We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous choice”
Review of Royal Kamuela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Kamuela
Ranked #8 of 599 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Ubud can be a noisy place but Royal Kamuela villas are beautifully situated just off the main road, close to the action, but a quiet spot for rest. The staff, food and service were all superb and we will be staying again for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet and well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed in Royal Kamuela for three nights and it was nothing but wonderful. We've been traveling around Indonesia for an exhausting business trip and Bali was our last destination and Ubud was our sanctuary, break and relaxing holiday and Royal Kamuela was just the perfect place to stay in for that.

The villa was very beautiful - everything looks so perfect and well thought-out. Breakfast was amazing and the staff were so incredible! They were friendly, super nice and wonderful people, made us feel at home. The shuttle they provide comes in handy, we only use it once when we asked to be picked up from Jazz cafe nearby around midnight and it really saved us from walking home in the dark.

We are a gay female couple and stayed in a honeymoon suite and were treated no differently than others so I could recommend that Royal Kamuela is very LGBT friendly, so that was really great.

Another very nice surprise was a friendly visit from the monkeys in the morning (do get up early for this though), the villa was very well located, central of Ubud. Quiet in the villa but buzzing and vibrant when you step out of it, with cafes, restaurants, on your door steps. Perfect for people who only had a couple of days in Bali & unable to travel long distance much to explore other parts of Bali. During our stay we received free foot massage, romantic dinner on our first night, and assisted by very helpful and friendly army of staff catering for all our needs.

We would most definitely stayed there again. Hopefully next time, longer!

Thank you Royal Kamuela!

Tigana

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiganaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights in one of the villas and it was perfect. Just as the photos on the website shows. The location is fantastic - right in the centre of Ubud so close to everything but very quiet. The monkeys visited briefly each morning and played along the wall while we watched. The pool, the bathroom, all the facilities are wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieCS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The villa itself gets 5 stars. The rest of the experience gets 3.5. The villa is just stunning. The room is great, pool is great, towels are wonderful, amenities are spa-like. This is a place you need to try at least once. We were in villa #8. It was definitely worth the price.

We did, however have a few odd interactions with staff that disrupted the serenity.

On a couple occasions we were flat out told that staff forgot to do turndown service. Not a big deal, but odd considering there are only 12 rooms, so not much to keep track of.

Also, they do ask you quite a bit if you want to use their drivers tho tour around, which is fine, but then the drivers should be more like tour guides. Ours, Ketut, was very nice, but very quiet and rarely spoke without us prompting him and when he did he struggled with how to explain in English, sometimes just giving up mid sentence. I understand English is not his first language, but it is the language that all of their literature is in and that the majority of their guests speak so it was a little frustrating that we couldn't get the full tour experience.

On a separate occasion my husband called the front desk to ask if they knew if a local restaurant had an option for take out before he walked over tho the restaurant. The man who answered said, "I don't know, ask them when you get there." He did not say it in a rude tone, but I suppose that wasn't really the response we had anticipated.

On another occasion we were going to order room service because I wasn't feeling well, but the menu is limited so my husband called the desk to ask them if the restaurant was still open and ing they had a different menu than the room service menu. The woman who answered didn't know the hours of the restaurant so she put a guy on the phone. He said it was still open and that they did have a different menu and then insisted that he meet my husband at the restaurant immediately. My husband walked over only to find out that the menu was the same as room service. He then ordered pasta with marinara sauce. It took 45 minutes to get it. No one else was in the restaurant and when we got it it had seafood in it and we can't eat seafood. Then an extremely long conversation with two people at the front desk began that was complicated by the fact that the woman who answered did not understand English very well. After about 10 minutes she gave up and passed it off to a guy who also didn't understand what I was getting at but finally said "ok done" and hung up. A few minutes later, the butler was at our door to pick up the food. We were told it would be removed from the bill.

We had scheduled a driver from the hotel to take us to a local spa. We were upstairs waiting at the time we were told (15 minutes before our appointment). Finally, at 5 minutes till, the driver showed up but we were then told that he didn't know where the spa was so he wouldn't be taking us. Annie at the desk was sitting at a computer so I'm confused as to why she didn't look you directions quickly as the spa was only minutes away from the hotel, or why she hadn't looked up directions before telling us they could drive us. Either way, we were then asked if Annie could call our spa to say we would be late. We said yes. She called and the spa kindly offered to come get us instead. They were there in 10 minutes.

Lastly, when we went to book a driver for two ask day excursions, the guy at the desk and his driver helped us set it up but we're laughing while doing so, which made us feel as if we were being ripped off. They never told us how long each trip would take and we could have easily done both days in one for less money but they didn't bother telling us that.

The food is fine, but nothing spectacular. There are so many amazing places to eat in ubud, go out.

We couldn't find the spa so we didn't use it.
Overall, great hotel, staff was nice but hard to work with at times. I would definitely stay here again, but would not eat at the restaurant or use their driving service. You can get cheaper, better drivers and food, else where.


Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kristin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Kristin,

We thank you very much for your recent review about the room, swimming pool, wonderful towel and amenities.
We do apologize for the service that not meet your expectations and I can assure you that we are continuing to work harder to give our guests a great hospitality experience each and every time.
We sincerely hope that you would give us another chance to serve you in the near future.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely memories of a special place. Friendly, helpful staff and a superb room. Great location - easy walk to Monkey Forest and lots of places to eat. Thank you for the lovely welcome and cake congratulating us on our anniversary.
Will definitely be coming back - for longer next time!

Room Tip: We had one of the Villas at the rear of the property - very quiet. However all rooms seemed to be se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyRose33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear RubyRose33,

Thank you for your kind words. I am very proud of all of our staff members, who take it upon themselves day in and day out, to provide that quality customer service that our guests
deserve and expect.

See you again in the next stay!

Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Originally we planned to stay for just one night but the room was so beautiful we extended for a second night. Service was impeccable and the staff were so friendly. We had arranged transport to Lombok after our second night and due to some delays and confusion we ended up having to hang out in the lobby for a while; the manager was very helpful in contacting the travel company multiple times to figure out what was going on.

The pool villa room was spectacular. Breakfast and afternoon coffee/tea were both excellent as was the porridge snack provided with the afternoon coffee.

The property location is extremely convenient right in the center of various Ubud attractions including the monkey forest and agang rai art museum.

I would love to stay here again if I returned to Ubud in the future.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Ramesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Ramesh D,

My sincere thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property. Your positive comments are very much appreciated by our staff, who work hard each day to make sure valued customers like yourself, are looked after.

Look forward to welcoming you again!


Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a most wonderful few days at the Royal Kamuela . The room and service were fabulous- the staff just couldn't do enough to make our stay more comfortable. The Villa and our pool were entirely private, save for the daily morning visit from the resident monkeys !!! A very special thank you to Aniek, the reception manager, who's tireless efforts in organising our excursions and onward flights, were a godsend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Kamuela U, Manager at Royal Kamuela, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Peter M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you!


Best regards,

Oka B. Cahyani
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 199 in Ubud
1,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
2,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 199 in Ubud
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kamuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kamuela

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 599 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £158 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Kamuela 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accolade winning Royal Kamuela at Monkey Forest Ubud is one of Bali's most charming boutique resorts offering a supreme location in the very heart of Ubud. No extra bed available in the villas and this property design is not suitable for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Kamuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kamuela Ubud Hotel Ubud
Royal Kamuela Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing