We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and service”

Swept Away at The Samaya Ubud
Ranked #4 of 746 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Swept Away Restaurant offers Special Romantic Hundred Candle Light Dinner where the guests can enjoy a truly unique dining experience with the sound of natures by the Ayung River. Executive Chef, I Nyoman Wiratma has emulated his successful style with more than 10-year experience in fine dining, serving an array of modern and eclectic dishes with maintaining a strong focus on local produce and authentic flavors will pamper you.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I arranged both a spa session and dinner as a birthday surprise for my husband's 40th, through emails from London. My main contact was Ningsih, and she was extremely helpful and efficient in helping me book these. After our spa session, we turned up early for our dinner reservation and had about 30 mins to wait for the rest of our party to arrive. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, and we had some drinks while we waited. We were given a table on the deck, and the view was amazing.

All of us tried different dishes, and each of them was delicious (the wagyu was memorable!). At the end of the meal,all the staff, including the chef (good thing, since we were able to compliment him on his fantastic food!), came out to present my husband with a chocolate birthday cake - which completely made his day! I have to say, although the food was amazing, the service is beyond expectations. The head waiter (I think his name is Pak Darma) was genuinely friendly and some of the waitresses were happy to watch our toddler while we finished our food. Thank you to everyone there who made my husband's 40th really special!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,103
    196
    44
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“100 Candles Dinner”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had the 100 Candles Dinner on 26 June. Staffs are very friendly & knowledgeable. The view of Ayung river is amazing. And the best thing of all is the good food served.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pllee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing and Stunning”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

It was our last night in Ubud, so the six of us decided to treat ourselves to something special. After arriving at The Samaya you are taken by golf buggy down to the restaurant. The location of swept away is stunning. I had made a reservation a few days earlier (definitely recommended) our table was in the corner on the deck overlooking the best part of the river. So glad we got there early (5pm) gave us a chance to sit and just take in the stunning surroundings before it got dark. We all ordered the temptations menu, which consists of seven courses ( the portions are not big, but enough to fill you up) of the most amazing food we had tasted while in Ubud. The staff are so friendly and efficient and knowledgeable. Our waiter knew all about the wine he served us. Swept Away was definitely a highlight of our visit to Ubud. Can highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jase53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“100 candles dinner”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We had the 100 candles dinner and it was an unforgetable experience. The way they light the candles all around the place makes it even more beautiful than it already is. First they give you some coctails by the river and the view is amazing, then they move you to a special table which is also very well decorated. The food is also one of the best i ever had, everything is very tasteful and you keep waiting for the next good surprise. A good point also the fact that the chef comes to talk to you and asks about the food. Every detail is carefully taken care of and the wonderfull menu males everything perfect. Definetly recomend!

Helpful?
3 Thank Thais C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsea
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Aptly named”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Loved that we happened to be there on 'candles night' when the whole place is awash with candles, from the restaurant area to the cascading river. What a gorgeous experience. We arrived at about 7pm and sighed as we missed out on a table at the edge of the river where the lighting was more subdued than the upper restaurant space. Moments later the couple at the best of the lower tables got up to leave and we were moved into the best seats in the house, with the exception of the 'honeymoon' table, lower again and quietly on its own. We both had seared scallop entrees with pomelo, avocado, crispy chicken skin, lime caviar and green chilli, followed by duck breast and lobster / octopus / prawn on a bed of potato.

We finished with pandan creme brulee's. And drank a bottle of pinot grigio.

It was one of the most romantic evenings we've had. Food was amazing. Absolutely right up there with the very best.

Prices, $250 Australian. By Balinese standards a fortune.

As an extra treat you get to contemplate the golf buggy's front wheels lifting off the ground on the return trip up the hill. A problem we gather has been rectified.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SDEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swept Away at The Samaya Ubud also viewed

 

Been to Swept Away at The Samaya Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing