We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Samara
Ranked #3 of 512 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I spent the first part of our honeymoon to Bali in Ubud at The Samara! What a wonderful experience! The staff were absolutely lovely. Beautiful setting and close enough to the main road and attractions, if you fit to walk! Unfortunately, it rainned through most of stay which made the walk to and from town a bit uncomfortable but being a young couple we decided to not let a little rain bother us too much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derusha83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    54
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
254
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Wow wow wow, what an amazing place The Samara is. My husband and I spent 3 nights there which was definitely not long enough. From the minute we arrived until we left the staff were all amazing. A special mention of the lovely Ayu (not sure of spelling), warm, caring and friendly, she shared with us her life story and we were sad to say goodbye to her. Maday was amazing too, making restaurant bookings for us and following up with all our requests. The actual accommodation was perfect. The bed big was comfortable, the outdoor shower perfect and the fresh fruit every day in the room was wonderful. I loved the motor bike rides back and forth to the resort, although at first I was very nervous, but the drivers make you feel comfortable and safe. A lovely walk into town. I truly loved our stay at this resort and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groningen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Service from owners and staff is excellent. Location in ricefields is nice, however the view is
partly blocked by newly build houses. Rooms 5 and 6 have the best views and privacy .
Rooms 1 - 4 have view to restaurant which is at very short distance and no privacy in the room unless blinds closed, nor on the small terrace (with uncomfortable "kitchen" chairs) facing the restaurant. Sound isolation between the rooms 3 (where we stayed) and 4 proved to be very
unsufficient.

Room Tip: room 5 and 6 have better views and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjimmie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somoro77, General Manager at The Samara, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear sjimmie n, dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Samara.

We are very happy to hear that overall you had a good stay with us.
Our staff is proud to hear that you defined our service as "top". We strive to make everybody feel unique and pampered through a personalised and professional service. All members of our staff take great pride in what they do, and they are the best asset of our operations.

Regarding the view, it has been mentioned already in another review. Unfortunately there are newly built houses about 100meters away from us, and it's true, they partially block the far view over the rice fields. However, all our villas are still surrounded by huge rice fields, and I mean surrounded on all four sides, leaving quite an impressive view to all our guests.

As in all hotels, not all rooms can enjoy the same view, even though we tried to position the rooms in the same way in order to give them a similar view.
The room where you were staying is the one that has the least view, but is not true that rooms 1 to 4 are facing the restaurant: Room1 has unobstructed view; Room2 has a view that I would define 80% unobstructed; Room3 has a 30%; Room4 (next to the pool) 80%; while Room 5 and 6 enjoy 100%.

Regarding the privacy, as in the majority of all other hotels in the world, is not always possible to leave all doors and curtains wide open, especially if you are renting a room and not a private villa.
Currently, we are in the process of building private villas with private pools, to give our guests the choice of having complete privacy, 5-star service, and breathtaking view. Their completion should be July this year (2014), and they will be a great addition to our accommodation options.

If you wish to enjoy once more our top service, and would like to come back, may we suggest you to rent a villa. It will be the best holiday you will ever have.

Me, my wife, and all the staff at The Samara, we thank you for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Stefano Facchini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

What a great experience we had! From the moment we arrived till the day we left, the staff made sure we were well looked after and had everything we needed. Even the owner and his wife were available for advise and help making our adventures easy to arrange. The villas are far enough away from the city to get fresh air and solitude, but close enough to walk to all your favorite restaurants and even the Monkey Forrest! It was so beautiful staying among the rice fields, my now fiancé chose a night under the starts and fireflies at the villas to propose and the next day I awoke to a beautiful bouquet of flowers as a gift from the staff. We had an excellent time, the staff became like family in only 5 days, we will definitely return!

Room Tip: they are expanding so make sure to ask for a room with a rice field view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephchinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here at the start of our honeymoon. Firstly, the staff here really make this place. They are all so lovely and really look after you.

The Samara is about a 15 minute walk from the main street (sorry can't remember the name, but I'm talking about the main street at the corner near Lotus cafe and Starbucks). If you are not into walking, they offer free drop offs and pickups to the main street whenever you need it. They even provide a mobile phone so you can call them when you want a lift back.

The rooms are great. Comfy beds. Semi outdoor showers. Air con. Pay tv. Really there is everything you need. The pool is lovely and clean, and there is an awesome view out over the tiered rice paddies.

The breakfasts and food in the restaurant is really good and reasonably priced. They also do an amazing range of local coffees in French press.

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brendan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My daughter and I spent three nights at this delightful place. Loved the smallness of the place, loved the location which was rural and amongst rice fields but still close enough to walk in to The heart of Ubud. The villa was lovely, contemporary design, lovely big windows to look at the view (villa 5), with a comfy bed and pillows. Outdoor shower was nice. As other reviewers have mentioned there is a smell from the drains in the shower and hand basin when water runs away. It is a little unpleasant, but momentary. I would just shut the bathroom door to isolate it while it lasted. It would not prevent me from staying here again. The staff were marvellous. The breakfasts were excellent with a very reasonable choice. We felt like we had the whole property to ourself most of the time we were around. I thought the ride on the scooters for the last part of the journey to the villas was great fun. First time I have been on the back of a scooter for 40 years and the staff were so careful. We only used this service a few times as we found the walk interesting and easy. We also ate at the Italian restaurant owned by the proprietors and had an excellent meal. I can't wait to return to bring my husband to this great spot.

Room Tip: Ask for the villas furtherest away from the reception, they have the best view of the rice paddies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kez1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The staff is great! They are very attentive and helped us out in all the possible ways! The hotel is small (only 8 suites I think), what makes you feel at home. The view of the rice fields make it even more relaxing. They gave us a cell phone with credit so we could use it during our stay to call the reception and ask for the staff to pick us up at the main street with scooters, so we didn't have to walk all the way to up the hotel. The food in the restaurant is delicious and a reasonable price. The stay comes with breakfast, which, by the way, was amazing! Probably one of my best stays ever! Very romantic for couples.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but if you are in a couple you might want to ask for one with great view to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen-Campinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#8 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.0 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samara

Property: The Samara
Address: Jalan Kajeng, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 512 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samara Hotel Ubud
The Samara Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing