We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samaya Bali Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #3 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I stayed at The Samaya in Ubud with 2 friends in March 2012. We stayed in a hillside villa and the view was peaceful.
The villa itself was large and comfortable, the bathroom was huge! Especially enjoyed the pool and outside "canopied sitting area".
The staff were extremely accommodating, especially as we were visiting during Balinese New Year and wanted to go on a trek.
There is only one point that I wanted to bring up, because the resort is rather large, you need to be "golf carted" around the place - the staff are excellent in timing to pick you up, but it just means you can't wander around as much.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecrickettragic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    78
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
178
820
24
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

This was our first trip to Bali, & it will certainly not be our last! The Samaya is a true slice of paradise, if you want to escape the world & just be looked after. Nothing is too much trouble for Wayan & his team. My boyfriend & I felt this could be quite simply the most relaxing hotel we have ever stayed in, albeit within easy reach of the bars, temples & tourist-bustle of Ubud centre. A couple's session in the Spa is not to be missed - yes, you can get cheaper treatments in the myriad of backstreet spas downtown, but nothing compares to the sheer luxury of the double-spa treatment rooms overlooking the Ayung River at Samaya. The villas are luxurious & spotlessly clean, the staff fall over themselves to help you, & small touches like complimentary afternoon tea & a shuttle bus into Ubud on demand ensure you will never want to leave. You have been warned! Leaving will be agony ...

Room Tip: We stayed in an Ayung River, which was perched right beside the rushing water. I doubt you can go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capability_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Don't quite know where to start. The experience was great on so many fronts - beautiful scenery, lovely villas, excellent food in amazing setting, fabulous massage, good location (near enough to ubud town centre and other 5 star properties, yet secluded enough to feel like you're getting away from it all), etc.

But the one thing that truly stands out is service. Personalized, attentive, unintrusive, genuine, sincere, polished yet relaxed. Amazing attention to detail and coordination between the staff.

Looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the most basic villa and it was luxury enough for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royianmintoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and those who know us well are not surprised ! It's really everything you could dream of in a world class resort ; beautiful surroundings , first class service food drinks and villas fit for royalty , yet every time we come here they treat us like family ; albeit royal family ! Nothing is too much to ask for here ; not that we are demanding , but they remember everything from your favourite coffee or cocktail to your newest food fad like being a vegan for a few days :-) I've come here solo and with my beloved husband and I just can't imagine staying anywhere else in Ubud .

Once again Wayan the GM and his amazing team have surprised delighted and never disappointed us with their dedication and excellence . Don't try anywhere else just go for the best !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We loved everything about our stay at the Samaya Ubud. Our originally planned 3 nights turned into 6 as we just did not want to leave what felt like our own luxurious nest. Breakfast was the best I've had in most hotels anywhere and far above the Bali norm. The flaky croissants, homemade jams, freshly squeezed juices and artfully arranged made -to -order egg dishes were motivation enough to leave our bubble. You can have breakfast in the villa, but the view from the lobby restaurant is so inspiring, it is worth climbing or riding a buggy up the hill to take in the terraced hillside. Afternoon tea at Swept Away was an afternoon delight. In the spacious hillside villa, the bathroom and amenities were a treat. Private pool, room service and gazebo got a lot of use. The service was so friendly, professional and attentive. Personal butler always on hand to help. We loved this place and will definitely return. You just get so much service and pleasure for your money.

Only gripe was the flea-ridden cushions of the outdoor furniture - I was covered with bites before I realized it! Not much to be done except spray.

We did not try the spa, as Ubud town has so many good value day spas.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swissmiss108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just returned from a one week holiday at Samaya Ubud, we stayed in the river villas and then moved to the Royal villas. We started with some changes as we had an extra person coming last minute and three people arrive one day late, but Wayan and his team managed to make all the necessary changes to accomodate our needs at short notice. We found that there was an abundance of staff and they were very helpful, happy and non intrusive. The river restaurant is in a beautful setting and the meals also impressive, but I think one of the best touches is the afternoon tea each day by the river, sets the afternoon tone of relaxation. We also did the cooking class and a trip to the market with the Chef Locka which we enjoyed. Another enjoyable activity was a walking trip thru the rice fields with a guide, very interesting and we found an enterprising man had opened a small bar on the edge of the rice field on the return leg of the trip, we also did the short course white water rafting which was fantastic. We had a wonderful time and intend going back to Samaya Ubud for a longer holiday when possible.

Room Tip: We preferred the villas along the river, the sound of the rapids is very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNNY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

As Steve said in his comment above the local TEAM that has been built by Samaya Ubud management is a once in a lifetime experience (until we return shortly) that should be enjoyed in one of the most restful, relaxing, quality orientated villa experience that has been our pleasure to enjoy.
The arrival at the reception area was professional and discrete, and then onward to the villa on the hill for a full and enthusiastic orientation by our butler. We had been traveling since 0400 and its now 1500, the lunch we enjoyed was so fresh and tasteful that we just sat in the Swept Away restaurant and felt the life beginning to return to our bodies with the Ayung river flowing right below us, the sound of running water really dispels the cares of the world.

The main reason for this break was to wind down from busy corporate lives and this was certainly attained with our immaculatly kept accomodation and pool and above all not having to think about our daily lives as EVERYTHING is taken care of by the locally trained teams of a genuinely enthusiastic teams admirably conducted by Wayan Suambara and his management team.
Evelyn and I are planning a "Samaya night" with recipes taken from the cd presented to us after our visit to the Ubud market, an unbelievable experience, and then preparing food from the menu under the watchful eye of a very experienced chef (ask for the Rujak dessert dressing which I believe he makes at home for his wife late at night)!
As we said in the header dont tell anyone, tell EVERYONE who wishes to enjoy Balinese quality, about the Samaya Ubud.

Hope we were good guests and we shall see you all again soon.

Room Tip: The villas at the top of the hill are truly private (as they all are) but the leisurely drive by gol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HorizonEHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#5 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing