We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

If you're coming to Bali, you should definitely consider staying at this marvelous resort. My wife and I had the most amazing time. Very relaxing and peaceful. Facilities are excellent and the staff are extremely gracious!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alieh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    79
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
184
828
26
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

This place is amazing! We could not have chosen a better place to relax and unwind.... We stayed for 6 nights in one of the Hill Villa's and loved every moment. The villa's are so beautiful, clean, private and serene and the grounds of the Samaya are stunning. The staff are wonderful and really went out of their way to make sure we were looked after. The food is amazingly good - whether in-house dining or at both of the restaurants. One morning while we were having breakfast over looking the rice fields I asked for some coconut water which was not on the menu.. I couldn't believe it when later that day we were enjoying our afternoon tea at the "Swept Away" restaurant and the wait staff brought out a fresh coconut with a straw and the beautiful coconut water inside! This is only one example of how the amazing staff go above and beyond to make you feel so welcome and cared for.
We did the cooking class which was fantastic - you go for an early morning tour of the local markets which is a highlight, and you get to eat all the beautiful food you have cooked!
We made use of the Spa a couple of times during our stay and I definitely recommend the Hot Stone Massage - it was so relaxing and although the prices are more expensive than the street spa places - it is definitely worth paying extra for the beautiful clean rooms and lovely accommodating therapists who go out of their way to make you comfortable.
I definitely recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a perfect romantic and relaxing holiday... The Samaya Ubud is paradise found!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

My partner and I booked four nights at the samaya during a week off from work, and chose the samaya after looking on tripadvisor. All the positive reviews still can't live up to the reality of the hotel. We stayed in an ayung villa with the river rushing by. Private and luxurious, it was hard to leave the villa, jacuzzi and pool each day, but the golf cart ride up to the breakfast restaurant was worth it for the stunning rice paddy views (and delicious food). Unobtrusive and very helpful staff. Great for a romantic break, not a lot of communal venues that aren't restaurants. An easy and regular shuttle service into ubud or a five dollar cab ride will be quickly arranged when needed. We also took advantage of the free morning bike tour run by the hotel which was an hour and a half through rice paddies and villages, brilliant. Massage at the spa was a treat. All up, we would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

WOW... what more can you say about The Samaya Ubud. Even as return guests the tranquility of this resort still amazes. You never get sick of looking at the beautiful rice fields as you eat your breakfast. The way this resort comes to one with nature is simply inspiring. The grounds are beautiful, the Villas out of this world.
If its in your budget we recommend the villas right on the Agung River, the relaxing sound of running water while sleeping is amazing.
The Spa is worthwhile even though more expensive than the street massage places, the treatment rooms exceptionally clean and the staff more than willing to make your treatment memorable. I prefer to use the in-house spas that way I know I am guaranteed cleanliness.
Wayan the Manager of The Samaya Ubud certainly runs a well oiled machine and this shows in all the staff's attitude and wanting to please guests, no matter what it takes.
The Samaya Ubud have introduced a cooking school and we highly recommend this, the price is more than reasonable for the half day (approximately) of visiting the market and preparing the menu, then enjoying the fruits of your labour by eating it all. We made some changes to the menu which the Chefs, Wayan and IB Loka were willing to accommodate. Included is the apron, note pad and CD which contains all the recipes for future use. IB Loka was amazing in his explanation of each dish.
If you choose the massage Puri the massage therapist was terrific, what ever your needs, she met them and more.
The food is delicious and both in-house restaurants inviting.
We will return next time we are back in Bali and also stay at The Samaya Seminyak and we have no hesitation in recommending The Samaya for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: As per previosuly mentioned, if its in your budget the Villas right on the Agung River are magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my hubby for my first wedding anniversary... Loved the stay and would definitely go back every time i go to bali... Costly but value for money... Amazing villas and service... Personalized care...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santvana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

I was at the Samaya Ubud for 2 nights and wished that I had extended my stay at the resort. I am a hundred percent satisfied with the service provided - everything from the pick up at the airport to the way we were treated on arrival and upon check out. Service was prompt at the times we requested (such as the delivery of breakfast to our villa and the pick-up & drop-off times for the shuttle within Ubud). Our every need was attended to with such professionalism. We also tried out the spa and it was superb! This is by far the best resort we have stayed at and I would highly recommend other couples and families to stay here during their trip to Bali.

Room Tip: The hillside villa is highly recommended - secluded and you have your own private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleTan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We booked the 5N Samaya Experience package which offers a 2N stay at Samaya Ubud followed by 3N stay at Samaya Seminyak. The service at Ubud really deserves a 5 star rating, with super friendly and smiley staff. The breakfast spread and quality was superb. We had breakfast overlooking the paddy fields and it was peaceful and serene. The next day we had breakfast in the villa and it was fantastic too. Didn't dine there so couldn't comment but there's a restaurant next to the river, which looks very good too. There is complimentary transport to town as well, and a complimentary walk to the paddy fields.
We were upgraded to a 2-bedroom villa because the 1-bedroom hill villa was fully booked. The room and toilet is big, but does not look very new. The only grouse we have is that the air-conditioner was leaking the night before we were leaving, but we did not realize it until the next morning. The thing that could be improved is to make the room more luxurious. Somehow the room did not have a very luxurious feel given the pricing. It would have been nicer if the room's flooring is decked out in wood.
Overall, it was still a good experience, with the friendly staff more than making up for anything else. Special thanks to the hotel manager, Mr Wayan, for being such an excellent host.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolTMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#12 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Destinology, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing