We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Escaping from the eating praying loving tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
Ranked #72 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Escaping from the eating praying loving tourists”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

It's all too much, Ubud, these days. What a crying shame. That lovely town with it's kitsch carved cats, its endless wooden fish mobiles and its crazy streets, where the only 'brands' were the fake Prada shop and the Lotus restaurant, has turned into a Hollywood parody of itself. Today, you've got to get out of Ubud to find Ubud.

Now don't get me wrong - Ubud's fine if you haven't been there in the Old Days. It just isn't if you have memories of the way things were.

Which is why we moved from Kajane Mua to Kajane Yangloni. Yangloni is a collection of wooden fishermen's huts set in rice fields with (nicely-designed and rather chic) hotel facilities (a restaurant, gym, computer room and small pool) nearer the road. There's an on-demand shuttle service from the hotel to the town, so you can still get your Ubud market/shop/restaurant fix.

Rooms have open terraces, fridges, air con, TV and iPod docks and low beds swathed in mosquito nets. They are a little on the dark side as the windows are quite tiny (ask for more lights to be brought in), but the bathrooms are indoor/outdoor and super-dramatic, with baths and basins carved from granite boulders, and a shower moated by koi ponds.

Big Plusses: views, photogenic bathrooms, wildlife (if you can't stand the frogs' chirrupping, take earplugs), lovely beds and bed linen, thick fluffy towels

Breakfast is lovely - it's menu driven and there's no buffet: specially recommended is the patisserie: the delicious, freshly baked croissants were yummy. Though it's a brand new hotel (at the time of writing), staff are professional and, in fact, shared with Kajane Mua.

One major downside: there's no atmosphere as yet - guests don't seem to hang around the hotel - it's breakfast on your terrace then off for the day, which leaves the place feeling a little bit love lorn. And in the evening, everyone dines out, so there's no sociability or real chance to make friends with fellow travellers.

One minor irritation: the mosquito nets look gorgeous, but they're suspended from a central point rather from a frame, so they do trail over your face. Not pleasant, actually.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    39
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
128
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at Kajane Mua for 3 nights. All the rooms are private villas that look like small houses. The villas are surrounded by lush green rice fields. It was absolutely gorgeous. The bathroom is outside and at first I was hesitant about that, but it turned out to be a nice change of pace and was very peaceful. The hotel is right in the middle of fields, and so with that will some the sounds and sights of nature. But they do provide mosquito nets and repellant, and therefore it wasn't too big of a problem. The hotel is 15 minutes outside of the main central area of Ubud and this is a positive thing. Central Ubud is teaming with crowds. The great thing is that the hotel provides a FREE shuttle to go to central Ubud until 11pm! They will even pick you up from central Ubud to bring you back (just call to be picked up, or arrange a pick up time ahead of time). The staff was incredibly warm and welcoming. They are a newer hotel (their sister hotel in central Ubud is Kajane Mua, which is well established and this is part of the same brand) and really go above and beyond to give you a good stay. The breakfasts were great, you can chose btw multicourse set menus (american, english, healthy, japanese, indonesian). They were very tasty (included freshly blended juices), fresh, and sure beat the buffet offered by other places. Overall great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calitraveler1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The owner of Neka Museum made another exquisite site for staying around Ubud. Just Close to Arma Museum on the road to artist village Mas and across wahrung Teges you will find a small entrance to a beautifull Bali style resort with small bungalows on pillars between the rice paddies. The service and friendliness are the same as Kajane Mua - thus excellent.
For tours around Ubud you are all set because you don't need to cross the overcrowded roads in central Ubud. The staff are all Ubud original people. For instance, when you need the local hairdresser, just hop on the motorcycle with one of the staff. It's our top choice for 2011.

Room Tip: Bungalows at the back side have more shadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoOveste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed at Kajane Yangloni & Kajane Mua for a week from 23 - 30 June. Both properties were fabulous - lovely design, gardens, swimming pools, good food, terrific service and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Arina & Mega cooked us the best banana
pancakes ever! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebboS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and it has left us with much good memories. As there were only a few villas in the compound, we felt almost like we had the whole place to us.

We arranged the Mt Batur climb with them, and we couldn't be more happy with their arrangement. Initially we thought that they would just provide transport for us but we were pleasantly surprised that they actually arranged for their staff to climb with us. We really enjoyed the climb with Sardi who drove us there, arranged for our breakfast at the top of the mountain, provided trekking stick, water, touchlights, etc. It couldn't be better.

Making special arrangment such as getting the staff to help us buy the famous suckling pig from Ibu Ooka to dine in our villa was also possible and indeed did make our stay special.

The only downside might be the distance to city. Fortunately, they provided free transport.

We are already planning to return one day to visit the other branch of Kajane.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviamummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed for four days at this off-the-beaten-path boutique hotel. KajaNe offers two properties in the Ubud area. Mua which receives many excellent reviews and is in the heart of Ubud, and Yangloni which is actually in Mas just outside of Ubud. We booked a room while on our honeymoon and had some plans change. Mua was all booked and the contact recommended their second property. Although there are few reviews they were all positive, so we booked their honeymoon package.

The hotel is quite something. Nine cottages built among working rice paddies, each raised over water with koi swimming underneath. Think rustic cabin meets luxury accommodation. Granite bathtubs, outdoor shower, dual twin beds and high tea everyday. The staff was nothing short of 5-star. Staff would phone ahead when we were seen walking to the restaurant so that we were greeted. The price for all was well worth it, and the personal touches a big plus. Shuttles are offered to and from the Ubud area with just a call. The food was also quite good, and again the staff did a wonderful job.

There is a lovely spa on the grounds which was quite good as well. We had a candlelit honeymoon dinner which was by the pool. My wife was asked what colors she liked, and that night all the linens and flowers draped around the pool were matched to her request.

This is not your typical hotel. You are amongst the locals, so you may hear a tractor in the morning or a temple celebration in the evening. The frogs and geckos certainly add to the mix, but it adds more charm in my book.

One more thing- to put a big plus in my book we were asked by the staff before we left what we would improve. That's class!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edge4syn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed at Kajane Yangloni, having been informed that the Group's Kajane Mua property in Central Ubud was full.

Kajane Yangloni is a 7 minute car ride from central ubud. The hotel happily provides complimentary transfers to and from central ubud upon request. What makes the place special is the fantastic service rendered by staff who were genuinely happy and pleased to assist guests. Nothing was too much trouble. Spa treatments good value too.

Highly recommend the Kajane Yangloni for a peaceful, stylish stay around Ubud.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnTSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.7 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
1.3 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.8 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#53 of 195 in Ubud
555 reviews
3.6 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#47 of 195 in Ubud
340 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre

Property: KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
Address: Jl. Raya Peliatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#62 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kajane Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre Hotel Ubud
Kajane Yangloni Private Boutique Health And Leisure Centre
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing