We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, peaceful....paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Kunang Kunang
Ranked #244 of 555 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful, peaceful....paradise”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our family found this spot of paradise by accident...or fate. Made Widiya the manager and his team were exceptional in looking after us and enduring our stay was special and comfortable. There are only 3 villas on the property and our villa's porch faced the rice paddy fields...stayed 5 nights and didn't want to leave...BBQ the team cooked was exceptional and those smoky pork ribs were sensational.....thank you and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Peaceful, cool and friendly Staff ... are my 3 easy words of describing the atmosphere and stays in the villa. The welcome gong sound every time you enter (or leave) the compound was kind of unique and warm. 3 different villas - 2b/4b 2 floors/4b 1 floor - with different villa styles, are beautiful. I must respect attention to detail in every villas with traditional touch. TV/DVD player and choices of DVD movies in each room, are quite nice for those who stays long in the villa. Friendly Staff is definitely plus points/4 thumbs up! I love the voice of natures ... which I could get all in this villa ... frog and cricket sounds at night, with fireflies in paddy field surrounding of course ... duck/chicken running around in the day time ... are quite nice to enjoy.
The location is quite nearby ubud areas/art galleries/museums/foods. It's well recommended ... and I would like to come again to this villa.

Room Tip: Best view is the 2b ... best "feel at home" is 1 floor 4b.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The staff at Villa Kunang Kunang was the hi-light of our stay in all of Bali. They were so helpful, kind, and a pleasure to be around.

We would have loved to be a bit closer to town (they are about a 15-20 minute walk), but the staff was always available to drop us where ever we wanted.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Super natural architecture..... We stayed over their traditional rice barn villa. Love that we finally settle in over such a lovely villa. We have spent 5 days over bali. First 3 days staying in Ubud and last 2 days in Pat Mase Resort, kuta.

They had plenty of good money-valued points. I love their naive and integrity altitude. They are so honest in answering all the doubts we bring up. Especially i damn love the ritual that they will knock the gong whenever we arrive back or leaving the villa even late night of 9-10pm. It meant they care for our safety. We love the extra value service of asking what we would like to have for our breakfast... tell u what, their breakfast is awesome! they even bought a loft of bread which are not in their menu when we requested. Super customize breakfast... much more delicious breakfast than Pat-Mase one even we r treated like VIP with chef cooked inside our villa without going to their restaurant to have our included breakfast.

They even walk down to the rice field to find us the fireflies and put them on our palm when we hardly find one. These are tremendous experience and priceless service altitude. During the last day of our stay all of the staff even walk us out to our driver car. I love them and miss them. O ya the barn are extremely cold during the night, no air-con is needed at all.

However, if there is a chance i wish to do some comments over here, so that they can be better and better.
1) Sleeping quality - The queen bed over ground floor should not be a 2 combined single bed. it has a hard edge and not really comfortable to sleep on it. It is better to change to 1 king or queen bed.
2) Bathroom - Since it is a house for 4 pax. We will be appreciated if u can have an extra basin installed over wc there. It was important as the other person can do face washing or brush their teeth while waiting another person using the bathtub. We won't need to queue so long.
3) Cleanliness - Keep all the switches or electrical appliance free of dust all the time. It's actually uncomfortable to touch yr dusty switch after our bath.
4) Rooms - It will be nice if u have an intercom service so that we no need to run out to call for help when the hot water is not functioning. Imagine if 1 person alone inside the bathroom.
Secondly, the 13A plug should be more user friendly allocated. Except bathrooms, the ground flr plugs are mostly occupied, not that enough. We need to unplug the lights plug for hair dryer usage.
5) Service - We will be appreciated that if u can always teach yr visitors ahead of instruction to use yr hot water facility inside our villa when we arrived, so that we not need run out for help in the late night.

Room Tip: For 4 pax (non-family), i will advice both of u to take 2 separate villas to avoid queue in taking b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked this villa on booking.com because of the great T.A. reviews. We (2 couples) booked the Traditional Rice Barn that was stated as being appropriate for 4 people. Soon after making our booking, we were asked to pay more than the stated booking.com price (as in, extra surcharges, taxes, in USD rather than IRP, and at $20 USD more per night than the booking.com reservation etc..), AND, by wire transfer! Seemed pretty dodgy, but we carried on with the booking because we had heard such great things. Then, we were notified that the Rice Barn would not be appropriate for 2 couples, even though this was not mentioned anywhere on the website(s). Fortunately, everything worked out in the end. Although it took a while for the hotel manager (Angelica) to reply, we were granted a full refund of the booking. Since I did not stay at this Villa, I am not sure how it would have been. However, given the inconsistencies in service, we felt uneasy putting down $150 USD/night. I hope this is an isolated instance, and others have more luck with their bookings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizardo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A small relaxing paradise you would never expect so close to a main road. The villas are very comfortable and have a great porch for watching fireflies in the adjoining rice fields. For breakfast we tried Asian (really good) and continental (wonderful banana pancakes with coconut and palm sugar) and our boys (both 4 years old) feasted on chocolate pancakes. And the hotel staff really makes you feel at home. When one of our son was disappointed he hadn't seen any fireflies yet, they went looking for one, caught it and brought it to him. His smile was priceless...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siska80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Behind a small path lies a hidden treasure. This is such a nice and lovely place to stay when your in Ubud. The staff is warm and welcoming. Made, the manager is very helpful and the other staff members as well. They make you feel at home in Bali.
The rooms are nice, clean and really comfortable. It's also nice that there are only 3 villa's so it's not noisy and loud. It's a great place also for travelling families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten371983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
3.6 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
5.3 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kunang Kunang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kunang Kunang

Property: Villa Kunang Kunang
Address: Jln. Raya Bunutan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 555 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Kunang Kunang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kunang Kunang is an eco-friendly retreat set within an organic garden and encompassed by productive rice terraces. This inspiring property captures the gentle spirit of a village community. It has been named after the swarm of fireflies that flicker around the garden at night performing for travellers in a synchronised harmony. Villa Kunang Kunang features just two distinctive accommodations. The first is a two-story Traditional Rice Barn made completely from wood, bamboo and other sustainable materials. The second is an authentic Balinese Bungalow with a thatched rooftop and a shady terrace facing the rice fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Kunang Kunang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kunang Kunang Hotel Ubud
Villa Kunang Kunang Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing