We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bucu View Bungalows
Ranked #60 of 557 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The location is only 5 minutes taxi ride from Ubud but it is also in a very quiet location in the rain forest. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was very large with two beds and a fantastic extra large balcony where we could sit at the table in the palm tree tops. The included breakfast is minimal. The rooms were clean but the shower took a while to drain (Balinese plumbing?). The pool was clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfarandwide_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    61
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
81
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

..firstly we must start by saying that although we had some criticism of this hotel, we did enjoy our stay ..and the location is excellent to walk to Ubud Village & the Monkey Forrest

..a section of the main road to the Bucu View is a rough dirt track, together with a very steep driveway of some 240 mtrs to the bungalows [not the 80 mtrs the sign suggests], which we feel is not really suitable for most mature aged travellers

..we found all the staff including management full of smiles & most helpful ..the gardens are very pleasant, and the pool clean & refreshing

..the rooms themselves are basic but pleasant, we booked the "deluxe room" but found the views restictive, with the outside terrace cramped & uncomfortable seating ..after some discussion we secured the "family room" which overcame most of these issues, plus gave us a shower recess [preferred rather than shower over bath] ..but the bed(s) was exceptionally hard
..although if fitted with a lounge sofa bed, instead of the present 2 big beds would make the room more versitile & relaxing, and suit both couples & families [one for management to ponder] ?

..the "superior rooms" offer better valley views, although rice paddy views as described are abit of a stretch of the imagination from any room type

..the rooms are basically clean & tidy, although shower screen etc could've done with abit more of a scrub

..breakfast was very very limited, yet fresh & tasty ...things such as nets over beds not available all rooms & free drinking water etc as represented are not forthcoming unless asked for "daily"

..although Ubud may not have the charm of days gone by, it is still worth afew days stay over [best seen after all the day tourist are gone]

Room Tip: ..Ubud and the surrounding area offers many attractions ie good base to visit Kintamani ..also some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Lavandou, France
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

stayed in a lovely quiet little house overlooking the jungle and enjoyed every minute...
i was lucky to only have a few rain showers and was not bothered by the short distance between the hotel and the center of Ubud..(5 minute walk)
great place to relax after being in traffic all day on my bike shopping around and exploring....
beautiful setting and a very enjoyable swimming pool.
there are a few places to eat if you don t want to go far and if you are looking for peace and tranquility with nice helpful friendly staff ,this a nice option. ;-)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zali213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

I booked into Bucu View for a long weekend, having only seen their website. For a start, the location is not central in Ubud, with quite a long walk up Jl. Bisma to their entrance, and then perhaps another 200 metres down and up their entrance drive. This make things rather inconvenient during rainy season when you need to just go out for some dinner and it's pouring rain.

This sort of leads into their website and the misrepresentations I encountered. For a start, the site says that there is a "snack cafe", which certainly would have helped when it was raining and it's a long walk to Ubud. I asked about some food and was told there was no food service apart from bread and eggs for breakfast.

Their site also also specifies wifi, which there is, but the signal is not present in the room I was in. Maybe not a big deal for some, but sadly I had to get some work done.

I was booked into a "deluxe room" which the website states includes a mini-bar. Wrong again...there was no mini-bar, fridge, or even glasses in the room. When I enquired with the staff, they told me there was supposed to be a fridge, but it was broken. There was also not even a bottle of water in the room, so I asked for at least a couple of bottles of water and a glass and I was told there would be a charge for that. Mind you, I was paying US$65/night, and they could not even provide complimentary water? Yes, the room did have TV as stated in the website, but it included only about five Indonesian stations.

While perhaps not a huge deal, I thought the rooms were rather spartan, and my room (a downstairs room - there are not bungalows) had no view of any sort. It simply looked out to the vegetation, which isn't bad, but certainly not what I would call a "view". Perhaps I understand now why their website includes very few photos of the rooms.

So considering the lack of facilities that were promoted in their website and a general disappointment with the rooms and value for money (hitting me up to pay for bottled water?), I informed the staff that I would find another place and check out. I hadn't used the room or even unpacked, but when I returned in an hour or so at around 15:00 after having some lunch and finding a new place, I was requested to pay for a half day (US$32). I found that to be the last straw, particularly since they had few guests and had certainly not turned anyone away.

All in all, I found Bucu View to be the most disappointing experience I have ever had in Bali, and that is after more than a dozen trips there. From the misrepresentations in their website to the money-grubbing attitude, I would never recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tookay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Kiskenda Cottages
Kiskenda Cottages
#136 of 196 in Ubud
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nick's Hidden Cottages
Nick's Hidden Cottages
#12 of 575 in Ubud
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bucu Guest House
Bucu Guest House
#46 of 557 in Ubud
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alamdini Resort Ubud
Alamdini Resort Ubud
#105 of 557 in Ubud
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kama Bisma Cottage
Kama Bisma Cottage
#50 of 557 in Ubud
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucu View Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucu View Bungalows

Property: Bucu View Bungalows
Address: Bisma Street, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 557 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bucu View Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bucu View Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucu View Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing