We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing retreat with flawless staff”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David S
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Amazing retreat with flawless staff”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This beautiful villa perched on the side of a hill looks through the palm trees into an expansive river valley. It manages to create wonderful privacy yet provide openness and a direct connection to the surrounding gardens. The food options are unending--the quality of the cooking that comes from the kitchen is better than most restaurants on the island. The meals were simply superb.

The staff is attentive and friendly, yet unobtrusive and respectful. Villa manager Gusti arranged car service and drivers for day trips, and the villa had two fabulous masseurs available on call.

Defineitly hope to make a return visit.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galleysla...
Mt Martha, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An oasis of relaxation and local ambience”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The food was amazing. Try the steamed fish in banana leaf, heaven, and the beef rendang. The fish wraps for lunch were a favorite. The wonderful staff can organize a massage in the private and tranquil gardens, and when we were celebrating a birthday they organized live gamelan music with dinner and a small dance performance with some children which made for a memorable birthday.
It's a delightful hour walk into Ubud for some exercise then taxi back, but often we were more happy lying around the pool enjoying the serenity.
We used the villas driver for some excursions and day trips and airport pick up. Gusti is attentive and knowledgeable and a real asset to Vila vajra.
We are already dreaming of our return.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward543...
oakland, california
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My friend Steve and I had an amazing time at Vajra Villa. The oasis-like setting is exquisite -- hundreds of tropical flowers, a rice field outside your front door -- and the house we stayed in was spacious and lovely and well-ventilated.

We awoke early each morning and at 6:30 a.m. were brought coffee by one of the household staff, Saba or Widi. A delicious breakfast of tropical fruits and scrambled eggs followed. Every single meal was outstanding. The two cooks, Made and Ketut, created wonders consistently for breakfast, lunch, dinner.

Our host Joel was gracious and thoughtful, extending every courtesy and helping to familiarize us with the Ubud area. Each time we ventured into town, he would draw a map showing how to find our destination. He told us how much to pay the taxi drivers, where to find the best Batik shirts and coffee, where to eat the best Balinese food.

Joel arranged for a fantastic Balinese massage therapist to come to our room twice, asked his house manager to give us a tour of the island by car, and took us to a Balinese healer. We also got to meet Joel's wonderful dogs, Abelard and Eloise.

It takes a long time to get to Bali from California -- about 25 hours including a layover in Hong Kong -- but the time and effort were insignficant. I can't think of a better introduction to Bali than the one Joel afforded us.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
njaishri
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!Its like living in Paradise!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

For people who enjoy being surrounded by nature in all forms - this is the place to visit!
Its a beautiful ,peaceful place to stay.From the aesthetically appealing pathways leading to the villa,rooms,thru the landscaped gardens,the fishes,the well thought out amenities,the very helpful staff - every aspect was very pleasing.Mr.Joel is a great person to interact with - from all his very helpful suggestions regarding the restaurants,the shops..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nori1612
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A retreat”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had stayed in Villa Vajra over the Easter and ANZAC hoilday with friends and we had a relaxing, wonderful time there.It is located outside Ubud town but that did not worry us,it was peaceful and we frequently walked into town.The staff were attentive and helpful.We enjoyed being in the pool and jacuzzi and lounging around the pool.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was peaceful
Liked least: Wi fi was slow,the water feature can be noisy
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing