We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We are a young couple and we visited the Samaya in Ubud for three nights as part of our honeymoon. The resort, villas, and surroundings were beautiful. The staff treated us like royalty. Everything was perfect. The location was not exactly central but that's necessary to have the natural surroundings and the hotel provided free shuttles. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samerjannoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is our second visit in six months and we were greeted like long lost family and treated similarly. I love the privacy, pool, day bed and facilitities in the riverside Ayung Villa. The breakfasts are great, loved the afternoon tea and dinner. This time we participated in walking and cycling provided by Samaya and thoroughly enjoyed the rice padis and villages. The icing on the cake was the massage. The choice of oil and balms was good and the pressure applied by the masseuses was perfect. As Wayan says sleep, eat, spa. Airport pickup, drop off and Fast Track is a great service. Cars are modern, clean and comfortable. Special mention needs to be made of the staff. Their commitment and friendliness is nearly overwhelming. Thank you everyone.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a riverside villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankAndYve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for newlyweds! Everything is great: amazing location by the river in the jungle,very polite, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful private villas and the spa! Perfect place to relax...

Special thanks to the manager and the butler-team!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alex U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Went to Ubud to experience something away from the beaches and just couldn't stop relaxing for the whole three days. The staff, quality and general vibe of the Samaya was lovely, located a short drive (10 mins) from the centre you could cocoon yourself in luxury or make the short trip to sample a wide range of local restaurants in Unud.
The in villa 'picnic basket' concept was a treat and a long way from any picnic basket I've experienced in the past! Our poolside table was converted into a lovely breakfast table within minutes without scrimping on quality and the food did not disappoint.
We were a little apprehensive going there with our 2 1/2 year old for fear of encroaching on a honeymoon hideaway but the general set up meant you rarely saw anyone else and given the seclusion of the villas we were not concerned with noise. The staff were also fantastic with her. A big thank you to them all.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank StueyP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed between 15th and 18th June 2014 in hill side villa
Property: Beautiful location, quality of the villas and private pool are excellent.

Food: Variety and quality are great, swept away restaurant location is amazing.

Service: We are really impressed with the staff. Right from the airport pickup to drop off, every step was spotless. We felt like home when we interacted with the staff members in every department. Full marks to service, staff displayed an excellent blend of these two western hospitality training and Bali's culture. Thanks to Wayan Suambara (hotel manager), Gede, Darma, Ngeura and Wayan (drop off driver) for your great work and dedication. We particularly appreciate your help and positive approach in providing useful information about other hotels and places even though we did not ask you. Your work ethic and culture are the best take home Bali lessons for us.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhavani Kota K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very nice but to isolated, quite hard to get to Ubud which is some distance away. We didn't realise that the grounds were very steep and we that needed to get a buggy for transport around the grounds. A buggy was required to get around. Was disappointed that we didn't get any turndown service during our stay, as we in our room at the time, they didn't interested in doing it for us.

Room Tip: Good spot for honeymoon couples, stay down by the river which is close to the Resturanet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Samaya. After reading wonderful reviews of this hotel before booking I suspected we may have built our expectations so high that we might be disappointed in the reality. This was not to be, We relaxed from the moment of arrival and couldn't fault anything on our stay. The staff are incredible. The rooms perfect - especially the enormous bathrooms, loved the spa bath, the private swimming pool was larger than it looked in the pictures, our room was made up daily as we ate breakfast at the restaurant. Complimentary afternoon tea arrived in our villa each afternoon and a supper treat was always waiting upon our return in the evenings. Our hillside villa was so private that we felt like the only guests. The restaurants were in beautiful settings with excellent food and service. Upon talking to our independent tour guides from Ubud, we were informed how the Samaya Ubud have a reputation for looking after their staff which was especially great to hear. The staff I spoke to were all locals and I felt they were proud of their high standards. The groundsmen through to admin and management were professional, welcoming and always ready to assist. We look forward to returning to the Samaya and bringing our boys next time. We visited the sister Samaya for lunch, the beach front setting was amazing. Looked like another wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,287 reviews
2 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
287 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
3 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#2 of 199 in Ubud
509 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £223 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Destinology, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing