We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Ranked #4 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I were in Samaya Ubud last week. We have been to many many 5 stars hotels all over the world. Park Hyatts, St. Regis, Four Seasons, Taj, Jumeirah, Bvlgary etc…
This Samaya Ubud, is an extraordinary vacation getaway. The hotel, view, food, spa, garden, service, restaurant are all way above par. But the most impressive of all, are the details of everything and the hospitality. We have been to Bali many times, but Samaya stole our hearts.

The hotel manager, Mr Wayan Suambara, is a very experience and positive open mind. He talked to us several times, share his experience and recommended us to take a bicycle tour, which is a MUST. Cycling in the rice field, is not something we can do every week.

I will definitely come back to Samaya Ubud…

To Pak Wayan and team, thanks for everything,.. for the joyful moment.

Room Tip: pick the Ayung River Villa. More expensive, but worth every single penny
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kabayan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,285)
There are newer reviews for The Samaya Bali Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Samaya for two nights at the end of a nine day trip to Bali. As soon as we arrived we wished we were staying longer! The staff at the Samaya welcomes you as if you are family. Every single person we encountered went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The accommodations were wonderful. We got one of the Hill View villas with our own private (very large) plunge pool and outdoor cabana. The hotel provided round trip taxi service at no extra charge into Ubud for shopping and dining. I highly recommend the Samaya and hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: Opt for the Hill View villa
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Shannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We started our trip to Bali by staying at the Samaya, Ubud and were incredibly impressed straight away by being greeted with flower leis, scented cold towels and welcome drinks,
The tranquil setting is outside of the city of Ubud in the heart of very lush gardens and valley, overlooking a beautiful rice paddy, which is where breakfast is served (the simple ability to have breakfast at any time was truly appreciated, so we could plan activities accordingly without trying to adjust or adapt to fit into a certain window). It is ideal to experience the beauty of the area without the noisy hustle and bustle of the city, though they offer shuttle services into the city center, only 15-20 minutes away.
We had several excursions planned and the staff was meticulous about all details. We would highly recommend the river rafting, ending at their Swept Away (overlooking the river) restaurant for lunch. It was a unique and fun experience. Their spa and services were also amazing. One of the highlights of our stay was a Cabana dinner, which was set up in the Cabana of our villa with flowers and candles everywhere and personalized service throughout the dinner. It was a very special experience to celebrate our wedding anniversary!
Wayan, the Manager ensured everything was managed smoothly and the warm and very personal service continued throughout our stay. We were continually impressed by the amazing level of care from every staff member. Their open, warm and friendly approach was genuine and sincere, making us feel a part of their "family".
Highly recommend for an unforgettable and special experience!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Crewgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We are really happy that we selected the "number one in Ubud" as our honeymoon resort. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming, we felt instantly relaxed.

As a honeymoon couple there were some special surprises such as rose petal bath -- directly in our villa! One time when coming back to our villa, after an excellent dinner in the resort's restaurant (Swept away), we were surprised to see two glasses of sparkling with rose petal bath prepared for us. That was our last evening which makes it more memorable.

The villa also offers some complimentary trekking and cycling trips. We tried the cycling trip, which was actually surprisingly illuminating as we got to ride through the local village and rice paddies. The tour guide even let us visit his home which gave more insight to life of the local people.

The resort is quite close by the Ubud centre, 30 mins by car. There is complimentary shuttle service, to/from centre, which relieves the visitor from worrying about the transportation. A small disclaimer : If one has tight schedule, one should reserve the drive the day before or in the morning. Otherwise some waiting might be required (1h or 2h).

The staff is extremely efficient, during our 11 night stay we saw the cleaning staff only once. Most often the villa was cleaned during our breakfast!

We had some small issues with our villa (little leak in the water basin, frog in our gazebo ceiling!) but all these were taken care of during the same day. I think the hotel staff really strives for perfection. The staff clearly seeks feedback from the customers (we received feedback forms after spa and restaurant), and uses it continuously to improve themselves.

We stayed at the hill side villa. We kind of expected some views but actually there is none (at least not in villa 103). Some noise can be heard from the local village buildings nearby. During our stay the locals were preparing for the cremation ceremony which likely increased the sounds from outside. We were not really bothered by the sounds but perhaps the most sensitive ones would be. We heard from other guests that this does not apply to all villas, for example #102,our neighbor, did not have any sounds from outside. Our villa was very private which was important for us (staff respects this privacy very much also).

Some of the river side villas were not completely "sealed", and one could peek and see their pool when passing by. I think they should consider concealing these openings.

Definately I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salski763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Samaya Ubud. The service was great and staffs were friendly. Our room was beautiful. We really liked the Bale Bengong in our private garden.

The hotel was a bit out of nowhere, but the hotel provides a shuttle service to go anywhere you want in Ubud (I think booking is min an hour in advance).

One time when we had lunch at the hotel restaurant, I ordered fresh young coconut. I was surprised that it came warm. So the coconut had been siting in the sun. When I mentioned it, they offered to pour the coconut into a glass (ended up with 2 glasses). When I only finished one glass, they offered to deliver the other glass to my room. So nice!

Hope to be back in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for little over a week in July 2014. Like most couples in this hotel, we were on our honeymoon. Everything was pretty much perfect from beginning to end. The hotel is beautiful and the service impeccable.

The breakfast was served at a restaurant overlooking the rice fields or at the villa. We chose the restaurant almost every morning due to the lovely view. If the weather is clear, you can actually see mountains behind the rice fields! Breakfast was ordered from a menu with great variety, but basically they let you order whatever you wish. Breakfast is served whenever you like it. :)

There is a lunch and dinner restaurant "Swept Away" that is by the Ayung river. We dined there a couple of times, and were very happy with the quality. The wine list is also quite extensive, although the price is quite high, as it is everywhere in Bali. For hotel guests there is also a complimentary afternoon tea served at Swept Away.

The hotel also has a beautiful spa and gym, which we visited only once. The pricing is higher than in Ubud but the massage here was better than at any spa we visited earlier.

We had picked a hill-side villa (I don't remember the exact number). The villa was nice, and very clean. The pool was large enough for a proper swim, and the garden was lovely. There was no view from our villa, just the garden. This was something of a disappointment at first, as I had thought there would be some kind of view. My only complaint about that particular villa is that it is situated at the edge of the compound, and sometimes there was smoke from the village and roosters woke me up in the morning. Also, the hair-dryer could have been better.

One last thing to mention is the taxi service to Ubud. The hotel is roughly 15 min drive from the town, so you don't want to walk. At the Samaya, they arrange a complimentary taxi for you whenever you like, but the capacity was sometimes full and we had to wait for a car to town. On most days this was not a problem, and you could always book your car in advance. They also come and get you from Ubud when you call them (30 min wait on most evenings). Most other hotels only have a shuttle bus twice a day, so big thumbs up for the Samaya.

To sum up, great value for money and excellent friendly service. Perhaps my best holiday ever.

Room Tip: Villa by the river would have been nicer.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at the 3 bedroom villas which was just across the road from the guard house - When we first arrived there, we were amazed! First was the service - everyone in the lobby were so friendly.The receptionist helped with all our dinner reservations. Then they brought us to our villa, which was a short walk away (buggy transfer not needed). The interior of the villa is very modern, loved the bathtub with all its jacuzzi features. Swimming pool: good size but was 1.8m deep - might be a problem for young children or those who can't swim well, but thankfully most of us could swim and we had a good time. Perhaps the swimming pool next to the spa is not as deep? The orange lifesaving rings were available in our villa. Breakfast was amazing! Breakfast at the scene with the rice field view You could order anything on the menu. If you fancy something else that's not on the menu, make sure to ask - the staff were really helpful when dealing with my youngest sister's eating habits! (ice chocolate, lots of croissants, sausages, etc). Tea at Swept Away was excellent! English and Balinese styled tea on alternate days. Scones, finger sandwich, rice paper rolls etc. We did the complementary walk and cycle as well - the guide was really friendly and nice! We had a very insightful experience of Bali village life - loved it!

Free shuttle service until late night! Drop off service must be booked 1 hour before - but there was always a car when we show up in the lobby, Pick up service - they usually take about 30 minutes to arrive because the resort itself it about 20 minutes drive from the city centre. Location wasn't a problem as drop off and pick up service was fantastic.

The service by a couple of waitresses during breakfast weren't up to Balinese standards. It wasn't a huge problem for us as the quality and quantity of the breakfast made up for it! Also, the FB manager who was always there in the Scene during breakfast and at Swept Away for tea was lovely! He was really friendly and he made time to talk to each and every table - he even helped us with dinner reservations and made recommendations!

We saw the set up for the 100 candles dinner and it looked amazing! Unfortunately, we didn't see it when the candles were lit up... but it imagining it felt nice! Housekeeping team was great too! We felt really relaxed and special during our stay. Loved the hospitality - enjoyed our stay - missing every bit of it - hope to be back and hoping to stay at Samaya Seminyak as well!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
264 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,197 reviews
3.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.0 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 199 in Ubud
499 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Ubud

Address: Banjar Baung, Desa Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £247 - £885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Samaya Bali Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samaya Ubud is where the guests can experience the unique delivery of Balinese hospitality in superb natural location set alongside the Ayung River. The Samaya Ubud is a 15-minute drive from central Ubud. Featuring Free shuttle service to the central Ubud anytime with prior booking, WiFi throughout the resort, wellness center complete with gym and outdoor main pool. The guest can also enjoy cycling, trekking, and morning yoga activities with free of charge based on Hotel schedule. Cooking class will be provided with prior booking and additional charge. With spacious luxurious villas, The Samaya Ubud offer guest's privacy at an ideal place to relax in a tropical paradise surrounded by rice fields and hillsides, equipped with flat-screen cable TVs, minibar, iPod docks, en suite spacious bathrooms with a Jacuzzi. Each villas comes with a private pool and 24-hour butler services. Guests can enjoy spa treatments in-villa, spa by the Ayung Riverside, or at Ayung Riverside Spa Centre with private sauna room, steam room, and Jacuzzi. Laundry, dry cleaning and car rental services are available. The famous Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Chef de Cuisine, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavours will pamper you. The Samaya Ubud is 1-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel provides Airport Transfer at an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Destinology, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Samaya Bali Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Ubud
The Samaya Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing