house and meet his family and his pigs and his 50 fish in his fish pond which he love so much.
In addition, for guests who would like to make trips to Ubud central for shopping and dining, the hotel provides flexible and complimentary transport. This was great and you do not want to drive in UBUD. They really spare no expense in making you feel at home. What I really love about the hotel apart from their excellent service, are their green efforts and the fact that they are a very inclusive hotel. As the hotel is nestled right in the middle of small villages, villagers often walk into the hotel compound to fetch spring water.
Thank you Samaya for a very relaxing time and wonderful hospitality will definitely be returning. I have posted this place on the notice board at work and pass on to others Cheers mate Roger from down under.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We could not fault the service at the Samaya. We went there for a bit of relaxation after a hectic 7 days in Seminyak with a heap of other people and it was a fantastic way to end our trip to Bali - and have some time to our selves. The food was so good we didn't bother going anywhere else to eat. We have never stayed anywhere else where we felt so welcome and pampered!

We have recommended the Samaya to heaps of other couples since we got back.

Many thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara1967WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
268 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,226 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#2 of 199 in Ubud
506 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £242 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing