We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginative and contemporary”
Review of The Samara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Samara
Ranked #36 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Gaggi, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Imaginative and contemporary”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

From the friendly staff to impressive surroundings, we were pleased we had chosen Samara for our stay in Ubud. The identical bungalows are contemporary and clean. A comfortable bed and modern bathroom with outside shower :)
Overlooking the rice fields, you feel miles away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud and yet it is a short scooter ride away. If you don't want to hire your own scooter, the staff were happy to take you pillion style into town and pick you up again. We enjoyed having our own transport and we were able explore easily.
Stefano and Yudi have opened up another Italian restaurant in the centre of town which you really must try. Even a delicious wine to complement the pasta (something difficult to find in Bali)
Wonderful value, don't dither, this is the place to stay in Ubud!

Room Tip: All the same so don't worry. Wifi probably works better the nearer reception you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlassJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    55
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
260
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

My expectations were already high before coming to Samara based on the reviews and pictures but when my friend and I arrived we were blown away at the pristine surroundings and beautifully designed villas. The staff and Yudi were the cherry on top. They were friendly, attentive, and extremely helpful in helping us arrange transportation around town and to Kuta.

The rooms felt like a luxury resort with an outdoor shower and a porch where we'd watch the sunset and use the wi-fi. The gorgeous pool was perfect to take afternoon dips in after a long ride in town.

The villa is situated at the top of Jalan Kajeng and the walk up is calming and breathtaking, passing all the rice fields. Us girls felt safe walking at night and even hung out with neighbors down the road. The villa is completely open air: the lobby is open and the restaurant faces the rice paddies. I don't think we even locked our room doors because we felt so comfortable with the other people staying there and the staff.

I highly recommend Samara to couples, solo travelers, friends or anyone who wants a bit of luxury in the middle of nature.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed in the Samara for 3 nights. The service here is exceptional. The villas are set amidst paddy fields. the setting is almost rural yet only 10 mins from ubud centre. The villas are beautifully designed with open air showers, flat tv's, huge bed's and the works. The service here is one of the best on the island. We got breakfast in our rooms every morning. Whenever we came back to our rooms, everything INCLUDING our clothes were neatly folded and arranged. Got complimentary afternoon tea by the pool side. From complimentary bike rides to Ubud centre, to guidance and restaurant recommendations, the staff is extremely informed, efficient and courteous.
The propertly is beautifully designed, with manicured gardens, top quality furniture and a lovely splash pool which seems to be floating on the paddy fields.
Everything here is taken care of. Plus there are a lot of things to discover around the property. Its a place i did not want to leave. All the best to the Samara team. You have a created a truely valued asset.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burmanolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This place is amazing. We have travelled extensively throughout Asia, Europe, Africa and the US and this place was one of the best we have been too.
It was our honeymoon as well and the staff really went all out. They gave us lovely flowers and beautifully decorated our room. The staff were so friendly and gave really helpful giving tips about great places to go to for dinner in UBUD and helped co-ordinate local activities for us like cycling and hiking trips.
They serve lovely breakfasts and dinners and theres an additional treat of afternoon tea which we had most days lazing on the loungers by the pool which looks out directly to the picturesque rice paddies. The rooms are great too - theres only 5 or 6 villas so its nice and private and we loved the fully private but outdoor showers! Nothing beats having a shower and looking at the stars! The place is a bit out of Ubud town but that actually adds to the appeal. At night it sounds like your camping as the only sounds are that of frogs, crickets and the local birdlife. Also anytime we wanted to go down into the village the staff were only too happy to escort us down on the back of their scooters (only a couple of minute ride or 15 min walk) but certaintly very enjoyable and overall added to a lovely experience. We would definitely go back there and highly recommend to people wanting to experience some real Balinese hospitality.

Shane and Kristen - Auckland New Zealand

Room Tip: All rooms looked to be very similar - ours was closest to the pool and dining area which was handy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed with my parents for two nights in January. This is relatively new hotel so nice and clean. We recieved a warm welcome, and the staff were very accomodating. However for us the position of the hotel was the best. The rice paddies are simply stunning. We thoughrally enjoyed watching the ducks and locals at work and fireflies at night. The road is closed so it is a 15 minute walk to the center of Ubud. For us this was wonderful being out of the crowds in our own paradise. Highly recommended for a tradtional bali environment.

My only negative would be that sometimes shortcuts have been taken...I just got the feeling the hotel was done on a bit of a budget. ie my towel was thread-bare and thin, my parents had a terrible mattress, the rooms could have been a little bit bigger and the pool a little bit longer but overall the positives way outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somoro77, General Manager at The Samara, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Mrs. Alexandra,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review for us.

We take all guests comments very seriously, and therefore would like to address the concerns you mentioned.

We have to admit that you did not receive our normal furnishing of towels. In fact during your stay we had a sudden shortage due to the fact that our laundry, and almost all others in town, temporarily closed their services due to a big Balinese Ceremony. We then had to rush and buy a few towels just for the emergency, and those are not the towels we usually use for our guest rooms. We apologize that you had to use towels of a not good quality, and we can guarantee this is not our standard of service.

Regarding your parent's mattress instead, we are sorry you didn't tell us straight away, as a couple of days later the guests after you complained about it. After investigating the matter, we found the wood sustaining the mattress being cracked and had it replaced immediately.
This was something not visible even during our routine mattress rotation and cleaning. Sometimes if we don't hear comments or complaints from our guests is impossible for us to even become aware of a problem that can be easily rectified. However, please accept our apologies as your parents still had to sleep on an uncomfortable bed.

Our room size: We designed our rooms for couples. We do not accept kids and this helped us reducing the size of the rooms in order to create a resort that would not have a too high impact on the surroundings and the rice fields all around us. When walking up Jalan Kajeng, the beautiful stroll where The Samara is located among the rice fields in Ubud, you will notice our presence only when about 50 meters away, as we tried to integrate as much as possible by even keeping the original rice terrace steps untouched. Our room size is nonetheless not a secret: Our website clearly states the size being 27m2, and the same information appears on all online agent websites where we are present such as booking.com and asiarooms.com

Our swimming pool: For sure its size of 10 meters by 4 does not allow for too much exercise, but it gives a feeling of intimacy and romance that are rarely seen around, especially with the breathtaking view over the rice fields and at night time the incredible light show performed by the fireflies around and the stars in the sky with the palm trees on the horizon. And the fact that there are only six rooms means that the pool is rarely occupied by more than a couple of guests at a time.

Once again, please accept our apologies for any discomfort you had to suffer during your stay. However, we are very happy to read that overall you had a very good time with us here at The Samara, and we really wish to see you again soon!

Should you need any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at generalmanager@thesamara.com

Sincerely,

Stefano Facchini
General Manager
The Samara - Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We just stayed a few days at this hotel. We had a great time, the location is great, close to Ubud and right in the middle of the rice fields.
All the staff were great and always trying to help us in anything we needed. Another plus, the hotel is small and because of this, the attention you get is much better than in a big hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 6 which is the last one and just next to the rice fields and this gives you more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria55541903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The Samara is a great place to stay if you want to get away from the mainstream villas/hotels and get up in the rice fields while still having access to the amazingly delicious and cheap food of Ubud. In some reviews people complain about the distance from the main strip, however the staff are more than happy to throw you onto the back of a scooter and zip you down to the main strip for free - which is actually entertaining at times (be sure to contact them prior to arriving so they can come and pick you and your luggage up at the bottom of the hill). The scenery is fantastic here and as in other reviews the staff are perfect - extremely nice, great english, interested in you and your daily events and will do everything in their power to make your stay a bit nicer. The rooms are outstanding and i could not fault anything about them - the staff even sneak in while you are out for dinner and prepare the room for sleep time. Outdoor shower caps it off! Breakfast was probably the best we have had in Bali and the room service food is great.

This place is in the middle of the rice fields and with this comes the night time noises of the local wild life - frogs, ducks and beware the Tokek Gekko. Can be very enjoyable at times however pack your ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same i imagine. There are only six and i think #1 would be the quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.9 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samara

Property: The Samara
Address: Jalan Kajeng, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samara Hotel Ubud
The Samara Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing