We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Haven in the Center of Ubud”
Review of Cinta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cinta Inn
Ranked #97 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfortable Haven in the Center of Ubud”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I come to Ubud often and really wanted to stay in the center of Ubud for a change and have the option of stepping out to a pletoria of restaurants and bars without worrying about transport. In addition, as I am highly sensitive to the Bali's bugs and mosquitoes, another important criteria was I wanted a modern yet cosy room with cable TV and equipped with a clean, modern and functional bathroom without the outdoor "mossy" features.

Cinta Inn really met up with all my requirements during my 5 days there. It is super convenient as it is situated on Jl. Monkey Forest - a main drag in Ubud. The Inn itself is located behind its very popular bar and restaurant (Cinta Grill), yet upon entering the hotel premise you donot feel/hear the outside buzz. Instead you are met with a peaceful and calm little haven. There is a small pool with a nice little lobby area. Colours are light blue, green and white - very relaxing. It is as stated an Inn, there are only 7 rooms and the rooms are comfortable and clean but not lavish with a balcony for you to sit out and chill. Very nice functional and clean bathroom- with shower. There was adequate luggage space for two and enough room to store belongings in the wardrobe. The room is equipped with WIFI, cable TV and an Ipod dock. My only gripe is that there were no fridge or complimentary coffee/tea making facility.

Our room came with breakfast. Breakfast is really really great here as the Cinta Grill is an excellent restaurant. You are free to select items from the Breakfast menu and your breakfast comes with a choice of juice or fruit and coffee or tea. As we were there for 4 nights we really had the opportunity to try several things on the breakfast menu and it was all very very good. The egg benedict is outstanding but I have to say my favourite were the pancakes. The egg benedict was cooked just right, warm toasted muffins atop with poached egg cooked perfectly and topped with creamy smooth hollandaise sauce. The pancakes are seriously very good here. There is the buckwheat pancake with blueberry which comes with a nice caramelised banana and the normal pancake with raspberries and caramelised banana. Cinta Grill overlooks the busy Jl.Monkey Forest, so it is a great place to sit in the morning and watch the world go by.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, invisible but ready with a smile when you need them. There is no parking at this Inn, so if you have a car that is a major problem. However most of the key hotspots (Ubud market, Ibu Oka, Tutmak and shops) are a 5-10 minute walk away. There are 2 minimarts within walking distance. In addition there are alot of spas on Jl. Monkey forest and I highly recommend Kayma Spa. We rented mountain bikes to go around and it was exceptionally reasonable - RP 25,000 per day.

Cinta Inn is really a great little haven in the center of Ubud.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    63
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
105
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Sayed here for 3 nights in June. Hotel is great value - US$125 for a really comfortable bed, beautiful decor, pool, and lovely bathroom (we had a massive bathtub). The breakfast was some of the best I have ever had, and the staff are so friendly. (Great cocktails at night too from Bedu!)

there's no fridge or tea making facilities in the room but this wasn't an issue for me. The location is perfectly in the middle of Ubud, and the inn being pretty much new makes it fantastic value.

Fod-wise hey also give you 15% off food at their other 3 restaurants in Ubud. We tried all of them and they were really good quality too.

By the way you can't book Cinta Inn via the online booking sites so you would need to google it and book directly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimandpetebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Cinta was a wonderful place to stay and after 4 nights in Seminyak/ Kuta a great place to kick back and relax.
The rooms were beautiful and modern, with everything you could ever need (including an extremely comfortable bed).
The food was amazing, especially the breakfast which was included in the price of the room & they had actual coffee which was a huge bonus in it's self!
The staff were just as amazing as everything else, inviting, friendly and very helpful!
Finally the location was perfect, everything in walking distance and if walking seems like to much of a nuisance plenty of transport around!

Cinta was an awesome place to stay and eat at, would definitely recommend and visit again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We recently returned to Ubud, Bali for the time in seven years and stayed at the Cinta Inn. It was an excellent choice.

It is a wonderful hotel with a great location on busy Monkey Forest Road in central Ubud. The staff was friendly and very helpful with everything from transportation to where to go to make a phone call back to New York City.

Our upstairs room overlooking the pool with a balcony was very comfortable and quiet. The wifi in the room was quick and reliable.

The seven room hotel is in the back of one of the better restaurants in Ubud. The breakfast was excellent (but you will be charged for a second cup of coffee).

Booking a room can be a minor hassle, but is well worth the time spent. We will absolutely stay at the Cinta Inn when we return to Ubud.

We also recommend drinks at the upstairs “reggae” bar, Napi Orti, a short walk down Monkey Forest road on the right. Our first night there the band’s first song was “Blue Suede Shoes.” It is friendly, fun place for a cold beer or wine from a box.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERBfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This review was promised a long time ago having first stayed here in February 2011 and again in May the same year (the website didn't offer a date earlier than July 11 and wouldn't let me not choose a date). But I hope better late than never. If you want to stay in the centre of Ubud, the location couldn't be better. Cinta is within easy walking distance of everything. Just seven rooms and all decorated in a beautifully understated way in calm pastel colours, with quality materials, both for the construction of the rooms and for the beds, linens, towels and toiletries. The toiletries are produced by the owners, but sadly only for wholesale.
The rooms are alongside a small but as with everything else, beatifully done plunge pool; great for cooling off after a hot walk around the town (not really a village any more). I preferred the downstairs rooms which are alongside the pool and while maybe a little less private, have more open verandas and nice large bathrooms. Otherwise, the rooms are all equipped to the same high standard. The staff are warm and welcoming and its easy to feel at home immediately.
In spite of the town centre location, once through the doors at the back of the restaurant it's like another world and very little of the outside noise breaks through. And there are thick, luxurious curtains to provide even more sound-proofing.
The only small problem - and not even a criticism really given there is nothing they can do about it - is that being right on Monkey Forest Road with no spare land and no parking outside the Inn, being dropped off or picked up with luggage can be a little tricky. But the staff do their best to get around this problem and are quickly there to get the luggage into the restaurant on arrival and into the car when leaving, so I mention this only so that anyone planning to go there knows what to expect.
The Inn is tucked in behind the Cinta Grill, one of four restaurants in Ubud run by the owners, Karen a long-term Bali resident from the US and her Balinese husband. Each restaurant has a different theme, the Cinta Grill being a more western style with a lively, but relaxed atmosphere and a bar serving some very good mojitos. When we stayed, guests at the Inn were given a discount card to use in the restaurants.
Although there are no views as such, or luxurious Balinese gardens to wander through, this is a lovely place and inn is the perfect word to describe it (thank goodness, no mention of 'boutique' in their own literature). Small and friendly but professionally run and in a great location, good food both for breakfast and other meals, and beds and linens among the most comfortable I've had anywhere. I haven't yet had a chance to go back again since, but this will always be my first choice for Ubud.

Room Tip: Upstairs for more privacy; downstairs for bigger bathrooms and more open verandahs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceebyjeeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Spent 6 nights at Cinna Grill & Inn, in 2 different rooms (no. 1 and no. 7) and enjoyed every minute of it.

It is located on Monkey Forest road, a short walk from the forest itself, tourist information center, medical clinic, Yoga courses, recommended restaurants and most of Ubud's main attractions.

Passed the lively hotel restaurant, you find a sanctuary of 7 private rooms which surround the exquisite hotel pool. The rooms are beautifully decorated, impeccably clean, with a luxurious feel (do check to make sure all rooms have aircon, I can’t remember if room no. 1 had any, as I did not feel the need for it). If you like sit by your balcony and read in peace, you may want to avoid rooms no. 1 and 2, which have the advantage of pool proximity but are in a relative “traffic” area (though they remain quiet by any standard). Personally, I find that second-floor rooms are better for balcony lounging.

Breakfast is delicious and shows a mix of Western and Balinese dishes: try the ricotta raspberry pancakes or the rice pudding with coconut milk.

The staff is ever reliable, personable and courteous, showing Balinese warmth while catering to Western expectations. They have been helpful at booking activities, drivers and the like. Most of them also show a very good level of English, which is sometimes lacking, even in touristy Ubud. As a first-time solo traveler (and first-timer in Asia), the Cinna team made me feel especially safe and in great company.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys Western standards with Balinese charm, a central and lively location, personalized service and great food!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoRoughingIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just off the main drag of Ubud behind the Grill a welcome oasis right in the centre of Ubud. Good breakfast and happy hour mojitos, all served by smiling staff!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#106 of 198 in Ubud
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#107 of 198 in Ubud
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#39 of 198 in Ubud
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#142 of 198 in Ubud
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinta Inn

Property: Cinta Inn
Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Cinta Grill and Inn)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ubud
#33 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cinta Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinta Inn is a small 7 room inn behind Cinta Grill in the heart of Ubud, Bali. The rooms are finished with luxurious touches including flat-screen TVs and Ipod docks. Included is your choice of breakfast from Cinta Grill's menu every morning! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinta Grill Hotel Ubud
Cinta Inn Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing