We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous! Get there while you can” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bucu View Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bucu View Bungalows
Ranked #66 of 522 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Get there while you can”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is a fabulous hotel. We were there a week - I wish we were still there!

Location - You enter it down a driveway (200m?) off Bisma Street which dips down and then curves to the right. It is therefore very close to town (i.e. walk down Bisma over an unpaved winding track to town and near the second entrance to the monkey forest, or walk up Bisma to the main road (with the palace / market).

Food - There are alot of restaurants close by - either in Bisma (e.g. next to the turn-off, or up Bisma) or in town (either way).

Lay out - At the top is reception. You then walk through a gate and the rooms (villas) are located down the hill from there. It is set on alot of land so there is alot of space. The dining area is under reception and overlooks a manicured lawn and trees, some villas, and beyond the jungle on the other side. The pool is charming, and overlooks the rice paddies below and the jungle on the opposite site of the creek. The architecture is fabulous - statues, paths, walls. It is older style - some of the rooms have been done up and some are being done up. The bathrooms in both are ok. The beds are better in the done up rooms.

Sounds - There is a stream flowing beside the villas, and so there is always the sound of water. At dawn and dusk you can hear the birds. (Sunrise is magical there as the jungle wakes up). There is a sports (badminton) hall next door and that can be loud. It doesn't last all day and you cant hear it from the pool. Otherwise it is silent.

Spring - there is a spring accessible through the villas with a shrine and carvings. It looks ancient but is probably not. It is a very beautiful place.

Rooms - We stayed in 2 rooms - one was like a tree house overlooking (distant) jungle on 2 sides, and the other was more done up and had a balcony overlooking jungle and a self contained kitchen.

Staff - The staff were very helpful, pleasant and good. The receptionist is outstanding.

Facilities - There is a great pool (described above), and breakfast area. TV is only in Indonesian. It was really good in the end not to have it - much more peaceful.

Future - The land next door is to be sold and developed. In the meantime, this is either forest or rice paddies and manicured lawns and gardens.

FABULOUS!!! This a very special place. Get there while you can.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alinta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    57
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
26
76
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This hotel offers a very romantic peaceful stay that is walking distance to Ubud yet far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle. The price is around 500,000 IDR and worth every penny. I found this Hotel on Bali Advisor web site along with other great recommendations.

Room Tip: Room #8 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadeTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed here last week for three nights. This place is very very quiet and peaceful. Sure, some things are a little... lets say tired... but the setting makes up for that. Staff are the usual sweet people, very eager to help. Food, about what you would expect. The location is GREAT - an easy walk up to JL Bisma for food and massages, although we hardly went out at all - just enjoyed the gardens and pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen-n-bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed here for 1 week. I really liked it here, it suits my needs. It's quiet, good air and spacious. Great for romantic couples.

Bucu View has 8 Bungalows. It's really quiet, faces the jungle for a soothing view. I recommend Bungslow 7, skip the deluxe if you are traveling as a couple, It's close enough to Ubud, but definitely not walking distance friendly to all the happenings in Ubud. You will need a motorbike.

The service is informative, reception speaks good English. They were very happy to book my tours, ask for cooking class information, find me a Motorbike, and just pleasant for all my questions and requests.
It's good value. I bargained down to 450,000 Rp. / night for 3 nights stay.
Its charming because it's small enough to feel personal yet the place is clean to feel like its a piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Bungalow 7 has the best view. Plus the spring water is next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoboSappien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights.

The hotel is nicely located, not in the busiest section of Ubud but within a short walk to main streets. It's 's very quiet. The best part of this hotel is the natural spring pool and the main pool which is immaculately kept. Although showing signs of age, it is still really clean and the grounds and garden were kept extremely tidy.

Room - basic, clean , semi hard mattress but comfy. Has aircon and TV. Great wifi reception while I was there. Bathroom - basic. Sink has no hot water which is a lil strange. For the price. I have no complaints. My bungalow had a terrace with an entertainment area.

Service - great friendly staff. I noted I didn't have any hot water and staff replaced my gas bottle for hot water at 5am as promised. That was great although not necessary at 5am. They were pretty quiet so I didnt get woken up.

Breakfast - very basic , adequate. Nice strong Balinese coffee.

I would like to see breakfast area by the lovely pool. Would use it a lot more if it had the facilitles. There was some effort making an area but I can see construction has stopped. And have the natural spring pool in a sunny location would be just the best thing !

Overall a fab stay and I would go back.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Mickster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel location is great! It's not far from the center of Ubud but it's also very peaceful and quite. It also near to Monkey Forrest and some shopping and dining areas. The restaurant of this hotel offers healthy food and they have plenty of books to read. The view from the swimming pool is just excellent! I love to relax on the swimming pool while reading. Not to mention that this hotel has it's own spring water! The room itself is very large and clean with a spacious bathroom. I will definitely stay here again next time I went to Ubud.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissRanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

extremely helpfull staff that can help you with any question
small but good breakfast (try all of the fresh smoothies)
rooms all overlooking the lush gardens (full of gecko's, froggies, etc)
the pool fed by the spring in the garden of the hotel is just so quiet and relaxing to escape from UBUD's tourist track.
As Bucu view is situated at the extreme end of a side road, no car, no...it is very tranquil.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7 at the end of the stairs & garden so even more quiet. On the groundfloor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristof G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Bucu Guest House
Bucu Guest House
#44 of 522 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nick's Hidden Cottages
0.4 mi away
Lumbung Sari Cottages
Lumbung Sari Cottages
#16 of 522 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kama Bisma Cottage
Kama Bisma Cottage
#68 of 522 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hibiscus Cottages
Hibiscus Cottages
#103 of 522 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nick's Pension
Nick's Pension
#61 of 522 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucu View Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucu View Bungalows

Property: Bucu View Bungalows
Address: Bisma Street, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 522 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bucu View Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bucu View Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucu View Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing