We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”
Review of The Samara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Samara
Ranked #34 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

As always my highlight here in Bali - Ubud Samara Villas keeps its promises - cosy and comfy villas, everyone - the owners Yudi & Stefano and all the staff is extremely helpfull, warm and friendly. It's easy to feel welcome and makes it extremely hard to leave. Looking forward to my next time there. Thank you so much to you all @ Samara Villas!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gal_Actica2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    57
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
267
21
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We loved staying at the Samara. The staff were lovely & the location just beautiful. We had the advantage of staying in the stunning rice fields but we were quickly transported back & forward to the centre of Ubud via scooter whenever we wanted. They supplied us with a phone that we could use to call them any time to arrange a pick up. The rooms were clean and large & the pool was the BEST ever - always warm and inviting! This accommodation offers very good value & I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Ubud.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldtonDebram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novara
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

i have been in the Samara for 5 days together with my wife, everything was perfect, very nice place, in the best surrunding, nice Pool, fantastic breakfast, perfect service. i would go back there anytime!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luca63Novara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in November and had an amazing stay. It was at the end of our 3 week trip and we wanted to fully relax.
The accommodation is really good. Rooms and bathroom are very clean and comfortable. (open shower!) We stayed in room 4, close to the restaurant but still views of the ricefields and pool. The restaurant served a very good breakfast, you can pick eggs/pancakes/ fresh juices/ etc. Try the coffee on the menu (pay a little extra for that) super good Indonesian coffee on there.
Also the dinner was very good, Italian+ Indonesian food. We rented a scooter so we could leave when we wanted but they also drop and pick you up (i believe)when going to Ubud center. People/Staff are super friendly and professional here. We had a great stay and definately come back!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have the best views of the rice fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I spent the first part of our honeymoon to Bali in Ubud at The Samara! What a wonderful experience! The staff were absolutely lovely. Beautiful setting and close enough to the main road and attractions, if you fit to walk! Unfortunately, it rainned through most of stay which made the walk to and from town a bit uncomfortable but being a young couple we decided to not let a little rain bother us too much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derusha83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Wow wow wow, what an amazing place The Samara is. My husband and I spent 3 nights there which was definitely not long enough. From the minute we arrived until we left the staff were all amazing. A special mention of the lovely Ayu (not sure of spelling), warm, caring and friendly, she shared with us her life story and we were sad to say goodbye to her. Maday was amazing too, making restaurant bookings for us and following up with all our requests. The actual accommodation was perfect. The bed big was comfortable, the outdoor shower perfect and the fresh fruit every day in the room was wonderful. I loved the motor bike rides back and forth to the resort, although at first I was very nervous, but the drivers make you feel comfortable and safe. A lovely walk into town. I truly loved our stay at this resort and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groningen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Service from owners and staff is excellent. Location in ricefields is nice, however the view is
partly blocked by newly build houses. Rooms 5 and 6 have the best views and privacy .
Rooms 1 - 4 have view to restaurant which is at very short distance and no privacy in the room unless blinds closed, nor on the small terrace (with uncomfortable "kitchen" chairs) facing the restaurant. Sound isolation between the rooms 3 (where we stayed) and 4 proved to be very
unsufficient.

Room Tip: room 5 and 6 have better views and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjimmie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somoro77, General Manager at The Samara, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear sjimmie n, dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Samara.

We are very happy to hear that overall you had a good stay with us.
Our staff is proud to hear that you defined our service as "top". We strive to make everybody feel unique and pampered through a personalised and professional service. All members of our staff take great pride in what they do, and they are the best asset of our operations.

Regarding the view, it has been mentioned already in another review. Unfortunately there are newly built houses about 100meters away from us, and it's true, they partially block the far view over the rice fields. However, all our villas are still surrounded by huge rice fields, and I mean surrounded on all four sides, leaving quite an impressive view to all our guests.

As in all hotels, not all rooms can enjoy the same view, even though we tried to position the rooms in the same way in order to give them a similar view.
The room where you were staying is the one that has the least view, but is not true that rooms 1 to 4 are facing the restaurant: Room1 has unobstructed view; Room2 has a view that I would define 80% unobstructed; Room3 has a 30%; Room4 (next to the pool) 80%; while Room 5 and 6 enjoy 100%.

Regarding the privacy, as in the majority of all other hotels in the world, is not always possible to leave all doors and curtains wide open, especially if you are renting a room and not a private villa.
Currently, we are in the process of building private villas with private pools, to give our guests the choice of having complete privacy, 5-star service, and breathtaking view. Their completion should be July this year (2014), and they will be a great addition to our accommodation options.

If you wish to enjoy once more our top service, and would like to come back, may we suggest you to rent a villa. It will be the best holiday you will ever have.

Me, my wife, and all the staff at The Samara, we thank you for your feedback, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Stefano Facchini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#23 of 196 in Ubud
748 reviews
0.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#11 of 196 in Ubud
350 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,157 reviews
1.5 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samara

Property: The Samara
Address: Jalan Kajeng, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samara Hotel Ubud
The Samara Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing