We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TREASURE to Be FOUND”
Review of Soulshine Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Soulshine Bali
Ranked #81 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A TREASURE to Be FOUND”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A Hidden Gem ~ A Little Oasis
Perfect for a Getaway Retreat with Friends & Family ~
You Can Tell This Place Was Made with Love

The Place Is Lovely

The People Are Lovely

Positive Energy All Around

BALI Is Paradise &
SOULSHINE Is DIVINE

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FollowYourJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
14
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I'm echoing others' reviews. The beauty of location, in rice paddies but just outside Ubud, is exceptional. The soft air, warm and humid, carries gorgeous smells of incense and plants. The beautiful pool, lovely plantings, stream running past (often with local boys laughing and splashing in it, near the road) plus the airy architecture and spectacular yoga space and massage room, all lead to a sense of tranquility and well-being. Mysteriously refreshing juices at breakfast, other wonderful regional foods, served up with lovely smiles, semi-al fresco, are much too delicious. As a yoga retreat it was four-star (or is that five?), helping our group of 15 with Maile Sivert to bond, relax, become inspired, explore the art-oriented yet very local and laid-back nearby town, and fall in love with Bali frame of mind. Agund's special expeditions and personal hospitality, and Wayan's efficient coordination and care to see that all was well, were outstanding. Bring bug repellant, and little reading lights for bedtime if you use them, and you're set for a sublime experience.

Room Tip: We were in the Sunset room, but some smaller ones have communal bathrooms. Ours was close to eating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_Richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We recently spent 4 days at SoulShine for the Create A Life You Love Retreat with Carmen Marshall (www.createalifeyouloveretreat.com) and had a wonderful stay! It was serene, calming, unique, friendly. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and it was our own little home for 4 days. Close to the shopping and town of Ubud, yet pushed back into the jungle and rice paddies for a quiet and relaxing stay. Highly recommend staying at SoulShine while you explore Ubud, or just relax :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnybrook, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Tucked away in a quiet peaceful location - I felt so relaxed from the minute I walked down the path with the instructions - Welcome home, inhale, exhale, be free, be happy, let your soul shine..........aaaaah - just perfect for our group to immerse, get connected , relax and work out. The pool was divine, rooms comfy and most importantly cool, and the view from the roof top open yoga room - stunning. The staff were super friendly and helpful, the breakfast fresh, healthy and yummy. Loved every minute.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I came with no expectations at the invitation of a friend....I left full of light, soul rested and body immersed in the culture, the sounds, sights and smells of Ubud's countryside. The staff is gracious in every way, the accommodations clean and fresh, breezy rooms on a hot night. Thank you SoulShine, I will return again soon....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDConthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Over priced & over rated! Rooms around US$250 per night! Should be around $50!
Needs a really good clean & tidy up! Reception needs a face lift. Day bed in the yoga room was filthy. The place is hard to find, no signage! No proper entrance - we followed a path past an old garage door (garbage bags piled high) to find reception - when we eventually found it - we were told reception was at lunch - that's cool, it's Bali - but not at top dollar prices!
There's even a couple of rooms with 'shared bathroom' at over $100 per room. Unbelievable people settle for that! I've stayed in great rooms in Ubud for $25 with my own bathroom! Plus, as we followed the path to reception, young men (not boys) were bathing naked in the river - they called out and kept flashing themselves to us (2 females)! This over rated place felt unloved - the temple was in disrepair (most unusual for the Balinese). And did anyone mention the huge electricity pylon and cock fighting arena next door! I was about to book it for my next yoga retreat - but very glad we kept our taxi waiting... as we'd seen enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topanga, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I just led a yoga and meditation retreat at Soulshine. I have led and attended many retreats over 14 years and may I say that this property exceeded my expectations by 100 percent. The locale is private and absolutely divine, expansive and lush. The staff is amazing- helpful, friendly, efficient and always smiling. Now the food. It's some of the best I have had in Bali. It rivals some of the best organic restaurants in Ubud and every night was a wonderful treat to explore the new cuisine. The co-owner Carla is an angel. Everything was clean, laundry services, scooter rental and excursions were al at your fingertips from Soulshine. If you are a retreat leader I highly recommend Soulshine. It is the best retreat experience I have had to date and our retreatees were blown away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.3 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
4.0 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 198 in Ubud
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#69 of 198 in Ubud
714 reviews
2.8 mi away
Naya Ubud
Naya Ubud
#147 of 198 in Ubud
52 reviews
5.2 mi away
Om Ham Retreat Centre
Om Ham Retreat Centre
#43 of 542 in Ubud
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soulshine Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soulshine Bali

Property: Soulshine Bali
Address: Jl. Ambarawati, Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soulshine Bali, a villa and retreat oasis located just 5 minutes south of Ubud centre. Surrounded by breathtaking views of ancient rice terraces, we invite you to get lost in the magic of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Soulshine Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soulshine Bali Hotel Ubud
Soulshine Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing