We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star”
Review of Royal Kamuela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Kamuela
Ranked #9 of 613 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I have just left the RK for the 5th time, before leaving we booked up for our 6th visit. I think that is the best recommendation that you can give. We travel to Ubud regularly on business and have stayed at many of the holiday villas but for us the RK is the best.
Location, just off the Main Street. Turn left at the entrance and it is approx 15 mins walk to Ubud market and turn right approx 5 mins and your into Monkey Forrest. It is a great place to walk looking in the shoppe and meeting all sorts of great characters. There is a huge choice of restaurants on your doorstep.
Accommodation, high quality living in a air conditioned area surrounded by glass. It is modern and well furnished a great undercover patio area and a large private swimming pool. There is even a morning " cabaret" the monkeys come along the top of the wall and sometimes swing on the trees. A great view from your window. They are no problem whatsoever, just a great view.
Staff, the staff are exceptional. Oka, Aniek and Witwit will do anything to make your stay memorable. From the ease of check in to overseeing your whole visit there. We were lucky enough to have a romantic BBQ arranged by Oka. It was so nice, the pool was filled with flowers and had lit candles floating. The staff cooked our meal on our patio, they were very discreet. We hardly new that they were there and cooked and served us superb.
Clean the villas and surrounding area is kept up to such a clean standard and consistent, it shows that the staff are very well trained and supervised.
We normally only have time in our busy calendar to stay in Ubub for 4 nights but in October we have decided to stay for 7. This is down to this property and the above mentioned staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank alanoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights this week. We were really impressed by the attentive service and friendly staff. Can't fault the location either- close proximity to restaurants and restaurants. Peace and tranquility only steps from bustling Ubud. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wengya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The first leg of our Honeymoon began here and what a beginning it was! After travelling for almost 24 hours from India (we had a flight via Singapore), we finally reached the place and were enthralled at the sight of our villa. Beautifully done up and extremely spacious, our villa looked gorgeous in the evening around sunset-docorated with flowers and swans made out of towels. The layout of the villas is superb as they are designed to give utmost privacy to the guests. Each villa has a large pool, spacious living room, bedroom and an equally large bathroom complete with a tub.
Being vegetarian, we had a chat with the chef the same evening that we arrived and he was more than glad to provide us a good variety of vegetarian food (it was more skewed towards local preparations, but we didn't really seem to mind). The in-villa breakfast spread was quite impressive and the preparations were relished everyday by us. Pancakes, sandwiches and Gado-Gado salad were just some of the dishes that were served to us.
The location of the villas is simply superb as it is very centrally located on Monkey Forest road in the heart of Ubud and there are easily more than 50 restaurants within a walking distance of 20 minutes. The villas also provided a complimentary drop whenever we wanted to go close-by.
Wivit and team were most warm in their services and left no stone unturned in making our honeymoon a very special one. We also got a complimentary foot massage which was very nice.
Stayed for 3 nights and regret not having stayed longer since this was undoubtedly the best part of our honeymoon. Ubud is a lovely place and culturally, more rich and warm compared to the other parts of Bali, so we hope to visit soon!

Room Tip: Room no.4 was great in terms of location. (don't expect much of a view here as the idea is to gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We had such a wonderful time at RK last Feb, we came again this Feb - this time on our honeymoon!

The villa was so quiet, yet only just off the main Monkey Forest road, with so many restaurants, warungs, shops, markets & bars we were spoilt for choice.

It is this, plus the incredible staff that make this a couples paradise - we will back next Feb!

Thanks! Lori & Brian x

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CoolGreenDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My wife and I were in Bali, Ubud and were looking for a place where we can relax and enjoy a few moments together without any distractions. We also wanted a place where we can go shopping and yoga. This villa simply fits the bill.. Walking distance to YogaBarn where we can go Yoga.. Shopping is just right outside the doorstep.. However, if you are looking to go to Ubud market, you will probably need to ask the villa for shuttle, will take around 5-10mins drive.

However, WIFI connection was really bad..

We will definitely go back to this villa..

Room Tip: Choose room number 11/12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricLSChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Ubud was the second of our three stops in Bali and we had planned to be here to do a lot of shopping along with sight seeing. Royal Kamuela was the perfect setting for all this and more.

The villas are splendind and the private pool is intoxicatingly exotic. The privacy and the amenities here exemplary. The staff here arranges for pick-up and drop-off points for shopping and eating out.

The location is splendind as it is set under a kilometer from the Ubud market and is set in walking distance to the monkey forest.

The food is cooked to order, but we preferred to eat at the Indian restaurants in the near vicinity.

Overall, the hospitality of this place is the clincher as they made us feel comfortable and at home. They even offered a 15-minute free foot massage for it being our honeymoon.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GouthamChakravarthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I were looking for something secluded and quiet for our honeymoon. We wanted a place that was within walking distance to all the things we wanted to see (e.i. The Monkey Forest, markets and good Balinese restaurants).

This is what we found. And little did we know, it would far exceeded our expectations. The cost to value ratio was really great. At first, we thought they had made a mistake when billing us because it cost far less than what we expected, especially for the great service we received.

The staff were very happy and helpful. They we very willing to drive us anywhere we wanted for free. And were prompt and on time whenever we needed their assistance. I don't think I've ever had service this good anywhere else.

The rooms were spotless very well maintained! Even the gardening and pool were tended to daily. Our bedroom and bathroom had glass walls(with curtains) which made it really nice to see out in the mornings when the monkeys would visit. And the lounging areas were cozy and well thought out. We found ourselves just enjoying staying in our villa some days. Oh and five-star meals were served to us in our room whenever we wanted!

The location was perfect for us. The Monkey Forest was a short walk away and there were plenty of shops to peak in along the way. In the opposite direction were the markets which were a little bit farther but still not a very long walk(just don't forget sunscreen and a bit of water). In both directions we found plenty of very nice places for dining.

Overall, I wish I could give this place a sixth star. The price was really affordable Royal Kamuela really iced the cake for an already great honeymoon. We recommend them to anyone headed to Bali. As a caveat, Royal Kamuela does not allow anyone under the age of 18 to stay with them. This was perfect for couples like us but unfortunate for families.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 199 in Ubud
1,974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Komaneka at Monkey Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kamuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kamuela

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 613 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £157 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Kamuela 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accolade winning Royal Kamuela at Monkey Forest Ubud is one of Bali's most charming boutique resorts offering a supreme location in the very heart of Ubud. No extra bed available in the villas and this property design is not suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Kamuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kamuela Ubud Hotel Ubud
Royal Kamuela Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing