We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet escape”
Review of Hotel Villa-Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa-Ubud
Ranked #43 of 556 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet escape”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights in August with our almost 2 year old. It is a GORGEOUS villa, the room and bed simple, comfortable and elegant, the restaurant was excellent (and very accommodating of a 2 year olds dietary preferences) the staff attentive and friendly but not invasive, and would happily bring your cocktails down to the pool - oh bliss!
The package deal which included a dinner, a tour and a massage was good value, and the masseur a lovely lady with wicked thumbs. Wild ducks were nibbling at left over rice following the harvest most mornings as we woke, and the management were ridiculously accommodating in arranging transport into Ubud (about a 10 min drive) or organising trips/tours. Would go back.

Room Tip: The rooms beside the pool might be a bit noisy - and not very private. Get one of the rooms near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our Villa! We're delighted to hear that you were able to find a great rate that included a lot of benefits.
Thank you for your kind words about the staff as we're always striving to exceed guest expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    48
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
166
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights in the Superior room. The room was excellent with a king bed and 2 additional king singles added in for kids. The grounds were lovely and tranquil. Yes, it is a little out of town but that didn't matter. We used the shuttle service or called the hotel to collect us if needed. The staff were lovely. The breakfast was tasty. I really loved our stay and I really recommend it for a family holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xpatmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Bali Villa Ubud.

We pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy your room, tasty breakfast, and tranquil place.
For your information you stayed at our Signature room, which is the top room in our Boutique Hotel. Superior room even though its name is the smaller one.

Thank you very much for your recommendations to next travelers.

We look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Best regards,
Bali Villa Ubud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked two rooms - a Superior and a Premium one as I was here with my nieces. The villas are beautiful - i would definitely recommend paying a little extra for the Premium one. The grounds and pool are beautiful and the staff are gracious and especially accommodating. I accidentally booked for two nights through a third party website, and even though the cancellation policy did not permit a refund, there was no hesitation at all from Bali Villa staff in agreeing to the cancellation. I appreciated this as I have had the opposite experience. The Premium room has beautiful dark timber floors, lovely Bali furniture and windows on every side. It is a large and very gracious room- nicer than many five star places at which I have stayed. The Superior room is also nice but smaller and has marble floors. Both rooms have good bathrooms. The shuttle bus runs three times daily and is very reliable. We ate at the restaurant and it is beautiful looking through the beautiful gardens to the jungle. The food was good value and delicious. We have stayed at many properties in Bali over the years, most recently at the Puri Walandari and Warick Ibah. Both are also lovely but much more expensive. I will certainly return.

Room Tip: Go for a Premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review via Trip Advisor.

We are so glad to hear that you had great experience staying with us! We are happy that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our guest rooms, our shuttle to Ubud center, the pool &garden, and tasty food at the restaurant and the helpfulness of our staff.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Bali Villa Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

As soon as you walk through the front gate you feel as if you have enter some kind of retreat. The beautiful landscape and architecture add to this quiet and peaceful haven not too far from the main road in Ubud. The staff is very helpful and make you feel at home. Everyone was very friendly, with a permanent smile on their faces. Do not miss their massajes, surrounded by the magical sounds and sights of nature. The pool has water that feels like silk and at the perfect temperature. The villa was quie, very comfortable and airconditioned. Everything was superb, even their menu, which we tried for breakfast and dinner. Overall, I would highly recommend this place and definitely love to go back someday.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenariba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so honored to hear you were blown away by your recent stay at Bali Villa Ubud. We are so happy you found the service to be flawless and friendly while also enjoying our spacious Villa accommodations, pool, massages and view of the nature that surround the Villa.

Thank you for recommending Bali Villa Ubud and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards,
Bali Villa Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you like to take time off from the rat race, unwind & recharge your batteries, this is the place to go.
We spent 3 x relaxing & restful days at this beautiful resort. The Villas are massive with 3 x double bedrooms on 3 x levels with just natural scenery.
The staff was friendly, helpful & the service was always good.
The natural beauty & scenery is unmatched to anywhere else in Bali.
You must walk down to the river. It so pristinely beautiful, it should be in the worlds heritage listing...untouched, clean, & soul inspiring.
We will go back again & like to recommend this resort un-reservedly.

Room Tip: Take your own alcohol. The Villa #2 we stayed in was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanti k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review..
We are so honored to hear you were blown away in your recent stay at Bali Villa Ubud!

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Bali Villa Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Villa Sembuwuk, a new 3-bedroom villa run by Bali Villa Ubud. We were, in fact, the first guests to stay at the Villa - which meant that 1) Everything was clean and new (and smelt of fresh paint) and 2) Some things weren't working.

The property itself is 4km to the North of Bali Villa, situated in open country next to the rice fields. It is built in a minimalist modern style - aluminum and glass instead of Balinese wooden doors and features and very different from the rest of their villas. The master bedroom had a partial view of the pool and en-suite bathroom, the second bedroom also had pool view and en-suite, but the shower is shared with the third bedroom. There is an additional shower in this bathroom, which is partially open to the sky. The kitchen is decently equipped, with a range of modern appliances. They even had an expresso machine. There is a digital safe in the kitchen, but it is placed awkwardly with the keypad deep inside - and they couldn't open it! The TV is tiny for the size of the living room. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. Although there are rice paddies around, there is no view of them - the walls are high and there is no 2nd level.

It was so new that there were just installing the wifi when we arrived. They had yet to connect the TV properly, and we had to ask for waste bins as there were none. But the biggest problem was a faulty hot water heater - we had cold showers in one bathroom for two nights. It was a teething problem, and took two attempts to get it fixed. And we could not get them to fix it at night - it had to wait until the next morning.

Pros - it is a good location for the country experience, with rice fields just outside and the sound of cocks crowing in the background. It's also good for those looking to really get away from the crowds as there are only a few scattered neighbours.

Cons - The isolation also means that restaurants, groceries and support from Bali Villa Ubud is some distance away. You would need either your own vehicle or get help from Bali Villa to get anything.There are supposed to be 4 scheduled trips to Ubud centre (20 - 30 min drive) - but their driver was kind enough to stop by a supermarket to get groceries, drop us off at a restaurant and then make an unscheduled trip to pick us up after dinner. Extra trips are supposed to cost IDR50,000 but they didn't charge us for it.

As we were the first guests to stay at the villa, and I suppose to make up for the cold showers, they gave us a complimentary breakfast on the last day. Throughout the stay, the staff tried their best to be helpful - it was Nyoman who brought us to the villa and supervised the installation and repair work and also invited us to breakfast - a big thank you to him. Various staff did offer their tours and services but we had already booked our own tours and they were not at all pushy about it. Overall, it was good value for money for a country escape.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Singfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Villa Sembuwuk. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our Villa. Our goal is always to exceed our guest's expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem. Thank you very much for your feedback as our property still new, we need a lot of things to prepare well.

Thank you very much for becoming our first guest, we look forward for your stay in nearly future.

Best regards,

Bali Villa Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Some improvements have been made since my last visit, a good sign that the management listen to their guests.

The tiling in the bathroom of Lovina has been replaced with a cream marble mosaic and a new sink. It is better than it was by far.

I particularly like the rooms by the pool with small balconies at the rear of the room.

The menu has also been updated and I ate at the restaurant and had a very enjoyable meal. The service I was as always very prompt and correct and with the traditional Balinese smiles and friendliness.

The grounds are lovely and very well maintained and having management on site to sort any special requests... Like... Scissors please! Or help with parcels is great.

So long as you don't mind being a 15-20 minute drive from central Ubud, there is a regular shuttle, this is an ideal location for a relaxing break. A beautiful pool with pool towels provided, a jungle outlook, and a small spa make this a special secret place in Ubud.

Room Tip: If you want something a bit different at breakfast just ask. I fancied pancakes one morning, and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Peta & Chris

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Bali Villa Ubud.

We are so happy that you always choosing us as your place to stay on your holiday trip.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will give us another opportunity to make your stay the best we can.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Bali Villa Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.9 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#4 of 556 in Ubud
153 reviews
4.6 mi away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
2.8 mi away
Umaya Ubud Villa
Umaya Ubud Villa
#38 of 556 in Ubud
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#12 of 556 in Ubud
330 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ubud Dedari Villas
Ubud Dedari Villas
#37 of 556 in Ubud
216 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mandala Desa
Mandala Desa
#13 of 556 in Ubud
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa-Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa-Ubud

Property: Hotel Villa-Ubud
Address: Br. Pedapdapan | Jln ke-Cagaan 1, Pejeng, Ubud 80552, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 556 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa-Ubud 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Ubud is situated in a very exclusive area close to Ubud and essentially quite. There is a sacred river surrounding the property and a direct access to wonderful verdant paddy fields. A very distinctive stone architecture gives a wonderful touch to the property. Massages, trekking, cycle, motorbike, rafting, Balinese dancing and cooking classes are a few features to enjoy a perfect stay. Weddings and corporate events are welcome. Ubud's popularity has been long renowned by the world. Ubud is unique and that's what people like. Now, start planning your journey and make all your time in Ubud a great experience that will linger long in your memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa-Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Villa Ubud Hotel Ubud
Hotel Villa-Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing