We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Samara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Samara
Ranked #18 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We came looking for a peaceful and relaxing retreat and this is what we found - far enough from the crowds but not too far for an evening walk for dinner. The bungalows are simple, clean and well designed - equally relaxing inside or outside on the terrace. In the morning we relaxed watching the fields next door being prepared for planting. The staff is professional and friendly - responding to questions and providing great suggestions for walks and other places to go. It was 10 days well-spent!!! Thinking of coming back next year. Thanks - terry & JP

Room Tip: The last bungalow - 6 is the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sihamoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    54
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
257
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

we have been there for the second time, and this place is still one of the best in Ubud! discover it yourself, its just worth it! a magic place in the middle of peaceful ricefields.
BTW if you order spaghetti arrabiata for dinner, aks the crew and chef for special Bali-sambal - THIS is real arrabiata!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoLeVien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The very few lovely bungalows are new, well designed and perfect located close to the center of Ubud but away from the traffic - just perfect! The staff is very friendly, incredible helpful and always with a smile ready to serve the guests. We decided to stay a day longer than actually planed and had to change a booking with Garuda. They managed everything, from the hotline to the online banking payment. Stefano is a great host, full of ideas, funny and obviously happy with what they have achieved! Thanks a lot for everything, Sebastian and Isabel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

While even Ubud sometimes get crowded, this wonderful little hotel overlooking the serenity of the rice fields gives you the extra that you are looking for going to Ubud just a free lift from the hotel personnel on a motorbike away from town. Wonderful decorated rooms with a shower closer to nature that you can ever get. Food and staff perfect.
Price quality outstanding.
Going back to Ubud this is the place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flobard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

As always my highlight here in Bali - Ubud Samara Villas keeps its promises - cosy and comfy villas, everyone - the owners Yudi & Stefano and all the staff is extremely helpfull, warm and friendly. It's easy to feel welcome and makes it extremely hard to leave. Looking forward to my next time there. Thank you so much to you all @ Samara Villas!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gal_Actica2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We loved staying at the Samara. The staff were lovely & the location just beautiful. We had the advantage of staying in the stunning rice fields but we were quickly transported back & forward to the centre of Ubud via scooter whenever we wanted. They supplied us with a phone that we could use to call them any time to arrange a pick up. The rooms were clean and large & the pool was the BEST ever - always warm and inviting! This accommodation offers very good value & I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Ubud.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldtonDebram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novara
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

i have been in the Samara for 5 days together with my wife, everything was perfect, very nice place, in the best surrunding, nice Pool, fantastic breakfast, perfect service. i would go back there anytime!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luca63Novara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.5 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#10 of 195 in Ubud
323 reviews
0.9 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 195 in Ubud
194 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
674 reviews
1.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samara

Property: The Samara
Address: Jalan Kajeng, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samara Hotel Ubud
The Samara Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing