We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that you would want it to be!”

Paon Bali Cooking Class
Ranked #1 of 35 Food & Drink in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Embark on a culinary adventure unlocking the secrets of authentic Balinese cooking, utilizing traditional ingredients and preparation methods, in a fully equipped community village kitchen. Your day starts early at the Ubud markets, where you can pick from fresh herbs & spices, crisp vegetables and choice cuts of meat, before heading off on guided ‘padi’ expeditions. Upon your return to Laplapan village, you will be warmly welcomed and expertly guided by your host, Puspa, who will help you to discover how to create your very own delicious authentic Balinese dishes.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Norfolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“All that you would want it to be!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Surprise, surprise but for my 'BIG' birthday i asked to go on a Balinese cooking course. Jen dutifully obliged with a session with Wayan and, of course, Puspa at Paon Bali.
The reviews looked too good to be true but, do you know, it was everything that I could have wished for. The arrangements to pick us up were easy and Wayan (not Puspa's husband) brought his vehicle. One other couple in our vehicle, Pippa and Tama, and we were off. Not, as we thought, straight to the course, but to stop at the side of the road for a lesson on rice and life in a Balinese village by Wayan (Puspa's husband)
Then to Paon with a bunch of others and a welcome by Puspa and her girls. More Details of Balinese village life and we begin. Demonstrate and let us do it was the order of the day. It worked, we started our engines, swapped places with our 'honies' and cooked each part of each course.
I need say no more than every morsel was delicious and to think we had done it all.
Bintang was available for those who wanted it and a full recipe set was provided. Puspa and Wayan could not have been more helpful, entertaining or hospitable.
Everyone came away full and enthused. I certainly will be following the simple recipes to prepare a Balinese feast from starter to dessert.
Do not miss this, even if cooking is not your thing. It is a must!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Colincjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,848
    164
    47
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Do yourself a flavor and check this out...”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

What a great night. We really wanted to do the day trip and have the market experience but it was booked out so we learned another thing, when an attraction is as good as this, book early. We did get to do the evening cooking class and I can't imagine that we really missed out on anything. We had a fantastic evening.

Wayan and Puspa put on a great night. I thought that we were going to educated on Bali Cooking, and we did, we also got educated on how to have a happy life and the Balinese way of having a happy home.

I observed the ingredients, preparation and cooking from the perspective of someone who really likes to cook authentic food and I feel really enlightened on how to make Balinese food the easy way with ingredients I can get from an asian food market, or even the local supermarket.

The way that Paon have set up the hands on cooking was so impressive. Their very friendly staff were so well trained and skilled in what they did, everything was run like clock work in a completely Bali time relaxed way.

This is well worth every cent and more, we met cool people, helped cook and eat fantastic food, and I feel closer to Bali than I ever did sitting on a beach, eating at a bar or scootering through stacked up traffic. This evening has been the best Bali bang for buck.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TamaBristowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, informative and tasty!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Me and my partner decided to do the paon cooking class after hearing some great reviews. It was our last day in Bali and we are so glad we went! Not only did we learn about Balinese food and culture we had such a fun time, puspa and wayan were great hosts and extremely welcoming into their home. For such a cheap price you get so much! Transport to and from class, Market tour, informative trip to the rice fields, class and feast! Food was amazing! Only thing I could say would be to reduce the class sizes, we had 17 but lucky we had such a good bunch of people :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The best way to enjoy traditional food is by joining this cooking class. We went for the afternoon session starting at 4pm, it is such a great service that they send a driver to collect you from your hotel. Aunty Puspa and her husband are real comedians and keep you entertained during the class. It is very proactive and you get a chance to have a go at making several different dishes which you can enjoy at dinner time. The whole experience was with strangers but by the time we sat down to eat we felt like a family. A must-do when visiting Ubud, you will have lots of fun and enjoy some delicious traditional food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SofiainDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect way to experience local food”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The day was all very well organised. We were picked up from our hotel and taken into the local market for a short tour. We then visited the rice paddies where they explained to us how the farming works. It was then on to the chefs home where you learn all about the ingredients and how to cook them before getting to eat your creations.

All very interesting and informative.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MorisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Paon Bali Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing