We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Guest House Kudos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guest House Kudos
Ranked #214 of 538 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful home stay with very warm-hearted staff. We felt at home, welcome and the staff were extremely helpful from the time we checked in until we waved good-bye.
Just a 15minute walk from the Palace to the hotel you're set in a more tranquil Ubud. The rooms were very clean equipped with a TV, complimentary coffee, air con, an electronic mosquito repellant device, universal adapters, mini bar -you name it! Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
25
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed here a week over the Christmas break. I got a good room (3B), possibly the best room in the place, overlooking some Balinese foliage and also a little bit of local housing. I got an airport pickup which was ready and waiting when I stepped out of the gate and reasonably priced (300k Rp).

The building seems new or at least refurbished recently, although it may just be well maintained. Tiled and clean throughout with a nice open space on the top floor overlooking the same foliage/housing and a small garden on the bottom floor.

The price was very reasonable for what I got, ~$30/night. The A/C works very well and isn't loud which can be a problem with cheaper places. The hot water takes a couple of minutes to kick in but doesn't run out so is probably on a continuous electrical system. The mini-fridge is handy and also not loud. The daily cleaning service is great, I never had to ask for anything. They refill the instant coffee and water for the kettle everyday too. There's even lockable draws on the desk you can use for valuables if you're worried about it (I wasn't, but I used it anyway for convenience). The bed was pretty comfy, a thicker futon style mattress on a wicker base. Sometimes whomever cleaned the room left the fresh towel origami'd into a swan, which was cool.

I was surprised at the lack of mosquitoes. Not sure if that was the location or the season. Either way - didn't have a single mossie in the room and only saw one or two in the common areas.

It's just shy of 2km directly north of the centre of Ubud (Ubud Palace/Markets), just follow the road south, it's impossible to get lost. You do have to walk roadside for the first ~400m, there's no footpath. It's lightly downhill on the way into town and naturally lightly uphill on the way back. I'm a walker and don't mind sweating so this was fine for me. Otherwise a few dollars will get you a ride there or back.

The hostess (Annie? I think?) was great, we had a couple of friendly chats and whenever I did need anything like a taxi she was very helpful. The rest of the staff were also friendly and helpful.

They have what looks like a black labrador (likely a cross with something) that had a lovely temperament with me. They also have one not-skittish pet cat and one very-skittish pet cat. Neither approached me but the not-skittish one was happy to accept petting. All animals looked well cared for and in good health and friendly. Even the skittish cat was just scared and ran away, wasn't a hisser or anything.

There's a basic local shop a couple of houses down where you can buy extra water, instant noodles, chips, etc.

They have access to a pool off site but I never did end up trying it out.

Downsides if you're picky:
- You might think the shower/bath is a little sub par with some of the seal on the bath missing... but everything works just fine and it's just an appearance thing. The important things like the toilet, basin and where you stand in the shower are perfectly good and clean. If you go in expecting a perfect bathroom you'll be disappointed. If you go in expecting a fully functional one with a couple of cosmic blemishes then you'll do fine.
- The walls are a little thin, it's not hard to tell if any other guests are using the common area or even talking in the adjacent room if it shares a wall with yours. You can't necessarily make out the words but there's no doubt they're talking. Noise from outdoors is audible - the sounds of crickets and the like is noticeable at night, and you can hear dogs when they arc up. If you're a light sleeper, this may be a problem. I am not a light sleeper, it didn't worry me in the least.
- If you want to be able to step outside right into the restaurant district then you're out of luck. You probably want something more expensive on Monkey Forrest Rd. The closest serious restaurant/warung would be Ibu Oka (as seen on No Reservations with Anthony Bourdain) but it's just before the Ubud Palace so it's a good 20 minute walk away at a moderate pace. Either arrange transport (with the front desk), hire a scooter/motorbike, or enjoy the exercise.

All in all, great budget accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 3B seems like it'd be the only one with a truly decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punchdrunkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here November 2013. Ubud is the place for relaxing and we pick the right place to stay. Kudos is quiet and nice place for that. We stay for a week and love it. Staff are very friendly and helpful for everything.

Will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed there in late October 2013. It had gotten some nice reviews which were my "guiding light" so to speak. I was somewhat underwhelmed when I saw the place. On the plus side, the room was large, and the guy in the reception, who also cleaned the room, was quite friendly and helpful. However the place looked rather gloomy, and not particularly clean. Construction noise started very early in the morning and lasted into the night. Later at night dog barking would continue to spoil the sleep. They had a big black dog that you had to pass at the gate after nightfall, I didn't like having to do that. Breakfast was basic. Finally, the location is not good if Ubud is what you want to see and where you want to be, you'll always have to pay for the transport each time you want to go into town. A cheap place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrammyTheOneAndOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calangute, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

the breakfast was seriouslsy basic, however the coffee ok. its a wee bit out of town, but away from teh hussle if any. the owner is warm enough and will tend to your needs. she can organise and tell you about the ubud town. its a simple hotel. not much where to sit and relax but in your bedroom. the chairs are plastic so not very comfortable.

tv has no channels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sheriffatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I can recommend this place.
Lovely staff and place just outside of ubud. It is really easy to get to the center of ubud. And such price for a high standard guesthouse like kudos seems to me invincible in the area of ubud.
Anni will be ur host and she's got a lot of tips and recommendations for bali. Speaks fluently english and is really cool.
Im extending my stay here for the third time now. If there wouldn't be a lot more to see in bali, i'd just stay here i guess.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Guesthouse Kudos is a great place to stay. Ani and her team (Dewa and Moudy) were so helpful, friendly and warm. We stayed there for 5 nights and would of loved to have stayed longer. It was great to spend our last night there hanging out with Ani and would now call her a dear friend. We lost a day when we first arrived as we were sick and Ani was so kind to go out to the shop for us and Dewa ran me on the bike into town to get some medicine.

The rooms are spacious, clean and every day they went to great efforts to make our room comfortable and clean. They have a wide selection of towel arrangements. I think the flower was my favourite! They really made an effort with all the finishing touches.

There is a great choice for breakfast and the pancakes are delicious. We had a complimentary coconut to drink fresh from the tree on our arrival which was a really nice welcome.

Its an easy, straight 10-15 minute walk into town but which we enjoyed doing every day walking by the rice paddies.

There is a pool which you can use which is 100 metres down the road at Bintang Pari. The view there is amazing and the pool is very refreshing.

Overall I cant fault this place. Its great value for money and went beyond my expectations, the service was fantastic and I would definitely return here in the future.

Thank you Guest House Kudos!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.7 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pondok Permata Homestay
Pondok Permata Homestay
#81 of 537 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Atta Mesari Villas
Atta Mesari Villas
#79 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luwak Ubud Villas
Luwak Ubud Villas
#28 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Kudos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Kudos

Property: Guest House Kudos
Address: Jalan Suweta | Bentuyung Ubud, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 538 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest House Kudos 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house Kudos is located in an area which is regarded as the cultural centre of Bali. This area is famous as an arts and crafts hub. The town and nearby villages consist of countless artists' workshops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Guest House Kudos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Kudos Hotel Ubud
Guest House Kudos Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing