We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow... what a place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Samara
Ranked #3 of 512 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lentate sul Seveso, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow... what a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

After staying in the caotic Nusa Dua and Kuta, we finally found paradise !!!! We stayed just two nights but enough to say "wow... what a place!". The location of the hotel is gorgeous and has a breathtaking view. Everything is designed with "love for the detail" and Stefano and Yudi are perfect hosts. They make you feel home.......just that you are in Bali !!!

Cordula & Luca

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luchino66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    54
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
254
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

This is a great place to stay in ubud if you like peaceful and serene surroundings. Rooms are just a few steps from the vast rice fields in the countryside. Waking up every morning to a countryside breakfast is just fabulous. Serene and peaceful while you start your day with a good morning cool breeze, birds chirping, ducks quacking, cows mooing.

With only 6 rooms, it will not crowded in this facility. Small pool, lounging area and a basic restaurant if you want to just stay in for the whole day. Restaurant menu and food quality good. My wife loves the Soto Ayam Soup cooked by one of the staff (ibu iluh if not mistaken).

It will take about 15minutes of leisure walk to the town center where you can have more activities. Would recommend to bring along a torchlight if you are coming back after dark.

Rooms are good for a couple and the open area shower is just lovely. Room very clean and you have free breakfast included in your roomrate. A laptop size safe and free wifi if you need to do some work or just surfing the internet to get more information about ubud. Comfortable bed.

Hosts Yudi, Stefano and staffs are just fantastic. They don't intrude your personal space but you know they will be there if you need them. All extra activities can be arranged by them. We met up with Yudi & Stefano one evening to chat and just continued until their next guest arrived, which i think is more than 1.5 hours later. Just so passionate about their interaction with their guests, getting to know each other.

Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Stay in room 05 & 06 to get the best rice fields view in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thevisionguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at the Samara for 3 nights. Very quiet surroundings, clean and good sized rooms, good taste in design, lovely uninterrupted view of the paddy fields (specially early morning with birds chirping and a warm cup of coffee), in house trip advisors in Yudi and Stephano with enjoyable conversations, friendly staff. Kitchen is pretty basic, but we stayed only for breakfast so it was just fine for us. Good place to stay, specially with the owners going the extra mile to make us comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingRahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Samara has chic, understated elegance and respects its sense of place by integrating well into its surroundings. If you're looking for guesthouse charm mixed with luxury accents, this is the place. The owners are a lovely couple; both are extremely helpful and kind.The staff is warm and attentive. A few random notes: Breakfast overlooking the rice fields is a perfect way to start off the day (especially with very good Bali coffee). Also, if you must, the internet is fast enough conduct a bit of business back home. I video-conferenced without a hiccup. Overall, a stylish place to relax and contemplate your (life and vacation) journey.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aneel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week at The Samara Villas. Great view on the rice fields, calm and clean compound with a lovely swimming pool, large breakfast, charming staff, etc.

Room Tip: Very charming, well equiped and clean villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mores O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I am returning to The Samara at the end of this month because I can't think of a better place to end my Bali holiday. The resort is small & intimate with everything you could think of needing catered for. There are only 6 rooms all with outstanding views of rice paddies, I relaxed the moment I arrived. The staff in the hotel are all fantastic & I ate in the restaurant several times, every time was great. The owners Steffano & Yudi ensure that you feel welcomed and anticipate everything you need, or haven't even realized you need like amazing strawberry dessert. This resort is only a 10 minute walk to the Ubud markets & the most scenic walk you can imagine. I am counting down the days until I return

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annenatale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We booked our stay at Samara without actually knowing what to expect as no reviews were available at that time. 
The place is absolutely stunning, the owners are incredibly nice and the staff is equally good. Everything there is perfect - from the peaceful  environment in the middle of the rice fields to the personalized service catering to every whim of ours, not forgetting the outstanding design blending the villas to their surroundings. We had two meals in the restaurant, both very tasty and reasonably priced, and as a nice touch we were able to drink our own wine we brought from overseas, because generally the choice in Indonesia is very limited.
We got so relaxed there that we forgot our credit card at the front desk after check out and the owners, Stefano and Yudi drove out of Ubud to return the card to us, which gave us the occasion the hug them and say Good Bye. We had only one problem there ....  we had to leave.... :-(  We would definitely love to come back any day soon, if only for those breakfast banana pancakes! 

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kotrba71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#8 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.0 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samara

Property: The Samara
Address: Jalan Kajeng, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 512 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samara Hotel Ubud
The Samara Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing