We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but...”
Review of Hotel Villa-Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa-Ubud
Ranked #52 of 598 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I'm finding it very hard to write a review on this place. It is lovely and the staff are so very nice and friendly. We got a great 5 day package and found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable and the food was fantastic. We stayed in the Lovina villa and thought it was lovely. The issues we had were with location. If you are using Ubud as a base to go on day trips then it would be preferable to stay in Ubud itself. The hotel is 15 mins away from Ubud centre and they do offer a free shuttle but if after a long day you just want to go out for a quick bite to eat, you just can't do it here. My other issue is with the amount creepy crawlies in the room! Now I totally understand that this is a personal issue but we did not experience this to the same extent in any other place with stayed in. For those of you not used to bugs you should be aware that hotel is close to a small jungle area and i think that is why so many creatures are there. However we did come home one day to find a rat in our room. I do not think that that is acceptable and the reason i have decided to share this is because staff didn't not seem to understand why i had an issue with this. The result was that i didn't get a good nights sleep there for the rest of our stay. We may just have been unlucky and i believe the presence of the rat was due to proximity to the jungle rather than due to cleanliness as the place was spotless. Overall this hotel has a lot to offer, just make sure it is suitable for your needs!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trifde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you so much for your feedback about our hotel and also thank you for your positive comments.

However, it seems appropriate to clarify that our situation, 10 or 15 minutes from Ubud is very clear on our website and we provide a map in addition to specify very clearly that our position is 4.5 Km from Ubud. On the other hand, the main attractions near Ubud are closer to Bali Villa Ubud than Ubud itself, such as Goa Gajah, Gunung Kawi, Samuan Tiga Temple, Ukur – Ukuran Temple, Tirta Empul, Yeh Puluh, Gedong Arca Museum in Pejeng and Kintamani (view of lake and active mount Batur).

Regarding your second matter and as you recognized, this issue has nothing to do with the cleaning in all our premises, not just the rooms.
Anyway, we would like to clarify that this rodent that you had seen, in no case is a rat but a mouse. They are frequent in certain seasons of the year, primarily when start the rains, i.e. in October and November, because due to the destruction of their natural habitat in the rice fields, they start looking for new shelters.

The wonder of being in a landscape idyllic is that sometimes happen things like the one that you have described. We apologize on behalf of Mother Nature!

No doubt we will continue to strive to achieve the best for our customers and we hope to see you soon in Bali Villa Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent five days in Bali Villa Ubub. We read many good reviews and we have to say that none of them disappointed us.
From the first moment at the airport, we received a very warm welcome and later on when we arrived at the villa we confirmed that first impression.
The villa is situated at only 5 kilometers of UBud in the small village of Dapdapan. It is a local community where there is a nice small market where the local artisans come to sell their products.
The breakfast is wonderful with many choices. Some toasts with garlic and olive oil made the perfect compliment.
The swimming pool is situated opposite to a big barrier of trees.
What about the rooms? Most of them are decorated with fine furniture and wooden floors. Gorgeous!
We will come back next year to Indonesia and it is clear that we will come back to Bali Villa Ubud. A very nice staff is waiting for us!
Maria

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing 5 stars review via Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that you had great experience staying with us!

Your positive comments on our room, breakfast, surrounding and especially our service are highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you back in a very near future.

Best regards,
Bali Villa Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I've travelled more than 15 times to Bali in the past years and I can't go to Bali without spending few days in Ubud, which is to me the "spiritual, cultural and artistic" heart of the island.
After I've stayed few in year in central Ubud, I discovered the charm of being little bit "in the wild" of the city : Bali Villa Ubud is surrounded by a wonderful nature that you usually won't fond inside the city (city which has so many noises due du to traffic, various "live concert" at night etc.
Bali Villa Ubud is located in Pejeng, which is not Ubud itself, but they have a free car service several times a day and a cost of driver is very cheap and you'll feel more the spirit of Ubud here rather than staying in a hotel inside the city.
Each bungalow is a wonderful unique place and you really feel it's so blessing to be there ! I've discovered it in 2012 but I've been there already 3 times since then ! Staff is so kind and helpful. The owner is a very nice man, and we feel that he's treating his employees very well : they are proud to work there and do there best for servicing you , and they do it very well.
The hotel restaurant is very nice, quiet and food pretty good !
I really recommend this place. I took several pictures that I hope will show you as if you were there !

Room Tip: I recommend you won't take the cheapest room which is next by the street and which has no real v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Martin,

Thank you for sharing this review via TripAdvisor.
We are so glad to hear that you are a repeater guest at Bali Villa Ubud so you have great experiences in staying with us!
We are glad you enjoy the spaciousness of nature that surrounded of our villa.

Thank you for your kind words for our helpfulness staff. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at the Bali Villan when on our honeymoon in August and we stayed in the Lovina room and it was very nice and extremely clean.

The staff were all very eager to please and did everything possible to make our stay memorable. My wife was unfortunately ill one evening and the staff took us to a local pharmacy to get some medication without raising any questions or moaning that it was late.

We tried the spa (which was amazing!) and also ate in the restaurant and the food was beautiful (although a bit on the small side). Breakfasts were nice although there could have been a little more choice.

It is a little way out of town but there is a shuttle service which takes you to Ubud centre.

All in all, a lovely stay and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get the Lovina room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulie149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear guest,

Warm greetings from Bali Villa Ubud,

What a nice review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon and had satisfaction with all our services and really glad to hear our staff were helpful and looked after you.

Thank you very much for your comments about Restaurant.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Bali Villa Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The best thing about Bali Villa is the lovely warm service from the most eager to please staff. The room was right near the pool and it was just a beautiful setting. The room was fantastic and the restaurant cuisine was top quality. It is a little way out of town but you will have no trouble engaging a driver or the office can help you organise transport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginastu2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Gina & Stuart,

Thank you so much for your 5 star view of our hotel! We're delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy great room in a beautiful setting near by the pool and also your kind words for the top quality of food. We are glad you enjoy the helpfulness and warm service of our staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Bali Villa Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights in August with our almost 2 year old. It is a GORGEOUS villa, the room and bed simple, comfortable and elegant, the restaurant was excellent (and very accommodating of a 2 year olds dietary preferences) the staff attentive and friendly but not invasive, and would happily bring your cocktails down to the pool - oh bliss!
The package deal which included a dinner, a tour and a massage was good value, and the masseur a lovely lady with wicked thumbs. Wild ducks were nibbling at left over rice following the harvest most mornings as we woke, and the management were ridiculously accommodating in arranging transport into Ubud (about a 10 min drive) or organising trips/tours. Would go back.

Room Tip: The rooms beside the pool might be a bit noisy - and not very private. Get one of the rooms near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our Villa! We're delighted to hear that you were able to find a great rate that included a lot of benefits.
Thank you for your kind words about the staff as we're always striving to exceed guest expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights in the Superior room. The room was excellent with a king bed and 2 additional king singles added in for kids. The grounds were lovely and tranquil. Yes, it is a little out of town but that didn't matter. We used the shuttle service or called the hotel to collect us if needed. The staff were lovely. The breakfast was tasty. I really loved our stay and I really recommend it for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xpatmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balivillaubud99, Manager at Hotel Villa-Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Bali Villa Ubud.

We pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy your room, tasty breakfast, and tranquil place.
For your information you stayed at our Signature room, which is the top room in our Boutique Hotel. Superior room even though its name is the smaller one.

Thank you very much for your recommendations to next travelers.

We look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Best regards,
Bali Villa Ubud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.0 mi away
Villa Sonia
Villa Sonia
#19 of 598 in Ubud
361 reviews
2.9 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#2 of 598 in Ubud
172 reviews
4.6 mi away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Mandala Desa
Mandala Desa
#9 of 598 in Ubud
299 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ubud Dedari Villas
Ubud Dedari Villas
#40 of 598 in Ubud
222 reviews
2.8 mi away
Umaya Ubud Villa
Umaya Ubud Villa
#37 of 598 in Ubud
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa-Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa-Ubud

Address: Br. Pedapdapan | Jln ke-Cagaan 1, Pejeng, Ubud 80552, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 598 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £37 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa-Ubud 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Ubud is situated in a very exclusive area close to Ubud and essentially quite. There is a sacred river surrounding the property and a direct access to wonderful verdant paddy fields. A very distinctive stone architecture gives a wonderful touch to the property. Massages, trekking, cycle, motorbike, rafting, Balinese dancing and cooking classes are a few features to enjoy a perfect stay. Weddings and corporate events are welcome. Ubud's popularity has been long renowned by the world. Ubud is unique and that's what people like. Now, start planning your journey and make all your time in Ubud a great experience that will linger long in your memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa-Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Villa Ubud Hotel Ubud
Hotel Villa-Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing