We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cooking class”

Lobong Culinary Experience
Ranked #2 of 35 Food & Drink in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: An Authentic Balinese culinary experience set in a local family home compound. great way to discover the enchanting balinese culture ,traditional lifestyle and culinary experiences.no one will regret this great culinary experience, your taste buds will thank you
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic cooking class”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My fiancee and I booked this cooking class based off other TripAdvisor reviews and all of those reviews are 100% right. This is such a fantastic class!
We arranged transport, which was on-time. Sang picked us up and filled us in on Balinese culture and food on our drive to the market. We met up with the rest of our group there and got an informative tour of the market. Then they took us back to Sang's family compound, which was quiet interesting and really beautiful.
Sang's brother in law took over with the cooking class. He's an excellent chef and makes sure everyone gets included. You definitely don't need to be a pro to do this class. It's very much for amateurs as well.
Everything is very clean and comfortable. We were picked up at 8a and got back to our hotel in Ubud around 2:30p. You get pretty hungry during the class, but the end result is SO much great food!
I would definitely recommend this class! We're still raving about the food!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank pristine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    28
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A highlight of our time in Bali.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We did this as a family. My husband, 21 year old daughter and myself. I looked at reviews of the different cooking schools in Ubud and chose this one and so glad I did. I sent a booking via their website and received a prompt reply. We were picked up on time and from then on had a wonderful experience. With very good English, Sang Made told us so much about the culture. We had to stop for a long procession and he explained about the mass cremation, which was going to take place. The local food market was fascinating and he showed us different ingredients we would be using. The actual cooking is done at the family compound and it was an honour and a pleasure to be there. Dee War was so pleasant and passionate about Balinese cuisine. It is simple, but the prcocesses are very important. Loved learning how to make Sate sauce from scratch. Sitting down to the beautiful food at the end after mother gave the blessings was so enjoyable. Recommend this so much.

Helpful?
1 Thank Travel5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Perfect Day!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

What a great experience! This day was terrific from the 8.00am start to the 2.30pm finish. Snag De is a wonderful host - engaging, knowledgeable, and with great English - and Dee War is a great teacher ensuring that our dishes all turned out perfectly. The market tour was a great insight into a local Balinese market and the family compound was beautifully presented and informatively explained.
The day finished with a lovely meal in a great setting. One of the best value experiences in Bali.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No need to be a cook”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

All you need is a half day and an interest in Balinese culture...oh and an appetite. Our day started at 8 with a pickup from hotel, off to the local food markets where all the ingredients and strange fruit and spices were explained to us. Chatting with the local vendors was fun and interesting. We then were welcomed into the family compound with a drink and an explanation of how the family live in the compound. Our cooking class began and everyone had a a few small tasks to do that contributed to completing a fantastic feast. Before we ate we were invited into the family temple to experience and learn about the tradition of placing offerings to the gods. The family then served us the delicious feast that we had helped to create. This was a wonderful experience with beautiful and welcoming hosts.

My daughter and I didn't want to return to our villa after the class, but head into Ubud for a massage, Sande phoned ahead to the spa for us and made our appointment and delivered us there on time.

Don't miss this if you are in Ubud.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leap601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A whole culture package!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

From the start, Sang Made has been very friendly - the reservation process was easy on the internet and the confirmation was quick too. This allow easy planning for our time in Ubud.

Our little group of 7 was taken to the local market to look at various things! Sang Made was very knowledgable and could answer every single questions that we threw at him! He also got us to try the local fruits and was very patient in explaining the various local norms - the warungs that the local hang out, the snacks that they have, the sate stall.. It as such a culture treat!

When we arrive at their house, we were treated with either Bali coffee or the ginger tea with banana fritters. While we eat, Sang Made explains the culture of names, the house that was handed from one generation to another and also the family temple.

The cooking class was enjoyable and easy and we were given a lot of explanation on what substitute that we can use in the cuisine. There was as so much care taken into making sure that we learnt the cuisine and was able to replicate it back home.

Before we sat down together to have lunch, we were treated to witness how an offering to God was conducted by his mother which was really interesting.

All in all, we had a great time and it was more than just a cooking class - it was a truly cultural experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lobong Culinary Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing