We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 22:00
Bali Cooking Class with Culture Experience
62

Book in advance
from
£39.96
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Lobong Culinary Experience
from £39.96
More Info
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveller rating
951
32
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
951
32
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family compound local market cooking class balinese culture local ingredients highlight of our trip balinese home bali trip dishes indonesia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 990 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2023

An endearing and knowledgeable introduction to Balinese culture and cooking. After a tour of the morning market in a nearby village, we were allowed into the private home, where several generations live, to help prepare and cook a Balinese meal together with other family members. We really enjoyed this and learned a lot about ingredients and spices. It was particularly nice that we were allowed to accompany our host's mother during the ritual sacrifice that took place before lunch.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank beate925
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lobongcooking, Manager at Lobong Culinary Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Dear Beate9 ,

Thank you for your wonderful review. it was great to welcome you in our home and share Bali food and culture with you. we wish you the very best and hope to catch up again in the near future for another great Balinese authentic culinary experience

warmest regards
Sang Made/ family host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2023

This was a fabulous experience from beginning to end. Sang picked us up at our hotel and took us to a market that is used by locals. We saw and tasted fruits and vegetables native to the region and then were taken to his family compound where the cooking class was held.
In addition to making delicious dishes, he shared his pride in Balinese culture and taught us about it.
This was the most interesting thing we did in Bali and was a highlight in our trip. And best of all, the food was delicious and now we can make it at home.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Dorit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lobongcooking, Manager at Lobong Culinary Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Dear DKB-LA ,

thank you for the amazing review. glad to hear that you have enjoyed the whole experience. our strong commitment to share the genuine Bali authentic experience for those that love Bali with their culture and traditions. we hope you could duplicate the recipe at your home and help us share Bali food to your love ones

warmest regards
Sang Made/family host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2023

This tour by far was the best we experienced. We have experienced many cooking classes, in Italy, in Morocco, and many more, but this one was not only a cooking class but a whole introduction to Bali's way of life, its traditions, what a genuine Balinese house look like and everything else which goes with it. The chef was a proud young gentleman with tons of knowledge about the ingredients used in Balinese cousin by taking us to an authentic Balinese market place and spending ample time showing us, letting us to taste and answering our questions about all the herbs and greeneries they use in their everyday cooking.

He was so organized and prepared during the class and led us step by step during the cooking session. At the end we had more than enough time to enjoy the meal we had cooked all by ourselves, which was after he thought us about their tradition of offerings first.

We are confident that with any background you may have, if you are genuinely interested in learning cousins from other countries, your taste will be completely satisfied after you take this tour.

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank Vacationer471654
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lobongcooking, Manager at Lobong Culinary Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Dear Vacatio ,

Thank you for the amazing review . we are all so happy to hear that you have enjoyed the whole experience. we love Bali and love sharing it with peoples that visiting the island. hope we can catch up again in the near future for another great Balinese experience. till the time comes we wish you the very best.

best regards
Sang Made/family host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2023

We had an amazing time with this cooking class. The market tour was incredibly insightful to learn about common Balinese ingredients and experience how the locals shop. Sang Made is an incredible guide and instructor. He is very knowledgeable and speaks fantastic English. He was patient & kind with our novice chefs and plethora or questions. His family home is beautiful and it was incredibly humbling to be welcomed there for the class. The meals we prepared were fantastic. They were also accommodating to allergies and dietary preferences, which we appreciated. I HIGHLY recommend booking with them!

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lobongcooking, Manager at Lobong Culinary Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Dear Nicoleg ,

thank you for the amazing review.
so happy to hear that you have enjoyed the experience. help us out and share Bali food and memories to your friends and love ones.
all the very best to you.

warmest regards
Sang Made/family host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2023

This is our first time in Bali and we came over with our two daughters. We were recommended Lobong Bali Cooking Class by friends and were not disappointed. Sang Made is an excellent host and teacher, throughout the experience we learnt an array of culinary facts to aspects of Balinese culture and heritage.
We started our morning with a trip to a local market where we learnt about the spices that make up the heart of Balinese cooking before going to his stunning family home.

We were welcomed by his family who were there throughout helping with the cooking experience. We all, including our children, had an opportunity to take part in all aspects of producing the most amazing meal using the freshest of ingredients. I am looking forward to trying the recipes at home and feel inspired to cook more with my children.

We have been to many places and several cooking experiences, this has been one of the best!

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank HonestTraveller7744
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lobongcooking, Manager at Lobong Culinary Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2023

Dear Honest ,

Greetings from lobong culinary experience.

Thank you for your amazing review. glad to read that you have enjoyed the experience.
our strong commitment to share the genuine Bali with you and others visitor that visiting the Bali island. we wish you the very best and hope to catch up again in the future for another amazing Balinese experience

warmest regards
Sang Made/family host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews