We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury redefined! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

If you can afford the Samaya then look no further - this resort is right there at the very top and rightly so. From the personalized newspapers, to the simple service options, to the riverside restaurant Scene, the Samaya Bali impresses in every way :) This is one resort you have to experience. :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Pushpak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Easily the best hotel/resort I have ever stayed in Bali, if possibly ever. 10/10 service the whole time and great options within the resort. Beautiful rooms. Great experience and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the villas overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

At the time of writing this review there are 590 reviews for The Samaya Ubud, 543 of them are 5 stars. You can feel 100% confident that if you're looking for a breathtakingly fantastic stay then just go, pack your bags and stay at The Samaya Ubud!!

If you need more convincing then I will do my best to convince you.

My partner and I stayed at The Samaya Ubud in a Hillside Villa room for 3 nights in May 2014.

GOOD
+ Checkin, was very quick, we were shown around the property in a buggy (a common way to get around). The Spa, the two restaurants (one for brekkie, one for lunch/dinner), and our room.

+ Our Room. Immaculate, amazingly comfortable bed! Huge 2 person spa bath, large bathroom, massive 1.8m deep pool, 2 deck chairs for sunbaking, oh, and a bale for relaxation as well. I was 100% private. No need for clothes in the pool ;)

+ The Food. We had room service on our first night as we were pretty sleepy. Just dial 0 for everything and they will sort you out. We ordered a beef salad, and some ribs and they were outstandingly good. Breakfast was great too each day, just order whatever you want off the menu and enjoy the fantastic view. You can have it in your room too if you want, and anytime you want, breakfast doesnt' stop until everyone has had their brekkie!

+ The restaurant. The restaurant for lunch/dinner is also great. It's a bit pricey compared to some of the options in the middle of Ubud, but comparable to some of the more pricey fine dining options. The service is fantastic as you would expect. My only suggestion here is to have more a few more 'different' / local options for cocktails instead of the international favourites. We did have a special on our second day which was great though.

++ The staff. This is really were the Samaya sets itself apart. Everyone there is incredibly friendly. THe staff will know your name immediately. My partner has a dairy intolerance, and everyone knew about it and catered around it. The people in the restaurant for breakfast, or dinner where ever / whenever are so friendly and genuinely interested in making sure you have a great time. This is the highlight of the entire stay.

+ The Spa. As we were staying for 3 nights we got a free 60 minute massage each. The room overlooks the river and we tacked on a 30 minute body scrub also. It was incredibly relaxing, the room was a great temperature, the facilities clean. Great also.

+/- The location. The hotel is not in the heart of Ubud, it's not walking distance to dozens of shops or restaurants. There is a shuttle which will take you where ever you want in Ubud and pick you up - for free. It's about a 5-10 minute drive into town. For us this wasn't an issue, but for some people it could be an annoyance, so just be aware of it before you go.

In short. If you're a couple looking for a relaxing, tranquil, romantic few days away I would have no issue what so ever in recommending The Samaya Ubud, you will have a magical time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZapoAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

For our first Bali experience we stayed at the Samaya in Ubud and were treated as if we were the most important guests in the whole Hotel. I am sure that all the other guest were feeling the same. The Samaya is set in fantastic grounds and the bungalows were exceptionally clean, comfortable and well appointed. All the staff were incredibly helpful and would always go that extra mile to make our stay special. We received excellent advise on where to go for our explorations and felt that our Bali experience and safety were always a priority. I you re looking for a special place to stay, I would certainly recommend the Samaya in Ubud.

Room Tip: The Hillside Villas if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014


We are just on the last night of our four night stay at the Samaya Ubud and we just do not want to leave.

Everyone from the manager to the gardener makes the entire experience surreal and an almost out of body experience.

The villas are perfect for almost instant relaxation and are serviced as if by magic whenever you vacate, even for a few minutes. I am sure although this looks seamless, there must be a whole lot of work from a great team in the background making this all happen.

If you are lucky enough to stay then treat yourself to a traditional massage in the Spa and you will wake up thinking you have a new body. We certainly did.

Dine in swept away and you will also tantalise your taste buds. The temptation menu was exceptional and feedback was both requested,given and extremely positive. You get the feeling everyone cares and nothing is too much to ask.

We are now lucky enough to be transferring to the Samaya in Seminyak for a few more days. The bar has been set extremely high!!!!!

Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable and we would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Davies90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

If you want peace and tranquility, wonderful views, excellent hospitality and the opportunity to indulge in good food, wine and relaxing spa treatments this is the place to be in Ubud. Each of the beautifully appointed villas has its own pool and the extensive and inclusive breakfast can be enjoyed from your own private villa terrace or from one of the restaurants that overlooks the rice paddies. The alternative is eating by the river and enjoying the sound of cascading water and views into the lush woodland beyond. We stayed two nights in hillside villa 105 which has one of the best views. As it was our wedding anniversary we enjoyed the 100 candle dinner and wine pairing by the river (exclusive to only one setting at a time) and a delightful and unexpected surprise in the villa afterwards, courtesy of the Samaya team. There is also a free shuttle to Ubud for daytime shopping and sight-seeing. The staff are all very welcoming, professional and attentive. For the adventurous there are cycling tours and hikes otherwise it's just a great place to unwind.

Room Tip: All rooms good but hillside have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Detoxonalmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Samaya was an exceptional experience for a romantic long weekend. Highest levels of praise for the quality of the staff, attention to detail, and the seemingly effortless execution. The "trekking tour" is a must-do, it is a light walk though the local area and the beauty of the rice fields and surrounding area only a few block away must be seen.

I loved that every staff member memorises the guest itinerary for the day, and they were absolutely faultless in having cars and activities waiting. They even arranged a transfer to a non-affiliated hotel at no cost to us.

The Massage is exceptional, and the onsite restaurant is worthy of praise.

We had a very minor issue with the airport transfer meet up, but the issue was resolved within minutes of a quick call to the hotel.

We will be returning. I cannot recommend the Samaya enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
268 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,222 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#2 of 199 in Ubud
505 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £246 - £604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing