We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing place...”
Review of The Grand Sunti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Sunti
Ranked #112 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Bali
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“relaxing place...”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

thinking of the sunti ubud..i thought about place for relaxed...
quite hotel but close 2 prime location.
the staff are very nice..they managed 2 help me rent a motorbike 4 sightseeing n arrange transport 2 get back 2 kerobokan..my home..with a verry affordable price..
so far i'm satisfied with sunti ubud.
the only problem is that i can't use my credit card 4 the payment..don't know wether just only me..or maybe the hotel prefer cash as 4 the payment

Room Tip: choose the new room..coz it more bright n clean.. ask 4 the room facing the pool..it's more qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tria4bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    128
    70
    14
    9
See reviews for
52
121
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Last month I spent 2 days with my business partner Mr. Pascal stayed #401 super deluxe room. Everything close to perfect, clean, bright, huge room with lazy sofa. Hotel staff very helpfulness. I though the room cost is nothing to compare with what I got. No reason complaining with this price. I suggest you chosed this room.
Breakfast it's ok, with old style resto. It's a simple resto and look very friendly situation. Great staff, again.
Pascal, friend of mine will come again on next business on august for another container of handycrafts.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doi040464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PURIDEWATA, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read, that you have enjoyed your stay at the Sunti Ubud Resort. It was a great pleasure that I learn through your review and I truly appreciate your writing to us to express such gracious comments about the property and the services accorded to you by all the staff at The Sunti Ubud Resort. This review will serve as an inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards of service which we always try to improve in order to meet your expectation.

Thank you once again for choosing the Sunti Ubud Resort and for taking the time to share your experience. I do hope that I will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sunti Ubud Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed in the "super deluxe " rooms which overlook the private pool for 3 nights. The rooms themselves were bright and looked modern with nice decorator touches. The chaise is a really nice addition to a hotel room. However the fittings were cheap veneer and very badly chipped and damaged ,which spoilt the overall appearance of the room. The bathroom looked nice but the shower leaked everywhere making the floor slippery and dangerous. Also the vanity was badly installed and moved.The paintwork in my mother's room was mouldy and her room had an odour of damp.
Towels and sheets were less than average as well (at the very least they should look clean and not be ripped).Overall the rooms lacked the luxury you would expect from a "super luxury" room
The hotel's restaurant where we had breakfast was not up to standard either. The food was unappetising and there were small ants crawling on the tables.There was evidence of white ants in the tables and roof posts.It was dark and lacking in any inviting atmosphere. There were also issues with our pool...
With some effort and renovation this Hotel could be improved, but at present it is a disappointment and not what we would have expected from a hotel that says the rooms are "super luxury", which is a pity as the staff tried to make our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms we had were definitely not up to "super luxury" standard and did not represent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David15_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBUDSUNTI, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Sunti Resort & Villa.

However your review is thing necessary for improving both our product and also the service in the near future.

We have taken note of your comment regarding your inconvenience of your stay ,as well as a evaluation thing to increase our service and we do hope this case won't repeated any more.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to The Sunti Resort & Villa in the near future with difference atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We were 2 families, 8 persons in 4 bedrooms and we 2 nights in the Sunti Ubud Resort. The team is wonderful, very helpful and kind.
Bedrooms are completely new, beds are really good, no noise at all even the hotel is in the center of Ubud.
A big cheer for the new management who has really upgraded this hotel to the best standards. Well done.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Overall we had a lovely stay here.. Amazing pool, beautiful grounds, and a spacious room. Staff were so helpful and friendly. Few problems though.. our bathroom and first towels weren't entirely clean (they did clean the room every day though and our new towels were always clean), and on our second day the staff informed us they were about to do "fogging" (a pest spray that covers the entire resort in a white fog) - I was really annoyed about this because they didn't give us any warning, they'd already started it when they told us about it! So we got caught in the fog it was horrible. Some notice would have been appreciated. Great location though - Ubud is wonderful and there's heaps to see! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubymerryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayan W, Management Consultant at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Thank you for your stay at our resort and share your experience through tripadvisor. We learn from every comment to elevate our facilities and service quality to exceed guest satisfaction. The Sunti Ubud is owned resort and was run with family style. Now The Sunti Operate and Manage by Satyam The Bali bade Hospitality management who committed to help the local owners develop their property into an international standard service with the soul of Balinese personalized service. We do understand that takes time to retrain the employee and refurnish the property, we believe with our successful in previous property and the spirit to practice the t local genius life concept into bussiness we w ill be able to present the Balinese Holiday Experience at The Sunti Ubud. We look forward to welcoming you again next year at The new Grand Sunti Resort with more indulgence facilities and olympic size pool, Spa and all guest entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We arrived and checked out the place at first it seemed fine. We got to our room where there was a huge stain on the floor and the toilet was making a noise. It was dark and awful. The walls were paper thin and you could here everything from the street and also from the other room. We were kept up all night with someone having a coughing fit. Also they advertise their 'new' suites on the website we got an old and very dated room that was nothing like it. We only stayed there for one night (we were booked for two) and then we left. It ruined my experience of Ubud. Oh and also the toilet didn't flush in the morning and the water wasn't working properly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminyak, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed 1 night here and we experienced too many problems - no water, no electricity, 1 hour + for room service where the meal selected was 'finished'. The complex is good, great location and the rooms are clean and modern. Pools are good. Simple and cost effective within walking distance to Monkey Forest and town. The ARMA across the road has a great cafe.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiMelbourneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnlandBali_12, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Honestly, what had been happened to this customer was previously unthinkable, that was came suddenly.

We had taken quick action for solving the problem but however that was spend a lot of time,
Actually we did compensation for them to keep late check-out at another room on the last day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
Bhuwana Ubud Hotel
#72 of 198 in Ubud
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#90 of 198 in Ubud
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#104 of 198 in Ubud
213 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 198 in Ubud
458 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
Royal Casa Ganesha Hotel
#149 of 198 in Ubud
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Sunti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Sunti

Property: The Grand Sunti
Address: Pengosekan Street, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Sunti Ubud Resort)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#71 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#91 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Sunti 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sunti, located only 5 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, is the ideal home to explore Ubud in all its beauty including its rich cultural heritage and natural environment. Visit the traditional village and experience the true Balinese Lifestyle. Offering 52 Balinese and contemporary designed rooms with 8 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 32 Super Deluxe Rooms. Enhance the Ubud lifestyle, visit the Ubud monkey forest, walking through Monkey Forest Road with various restaurants and shops. Come back to the resort then Relax and sunbathing by the pool or hanging at The Cafe in front of the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Grand Sunti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunti Ubud Hotel Ubud
The Grand Sunti Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing