We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly, comfortable and clean”
Review of The Grand Sunti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Sunti
Ranked #116 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We booked into Sunti Ubud for 3 nights and stayed 4. The Hotel itself is beautiful, lovely well kept gardens, a very relaxing pool area, close to Monkey Forrest Rd and the ever popular Yoga Barn. The atmosphere was welcoming, the staff friendly and helpful. The staff regularly asked about our activities for the day and checked to see that we enjoyed ourselves. We stayed on a ground floor 'superior suite double'. The room was very clean, tidy and comfortable. We think that Sunti is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in quite a strategic location, near to Ubud Market and surrounded by shops and restaurants. However it lacks of basic amenities such as hair dryer and water boiler. The air-conditioner in the room is located above the entrance door while the bed is in the other corner blocked by the bathroom wall hence the room was warm. Later we found out that the balcony slid doors have the evident of breaking-in and it could not be closed tightly. Furthermore, the hook for hanging clothes in the bathroom is too high (well, not everyone is 6ft tall). The breakfast served is good and overall, i think there is still room for improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandSunti, General Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We also would like to apologies if we have made your holiday uncomfortable and rest assured that is not our intension.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Room types available: Superior, Deluxe, and Super Deluxe.
We had made our reservation for 2 nights "Deluxe" online but not directly with the hotel. On arrival they found that their system did not have any reservations for us.
Thus for our first night we were giving a lower room type "Superior". This room is very traditional. The window in the bathroom cannot be closed, thus you will be able to hear your neighbours. Not much amenities (2 bottles of mineral water, soap, towels, small tv + fridge).
The next night we were giving "Super Deluxe" for the mixed up in the reservations. "Super Deluxe" rooms are hotel quality where you can walk out to the pool.
Amenities (2 bottles of mineral water, soap, towels, kettle, flat screen tv, fridge + mini bar).
Breakfast was included in our package (simple buffet style) with a very nice lady ready to make a custom omelette for you.
NOTE:
# Bring your own toothbrush + toothpaste. (Most places in Bali do not provide these)

Room Tip: 1. If possible, have someone call the hotel to double confirm your reservation 2. Don't go chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Cost, Location, Friendly Staff, Comfortable - our room overlooked partly rural land. It was very relaxing for us. We walked 10 mins to Yoga Barn each morning for Yoga, so location was also fantastic. We couldn't find fault for the cost......thoroughly recommend. R & H Australia

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RhondaW143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PURIDEWATA, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Allow me to personally or on behalf of The Sunti Ubud Resort to express our sincere gratitude toward your review of our property, in which your review much useful to us, as an evaluation's tool in increasing both our product and service to be a sustainable thing up to future.

Thank you for your valuable feed back, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Sunti Ubud Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

thinking of the sunti ubud..i thought about place for relaxed...
quite hotel but close 2 prime location.
the staff are very nice..they managed 2 help me rent a motorbike 4 sightseeing n arrange transport 2 get back 2 kerobokan..my home..with a verry affordable price..
so far i'm satisfied with sunti ubud.
the only problem is that i can't use my credit card 4 the payment..don't know wether just only me..or maybe the hotel prefer cash as 4 the payment

Room Tip: choose the new room..coz it more bright n clean.. ask 4 the room facing the pool..it's more qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tria4bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandSunti, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Value Guests,

Warm greetings from The Grand Sunti, Ubud. Bali!

Reference is made to your request expressing your concerns with the note that you leaving it for me recently.

We appreciate your kind concern for bringing up the matter to us. It is only through comments received from concerned guests like you will we be able to look into areas of improvement for the betterment of our hotels worldwide.

We will look into all the point and feedback given by you seriously and we will do our best to improve it.

Thank you and may we look forward to welcome you again to Bali in the near future.

With best personal regards,


Wawan R. Gutawa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Last month I spent 2 days with my business partner Mr. Pascal stayed #401 super deluxe room. Everything close to perfect, clean, bright, huge room with lazy sofa. Hotel staff very helpfulness. I though the room cost is nothing to compare with what I got. No reason complaining with this price. I suggest you chosed this room.
Breakfast it's ok, with old style resto. It's a simple resto and look very friendly situation. Great staff, again.
Pascal, friend of mine will come again on next business on august for another container of handycrafts.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doi040464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PURIDEWATA, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read, that you have enjoyed your stay at the Sunti Ubud Resort. It was a great pleasure that I learn through your review and I truly appreciate your writing to us to express such gracious comments about the property and the services accorded to you by all the staff at The Sunti Ubud Resort. This review will serve as an inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards of service which we always try to improve in order to meet your expectation.

Thank you once again for choosing the Sunti Ubud Resort and for taking the time to share your experience. I do hope that I will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sunti Ubud Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed in the "super deluxe " rooms which overlook the private pool for 3 nights. The rooms themselves were bright and looked modern with nice decorator touches. The chaise is a really nice addition to a hotel room. However the fittings were cheap veneer and very badly chipped and damaged ,which spoilt the overall appearance of the room. The bathroom looked nice but the shower leaked everywhere making the floor slippery and dangerous. Also the vanity was badly installed and moved.The paintwork in my mother's room was mouldy and her room had an odour of damp.
Towels and sheets were less than average as well (at the very least they should look clean and not be ripped).Overall the rooms lacked the luxury you would expect from a "super luxury" room
The hotel's restaurant where we had breakfast was not up to standard either. The food was unappetising and there were small ants crawling on the tables.There was evidence of white ants in the tables and roof posts.It was dark and lacking in any inviting atmosphere. There were also issues with our pool...
With some effort and renovation this Hotel could be improved, but at present it is a disappointment and not what we would have expected from a hotel that says the rooms are "super luxury", which is a pity as the staff tried to make our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms we had were definitely not up to "super luxury" standard and did not represent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David15_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UBUDSUNTI, Manager at The Grand Sunti, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Sunti Resort & Villa.

However your review is thing necessary for improving both our product and also the service in the near future.

We have taken note of your comment regarding your inconvenience of your stay ,as well as a evaluation thing to increase our service and we do hope this case won't repeated any more.

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of being of service to you during your recent visit to Bali and look forward to welcoming you back to The Sunti Resort & Villa in the near future with difference atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#60 of 199 in Ubud
628 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#51 of 199 in Ubud
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Biyukukung Suites and Spa
0.7 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
2.0 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#113 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Sunti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Sunti

Address: Pengosekan Street, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Sunti Ubud Resort)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#73 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#96 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £22 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Sunti 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sunti, located only 5 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, is the ideal home to explore Ubud in all its beauty including its rich cultural heritage and natural environment. Visit the traditional village and experience the true Balinese Lifestyle. Offering 52 Balinese and contemporary designed rooms with 8 Superior Rooms, 12 Deluxe Rooms and 32 Super Deluxe Rooms. Enhance the Ubud lifestyle, visit the Ubud monkey forest, walking through Monkey Forest Road with various restaurants and shops. Come back to the resort then Relax and sunbathing by the pool or hanging at The Cafe in front of the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Sunti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunti Ubud Hotel Ubud
The Grand Sunti Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing