We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, highly recommend it!”
Review of Rumah Roda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rumah Roda
Ranked #98 of 537 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, highly recommend it!”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place by chance and were very lucky! Amazing family run place in an amazing location in Ubud, next to the grand palace and water temples, walking distance (easily) to monkey forest. This family is awesome and will treat you like family and take great care of you. A family member (amood) took us on an Ubud tour for 400,000 rp (for the whole day) and it was unbelievably good. Clean, beautiful rooms, great location, awesome pool, super authentic, best pancake breakfast I had on my 2 month long tour. Hugely recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccamorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    36
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
32
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mullumbimby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in Rumah Roda in March 2013.We booked 3 nights and stayed 10. The third floor is the best with views to the rice paddies and a breeze. The room was clean and the brekkie yummy. The pool is just the right size for cooling off after walking the streets of Ubud. Really what makes this homestay outstanding is the friendliness and genuine warmth of Darta and his family and staff. We felt so at home and it was hard to leave these beautiful people. We'll be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 742janew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
210 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

After our experience at Rumah Roda back in 2009, we decided to stay there again during our recent visit to Ubud. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the homestay had expanded - it now has 10 rooms and a small swimming pool available for its guests.

Our room was the best (and most expensive) of the bunch and was good value considering its size - we had a queen bed and a single bed as well as a small table and chairs, a bench, an en suite and a small kitchen. On the upside, we had massive open windows with lovely views of the property and the colourful sunsets each night. We also had a small fridge which was great for keeping drinks cold and also preventing insects from getting into open snacks. As in 2009, we were very happy with the handy location and also the but yummy breakfast which was served in the Warung and included in the price of the room.

On the downside, our room was on the 3rd floor which required us to carry all of our bags up the stairs but, to be honest, we had so much help from the family/staff, it was hardly an issue. Also, on a more practical level, the en suite and kitchen were not quite up to the standard that we are used to when traveling. For instance, the bathroom sink didn't actually have a plumbed drain - just a hole in the sink with a bucket below. It didn't really pose too much of a problem really - it was hot enough that splashed water didn't stay around for too long! That said, we did suffer from the heat a bit - the fan in the room barely moved the hot air around and there were a couple of times when we would have been grateful for A/C. It was a trade-off though - some of the rooms do have it...but they don't have those big, open windows!

Really though, the main draw is that the family and staff are lovely. We were looked after wonderfully especially as we were there for Nyepi and we were invited to join the family for a re-Nyepi excurison/ceremony which was a privilege.

If you're looking for an interesting home stay (and are happy with basic accommodation) where you can gain insights about Balinese culture, Rumah Roda might just be the place for you!

Room Tip: If you want a big room, ask for room 7. If you don't want steps, ask for 1-4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keshira haLev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

At Rumah Roda we stayed in a big room at the first floor. 1 big bed, 1 single bed and it was no problem to put a matras extra. The room was the cleanest we had on our trip. Breakfast is good and the staff (family) very nice and helpfull. Swimmingpool is lovely. We end up staying 4 nights and then we moved for 1 night to Rumah Roda II, in the middle of the ricefields. WAUW!! We got a big room and breakfast on our balcony looking over the river and forest. We end up staying 3 more nights!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosier, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I have stayed at Rumah Roda everytime I stay in Ubud. I absolutely love the family and staff. They just finished their new rooms and now have a pool. The family is very friendly and Darta is great to talk to about Bali history and other fascinating tidbits. delicious balinese buffet every sunday!!! Stay in one of the many newly built and furbished rooms, because I stay in the old 'David's Room' next to the pool :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Enjoyed beautiful Balinese banquet: a recommended experience. Easily assessable to main shopping locations, rice fields walk and monkey forest and restaurants. Also kecak fire dance venue. Bountiful information available from owner re history of family/culture of area.

Room Tip: Fan only for cooling. Quite sufficient for wet season accommadation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yachats
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed at Rumah Roda last September and had a very pleasant time. The room on the second floor was basic and the bed was comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised that the room fan kept the temperature comfortable. I really liked the swimming pool that I believe was installed last year. It was clean and refreshing. The breakfast was good and the special buffet dinner was a real bargain. The rooms are inexpensive (about US $22.00 for a double).

The location up hill was a little trying (I am 76 and out of shape) but not impossible.

A big plus is that Threads of Life, a fair trade organization that supports weaving groups all around Indonesia is on the street level. This shop is a museum and education center for anyone interested in Indonesian textiles. The staff is wonderful, all speak English, and are experts in the field of Indonesian Textiles. A stop here should be must for anyone visiting Ubud. The prices are high but the quality is indisputable.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a good view of the garden, and the neighboring family temples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keerist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Kajeng Bungalows
Kajeng Bungalows
#165 of 199 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#174 of 199 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Saraswati Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loka Sari Guest House Ubud & Spa
0.1 mi away
Artja Inn
Artja Inn
#209 of 537 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Arjana Accommodation
#359 of 538 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Roda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Roda

Property: Rumah Roda
Address: Jalan Kajeng 24, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 537 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Rumah Roda Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing