We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally local feel”
Review of Rumah Roda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumah Roda
Ranked #92 of 575 Ubud B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Totally local feel”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed there for 5nights,totally local feel,stay with Darta family,and they are friendly,especially Abut will chat with you when he is free,he is the son of the owner--Darta,he is also a driver,can give you good information about trips and explain balinese culture to you.there is a small swimming pool at Rumah Roda ,but i found no time to swim,regret.their breakfast is simple,but enough,i love banana Rai,the first time i had it,tasty!the room is big,though no air-coin,but for me a ceiling fan is ok.room with hot water ,but i seldom use,i love cool water to shower.the room i stayed with a double bed and mosquitoes net,prevent me from mosquito bites! Rumah Roda did give me a good memory while i was in Ubud,a budget homestay with good location,highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    36
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
32
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We just stay at this hotel few days ago and it was a bad experience for me. We need to pay an extra >100,000 rupiah the time we check out without any information earlier and according to them, the price they offered us is for another rooms and we rooms they gave us is different. The reasons was the room is occupied by others as we reach too late but when booking the room, I already inform them that I will be reach at hotel at night time ( around 9-10pm) and a day before we reach, I email them again to inform that we will reach after 10pm and get them to prepare us the room.

This guest house is not honest at all and never inform in any room charges changes. The staff here also not friendly at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenjiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A truly lovely and affordable homestay, with the benefit of a central location in Ubud.
The rooms are decorated with traditional flair and are basic yet spotless. The balcony sitting area in front of every room is very pleasant.
The family who runs the place is extremely friendly, and they helped us a lot to find our way round the town and get to know the area a bit more.
The restaurant food was gorgeous: go for the Balinese buffet if you can! The breakfast banana pancakes were great too!
If you are up early, you might be lucky enough to be invited to arrange the freshly prepared offerings around the house!
Very nice place to stay during your visit to Ubud.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EloinBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

There are 9 rooms in this home stay. All with clean bathrooms. The family are very open and informative about how to make the best of your stay in Ubud. There is now a recently added swimming pool to cool off after a walk in the nearby rice fields or one of the numerous small cafes nearby. It's on one the best, quietest streets in Ubud. Darta is a font of information about the life of a Balinese and their small restaurant serves cheap and tasty food all day. It is economy style - no precious staff uniforms or welcome cocktail - instead you meet and see what makes the Balinese so special as a people.

Room Tip: A room on the top/3rd floor gives you the best view and quieter but there are stairs to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trebon, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were spending there 4 nights, two rooms were not available, so we took 1 room with extra bed. Room was large, we had shower with hot water. Nice view from bathroom and room.
Place is clean, about 5 - 10 minutes from the main road. Very quiet.
Food was nice, breakfest nice - we loved banana pancake with coconut. Servis sometime slow, but you can count with it and enjoy morning atmosphere with crazy cock crowing. One cock probably wanted to be a horse, because finished every crow with a neigh!
WiFi was working in the restaurant and in a room.
Sunday balinese food was nice, worth to try it. Just be prepared they may finish cold beers :-)
We had some accident with shoes lost, but solved, so I can believe that it was only childrens play ... take shoes to the room.
Laudry service is about 5 minutes back to the main road.
If you follow Kajeng road you will reach very nice rice fields in about 20 minutes of pleasure walk.
All in all, if I would go to Ubud again, I would stay here again. It is among the best homestays I ever visited.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lhota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Close to main road but on a small quiet street. Close to market, tourist info, palace, museum. Friendly family operate this hotel/homestay. I arranged airport pick-up by e-mail which worked out well. Darta is happy to help to arrange things. I stayed in the main location. Short walk to rice fields. As a woman travelling alone I felt safe and comfortable in this family compound with several guest rooms. Free water refills if you have your own bottle. Good value for money.
Try asking for what you want for breakfast and you'll probably get it.

Room Tip: Both rooms I tried in the main location were fine. You may feel like you have more privacy on the tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Homestay with rooms across 3 stories (we stayed on top floors)
Sound of roosters may interrupt light sleepers
Friendly hosts to make your day, Great recommendation from trip advisor!!
Rice fields within 10mins walk in one direction; great food and average spa/massage in other direction
Darta, Abut and friends can recommend tour itineraries
Recommended for couples looking for simple home lodgings!
Breakfast simle and homely.

Room Tip: Rooms have mosquitoe nets and hot showers. No air-conditioner Rooms on top floors have great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonwsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#179 of 197 in Ubud
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#116 of 197 in Ubud
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kajeng Bungalows
Kajeng Bungalows
#166 of 197 in Ubud
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bale Bali Inn
Bale Bali Inn
#19 of 575 in Ubud
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Arjana Accommodation
#376 of 556 in Ubud
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Bebengan
Puri Bebengan
#438 of 575 in Ubud
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Roda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Roda

Property: Rumah Roda
Address: Jalan Kajeng 24, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rumah Roda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumah Roda Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing