We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 22:00
Bali Cooking Class with Culture Experience
62

Book in advance
from
£40.07
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Lobong Culinary Experience
from £40.07
More Info
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveller rating
951
32
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
951
32
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family compound local market cooking class balinese culture local ingredients highlight of our trip balinese home bali trip dishes indonesia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 990 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

As Filipinos, we are accustomed to providing hospitality to other people...we are not too different from Balinese families. Sang Made and Chef Dewa -our hosts, together with their family, welcomed us warmly into their lovely home to learn their culture and tradition by walking us through their architectural traditions, religious offerings and rituals and of course, their culture through the Balinese way of cooking. Arriving at Made’s family compound, we were greeted by Chef Dewa with hot coffee and tea paired with Pisang Goreng or banana fritters. We were then brought to the southern leg of their compound where the kitchen is located! It was interesting having to experience this with different nationalities... each one had their unique reaction towards Balinese food. I, for one, thought that they were going to be too pungent. surprisingly, even with less seasoning, all the food were very rich but with the perfect balance of flavors....One thing I’ve learned today...before forming an opinion about something, you really need to experience it first-hand so as to give it it’s due place! I’m just really happy I got to do this before heading back home..it’s considered as being one with the locals. Learning their culture is another way of showing respect. Thank you Sang Made, Chef Dewa and family for your hospitality! Matur Suksma 🙏🏻#balinesenasicampur #slowfood #localfood #traditionalcooking #lobongcookingclass #ubud #bali

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank chefkyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

This was probably my favorite experience in Bali.

You are picked up at 8am and driven by your host to the market. Sang was just fantastic, spoke great English and taught us so much about Balinese food and culture.

We were a party of 3 and were teamed with another couple so that made 5 of us. A nice small group.

After the market experience we went to Sang’s family home which was gorgeous. It was fascinating to learn about Balinese homes and family life.

Then to the cooking - we had so much fun and time flew by. The lunch was delicious.

Highly recommend!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank JamesPatrickMcLaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

After being picked up by our host, we went to a local market with the other participants (small group - 6 of us). Our host showed us around, explaining all local ingredients and spices and we could try snake skin fruit and other local produce.
Afterwards we were driven to their family home, where he gave us some insights into traditional Balinese family life.
His brother-in-law (an internationally trained chef) explained the 3-course menu and we went to work: we all got to cut and cook by ourselves to get a good understanding of the various techniques used. After preparing the offerings for their temple, the table was set for us and we got to taste the food we had prepared - delicious.
Absolutely highly recommend this experience, if you are after an authentic, hands-on cooking class - don’t look any further

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank foodiefuntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Started out with a visit to a market explaining all the ingredients. Then we went to their family home and had some tea and snacks. The cooking class was in the back of the house compound. Pretty nice setup. We walked through all the steps and got to participate throughout. End product was very tasty. Only downside is it took longer than we expected. I think we got done around 3. That's a long time to make a meal. Still really enjoyable.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank SeamasterPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

A great way to see the true Balinese culture and lifestyle. Great food and even better hosts who are so friendly and welcoming. Would highly recommend!

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank sophiesharland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews