We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best honeymoon ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best honeymoon ever!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for newlyweds! Everything is great: amazing location by the river in the jungle,very polite, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful private villas and the spa! Perfect place to relax...

Special thanks to the manager and the butler-team!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    78
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
183
827
25
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Went to Ubud to experience something away from the beaches and just couldn't stop relaxing for the whole three days. The staff, quality and general vibe of the Samaya was lovely, located a short drive (10 mins) from the centre you could cocoon yourself in luxury or make the short trip to sample a wide range of local restaurants in Unud.
The in villa 'picnic basket' concept was a treat and a long way from any picnic basket I've experienced in the past! Our poolside table was converted into a lovely breakfast table within minutes without scrimping on quality and the food did not disappoint.
We were a little apprehensive going there with our 2 1/2 year old for fear of encroaching on a honeymoon hideaway but the general set up meant you rarely saw anyone else and given the seclusion of the villas we were not concerned with noise. The staff were also fantastic with her. A big thank you to them all.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank StueyP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed between 15th and 18th June 2014 in hill side villa
Property: Beautiful location, quality of the villas and private pool are excellent.

Food: Variety and quality are great, swept away restaurant location is amazing.

Service: We are really impressed with the staff. Right from the airport pickup to drop off, every step was spotless. We felt like home when we interacted with the staff members in every department. Full marks to service, staff displayed an excellent blend of these two western hospitality training and Bali's culture. Thanks to Wayan Suambara (hotel manager), Gede, Darma, Ngeura and Wayan (drop off driver) for your great work and dedication. We particularly appreciate your help and positive approach in providing useful information about other hotels and places even though we did not ask you. Your work ethic and culture are the best take home Bali lessons for us.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhavani Kota K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very nice but to isolated, quite hard to get to Ubud which is some distance away. We didn't realise that the grounds were very steep and we that needed to get a buggy for transport around the grounds. A buggy was required to get around. Was disappointed that we didn't get any turndown service during our stay, as we in our room at the time, they didn't interested in doing it for us.

Room Tip: Good spot for honeymoon couples, stay down by the river which is close to the Resturanet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Samaya. After reading wonderful reviews of this hotel before booking I suspected we may have built our expectations so high that we might be disappointed in the reality. This was not to be, We relaxed from the moment of arrival and couldn't fault anything on our stay. The staff are incredible. The rooms perfect - especially the enormous bathrooms, loved the spa bath, the private swimming pool was larger than it looked in the pictures, our room was made up daily as we ate breakfast at the restaurant. Complimentary afternoon tea arrived in our villa each afternoon and a supper treat was always waiting upon our return in the evenings. Our hillside villa was so private that we felt like the only guests. The restaurants were in beautiful settings with excellent food and service. Upon talking to our independent tour guides from Ubud, we were informed how the Samaya Ubud have a reputation for looking after their staff which was especially great to hear. The staff I spoke to were all locals and I felt they were proud of their high standards. The groundsmen through to admin and management were professional, welcoming and always ready to assist. We look forward to returning to the Samaya and bringing our boys next time. We visited the sister Samaya for lunch, the beach front setting was amazing. Looked like another wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Samaya Ubed is a great hotel, very private (you hardly see the other guests) and it feels very genuine yet exclusive. We had a garden villa (i think this is the standard room) and it was excellent, it felt very private and the pool was really big. We only stayed 3 night before we went to the sister hotel Samaya Semyniak but we wish we stayed more nights in Ubud since the hotel and service is better than in Semyniak. At least if you are looking for something quiet and peaceful.

The staff is very friendly, the breakfast is good and the SPA is amazing, I had a fantastic Baliniese massage, the best I had in Bali.

We did the complimentary "culture-walk" -very interesting to see how a normal family live and to know more about the Balinese way of living but it also makes you feel a bit guilty when you come back yo your luxury "palace".... We also did the complimentary bike-ride to see some of the rice fields- wonderful evening if it was raining. it is very nice that the hotel offers these excursions.

Perfect hotel for honeymooners! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofief855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We just left after six nights staying here for our honeymoon. We could not have picked a better place in Ubud to stay. Our pool villa on the river was everything as advertised. The service of the staff was second to none and the morning breakfast was varied and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davesarnoff andtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
977 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
996 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 195 in Ubud
194 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 195 in Ubud
464 reviews
3.7 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Property: The Samaya Bali Ubud
Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Destinology, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing