We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and awesome breakie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and awesome breakie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with wife and 3 year old daughter.

Room: we had room 202, which was called a hill villa I think. The villa had ample space and a lovely bathroom. We had a great pool with the villa; only comment is that it was 180cm deep which meant we had to keep a very keen eye on little one. The garden has a water feather which is c. 6 feet in diameter and 1 foot deep. We used this as an Ad hoc kids pool.

Service: was great. A small hotel with just 19 villas so all the staff knew your name after first day. Was a bit of a mix up at the airport on arrival., which everyone, including manager, knew ASAP. They were very apologetic and sought to make up for it. We'll managed.

Breakfast: one of our favourite things about the hotel. Saw one comment complaining that there was a lack of buffet. For me, I much prefer the "make fresh to order approach" here. Lots of options and can eat as much as you want. (We pretty much missed lunch on 2 days as enjoyed breakie so much).

Had dinner in the hotel on one evening. Food was great. Loads of options for the little ones as we'll.

Shuttle car: used a number of times and mostly worked very well.

Baby sitter: very good. Always reassuring when the baby sitter speaks very good English.

Overall: really enjoyed it. Took the first day to unwind and get used to slower pace vs hk. Staff are great. The hotel lacks some of the things you might find in a mega hotel (does not have six bars and restaurants) but that's not why you would come here. If you are looking for a hotel that is very relaxed, just 15 mins from ubud and a bit more personal than large international brands, this is a good option.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Holja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    79
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
184
828
26
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights in November 2013.

The service was very attentive without being creepy. It appears that almost everyone knows our name and are very eager to look for ways to make our stay perfect.

The villas very relaxing. The rooms are the perfect size, the bed comfortable, the swimming pool and garden beautiful and the bathroom spacious. Thanks to Samaya, we cancelled a lot of our planned excursions to the city of Ubud and decided to stay in instead. But it was well worth it! On occasions we were able to force ourselves to go out, the hotel's free shuttle service to the city was very accommodating.

The concept of an all day breakfast is genius and the food was top notch! Speaking of food, the creme brulee at the Swept Away restaurant was among the best we ever had. The views from the breakfast restaurant were breathtaking and dining river-side at Swept Away was very calming.

I can't testify much about the Spa because they managed to put me to sleep since the start. All in all, we had a perfect short stay. Would definitely stay here again when we have the chance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed three wonderful nights at the samaya ubud and it is impossible to suggest anything that could improve this fabulous hotel. Right from the start they did everything they can to make our stay a special one by turning up at the airport with a car late at night to pick us up concerned that our travel agent had failed to secure this as part of our booking. This level of thoughtfulness is the core approach for the hotel and all of their staff are the nicest people you could ever meet. We loved our stay at the samaya and would give it a complete ten out of ten for everything. The villas are superb and the grounds to the hotel are incredible. The spa is wonderful and should not be missed. It's the little things like a shuttle car service to take you to Ubud and collect you anytime you want that shows this hotel goes the extra mile. We will definitely stay again and definitely recommend that anyone looking to treat themselves to five star luxury stay here

Room Tip: All rooms are top class
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenwichViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The moment you enter the premises, you know you're in for a treat.

Service was excellent, not pretentious and the staff seemed to want to do everything in their power to ensure that your stay went without a hitch.

The villas were kept clean and although showing a little wear and tear, was extremely comfortable and more than adequate.

This will definitely be the accommodation of choice every time we are in Bali.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here as part of the Samaya Experience package (3 nights in Ubud and 3 in Seminyak). This resort is everything the reviews say, the personal attention, staff remembering our names, the fantastic view of mountains and rice paddies from the restaurant set up for breakfast just for a start!! We started our Bali stay here and it was the perfect spot to unwind, we spent many hours by the pool, swimming, reading and unwinding. The restaurant Swept Away is in a beautiful spot, the food is surprisingly not expensive and absolutely delicious!! My husband left a very clean pile of bones from his duck meal!! The service is second to none....when we went the second night for dinner the lovely waitress remembered what drinks we had the night before and offered to get the same!
My only minor comment would be the bathroom products, they appeared to be a bulk hotel brand, but it all smelled of jasmine and I thought the products at Seminyak were nicer and wonder why they don't use those in Ubud? But that's my only minor comment, because otherwise this is a fantastic resort and we would definitely go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank southcoastgirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

After 5 nights in Samaya Seminyak we came here for 3 nights, completely different but very enjoyable. Remote location, lovely room with pool garden and lounging area. We loved how it was on a hill with beautiful scenery and the river was gorgeous.

Good food, the restaurant by the river was being refurbished but the staff organised a private dinner by the river one evening which was just lovely, made us feel special and great service as they had to go upstairs to the other restaurant to bring the food.

Staff very friendly, best massage we have ever had, great place to relax and to go into UBUD and see the real BALI not touristy area.

Would recommend for pure relaxation but 3 nights is enough and would twin with the Seminyak if also looking for beach relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Classy_Chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Words can't describe the incredible experience we had with the Samaya. We stepped into a tropical paradise and were warmly greeted by the hospitable staff and manager- who upgraded us to a villa with a pool because "he had it open and wanted us to enjoy"-. The property was breathtaking. From the cocktails on the terrace that overlooks the rice paddies, to the Spa in the midst of a tropical foliage, and the Batur River flowing. Our room was perfect and romantic. We woke up to a view of the river and our own private pool. The bathroom was huge and open with a walk in shower and spa bathtub. While we were very busy exploring Ubud, it was great to start the day with a private breakfast in our own cabana, and a cool down in the pool.
The food and drinks were just as delightful. Breakfast had plenty of options and was served as late as you wanted it-I loved this as most resorts have limited breakfast timings. They also had afternoon tea, and happy hour on the terrace. While our schedule only allowed us to dine for dinner two nights, both meals were great. Since we were celebrating our one year anniversary, my husband surprised me with a cabana dinner, and talk about a surprise! We were in the room taking a nap/getting ready for dinner while the staff was right outside transforming our garden into a romantic, flower and candleit haven and I had no idea. The pool was lined with rose petals and candles, our cabana was covered in beautiful floral tendrils, and the yard will filled with beautiful candles and flowers. We were served a delicious three course meal sitting in our cabana, and they even brought us an Ipod with great music and an additional anniversary cake. There were also a few riverside dinners that were being set up while we were there that looked equally as beautiful. The Spa is a must. It is very affordable, and our treatment was wonderful. We splurged on the couples "Energizing" treatment which was three hours of bliss. We were also surprised with a one hour complimentary message which was equally as wonderful. We came to Ubud because of all of the opportunities for active sight seeing. The concierge went above and beyond with assisting us to book all of our activities, arranging drivers, and even packed us a breakfast to go for the day we climbed Mt. Batur. There was a complimentary shuttle to take us into town. As long as we planned ahead with a pick up and drop off time, they were there and we never had to wait. Just plan ahead, because it is about a ten minute drive into Ubud. All in all, this was our best trip we have even taken. I highly recommend the Samaya, it was perfect in every aspect. The staff is so nice, the place is just gorgeous, the food was great, and they will book any activity for you. It was true Bali Bliss.

Room Tip: River View with the private pool. Stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#12 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Destinology, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing