We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Pure 5* luxury, perfect for a short romantic break. Food in the Swept Away restaurant was excellent although not cheap was worth it. Riverside Villa was luxurious with its own pool and jacuzzi. Staff and service were to a very high standard.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wizzawozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    80
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
191
847
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

With such outstanding reviews, we had no hesitation booking our villa at the Samaya, however it still managed to exceed expectations. Every need of their guests is anticipated and fulfilled, with genuinely warm and friendly service, from the butler service to escort guests around the steep and sizeable property, to the attentiveness of the restaurant staff who, when my husband added too much chili to his Bali breakfast porridge insisted on bringing a fresh bowl.
The driving service into the centre of Ubud, the transport service to and from airport (or Sister property in Seminyak - a good idea if you have a late flight), the restaurants (see separate review), the cooking class and the spa are all faultless. The spa staff are exceptional, their products amazing and the view over the river combined in the best facial I've ever had (and I've had a lot!)

I was here for my birthday, and the beautiful team coordinated with my husband some very special "surprises" that made my day unforgettable. (There was no additional charge for this)

The value-adds we received such as afternoon tea, transportation, turn down service, evening petits fours made this excellent value for money.

Our experience is best summed up by our breakfast attendant (Mahendra, I think), who expressed sadness at our leaving that day as "you have a new, big family here at the Samaya". We certainly felt at home, and can't wait to return.

I would without hesitation recommend this beautiful place to anyone seeking to enjoy the best of Ubud whilst immersing themselves in beautiful food, spa treatments, luxury villa accomodation delivered by the resort's best asset - their wonderful, wonderful people.

Room Tip: Rooms by the river are spectacular - you can hear the river rushing by 24/7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelindaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Amazing resort and most importantly great service! All the staff was very attentive and nothing is too hard for them.
We were greeted the moment we arrived with flowers, and was amazed with the view the resort had! We were also upgraded to the hill view as it was our honeymoon. The manager of the resort came to introduced himself and welcome us to the resort.

We were then transported to our vila via a buggy. Honeymoon cake, romantic bath, welcome drink and a cool room. Everything was prepared for us. The best part was the pool.....it was so nice.

Strongly reccomended if you want somewhere out from the city for some serene and peaceful experience.

Shuttle are provided from Samaya Ubud to and from the city are provided. All you need is just to book with the front desk and call for a pick up. It is just 30 minutes from the ubud markets.

Food was the only thing which i wouldn't give 100 points for, the menu is abit limited and they don't have the usual club sandwich or burgers. The food price is much dearer compared to what you could get from ubud city.

Room Tip: I had the hill view villa and that was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Samaya Ubud for her birthday. We've stayed at a lot of great hotels around the world, and the Samaya is right up alongside the very best. Indeed, there was something very special about the Samaya; It was such a beautiful and peaceful place to stay.

Our villa was very well appointed. The décor is fairly simple and not at all opulent - perfect for the location. The greatest thing though was the very private garden we had together with our own pool and fantastic views over rice paddies. It really was difficult to leave that.

We also ate several meals at the Hotel in their Swept Away restaurant, and we were very impressed with the quality of the food, particularly the Balinese and Indonesian cuisine. The resort only has 19 villas, so supporting a high quality restaurant cannot be very easy, but they have done it really well. The location of the restaurant over the river is also stunning and well worth the trip.

Despite the great accommodation and dining, what really made our visit perfect was the friendliness and quality of service at the Samaya. Everyone seemed to be absolutely delighted to see us and determined to make our trip special. Nothing was too much trouble. The highlight was when we were leaving our villa for dinner on the night of my wife's birthday, and we were 'ambushed' by about five or six staff singing Happy Birthday and presenting her with a cake. It was a total surprise and perfectly executed.

I cannot recommend the Samaya enough. It was perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Try and get a Hill View Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PBBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just got married in Bali and came straight to The Samaya Ubud and couldn't have had better service they treated us so beautifully and service was just 110% they went to so much effort to make our stay enjoyable we had a wonderful time. They really made our experience unique and special

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alishagill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I recently had a wonderful few days at the Samaya, Ubud, Bali. The location was just lovely over looking the rice fields. Our early morning wakeup call was the sound of birds chirping beckoning us to an early morning swim in the private pool on our first day. The second day, we ventured out with two other couples for an early morning bike ride. We rode through rice fields and small villages before returning to the hotel for breakfast. Dinner time we were treated to a uniquely Balinese meal just yards away from the river.

We loved everything about our stay and the highlight was the staff at the spa and restaurants. The hotel certainly has a great policy of providing impeccable style and the service from the staff from front desk, housekeeping, waiters, managers and drivers was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaBailie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

If you can afford the Samaya then look no further - this resort is right there at the very top and rightly so. From the personalized newspapers, to the simple service options, to the riverside restaurant Scene, the Samaya Bali impresses in every way :) This is one resort you have to experience. :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pushpak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
1.9 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 198 in Ubud
220 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 198 in Ubud
1,847 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
700 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 198 in Ubud
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Priceline, Destinology, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing