We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate - just do it!”
Review of Bali Eco Cycling

Bali Eco Cycling
Ranked #11 of 169 Outdoor Activities in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cycle downhill through rural roads, plantations, fields, and rice terraces, inhale the fresh air, feel the unique spirit and feel the magic of rural Bali. This full service day trip includes pick up and drop off in most parts of Bali. It includes a buffet breakfast at The Lookout Restaurant in Kintamani, with an amazing view of Mt Batur and Lake Batur, as well as a brief stop at a coffee plantation to taste local coffee and spices. A splendid feast of Balinese food awaits you at the end of the tour (some guests say this is their best meal in Bali! The cycling sure builds up a healthy appetite).
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
PMQ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate - just do it!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

If you want a series of great Bali experiences all wrapped up in a very inexpensive day package avoid the rip off trips that your hotel will make for you and contact Bali Budaya (Bali Eco) Tours direct. They are great to deal with and take care of everything. We were picked up from our Nusa Dua Hotel, collected a few more happy travellers along the way and then headed off to the Lakeview Restaurant overlooking Lake Batur for a great breakfast. Then it was on to a coffee plantation to learn about local coffees, herbs and spices and to enjoy a huge range of coffees including Kopi Luwak (the Civet cat poo coffee) which really was very smooth and delicious. Then on to collect our mountain bikes for the downhill run through quaint villages, rice paddies and stunning scenery to the tour company's own restaurant for a wonderful Balinese banquet.
Joe, the English speaking guide was extremely knowledgeable and funny as a fit - he could easily give up tour guiding and go on the stand up comedy circuit.
There were just so many fantastic sights along the way including a visit to a family compound to get an insight into just how rural Balinese families live and a completely unexpected temple re-blessing ceremony that had the entire village population dressed up and involved, closing the village main street for nearly an hour.
The experience was fantastic and the cycling very manageable - so don't hesitate, just do it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,228
    253
    70
    31
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Professional, Family friendly”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a very good guide who spoke fluent English, is engaging and very knowledgeable. I expected some cycling but it turned out to be a truly memorable Bali experience. My 3 young kids were seated on 2 tandem bikes and 1 rear child seat. We are a part of 5 adults & 3 children escorted by 3 staff riders and a mini bus in the rear, very impressive safety coverage and logistics plan!

When the convoy comes to a stop, the rear staff rider will come up immediately to my wife's bike to help unbuckle my youngest child.

My fav part was visiting a rice field during harvesting and getting some hands on action with cutting the rice stalks, thrashing them to remove the grains & winnowing the chaff from the grains.

The meal served at the end of the ride was some pretty decent Indonesian stuff!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheeps21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Trip!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We did Bali Eco cycling last week and it was a great day! Starts with a visit to a local coffee plantation where you learn about local herbs,spices and plants and can taste a lot of different varieties of coffee/tea. After that you get a great breakfast with a picturesque view - breathtaking and hard to focus on your brekky ;). Then you get to choose a bike and helmet and off you go, downhill most of the time, stopping every now and then for a great landscape or some insights on Balinese culture. Snacks and water are supplied. If you feel fit you can do an extra 8km uphill race to get to the restaurant for lunch - or you take the bus. lunch was great as well, delicious balinese food. great and friendly staff, can highly recommend it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jannis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Magnificent Mt Batur Sunrise Trek”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were picked up at 2 am at our hotel in Sanur for our sunrise trek up Mount Batur. We drove to Ubud where we were supplied with water and torches and met our trek guide Nyoman. Together, our group of 4 (my husband, our two sons aged 13 and 9 and myself), Rocky (our English speaking guide) and Nyoman began our trek in the darkness up the side of the volcano. The trek was pretty easy going at first, but about half way up it started to get steep. The last 45 mins provided the challenge as in the darkness the ground was rocky and steep. Nyoman and Rocky afforded us many rest breaks to catch our breath and have a drink. Our children found the trek easy and it was only my husband and myself who had to push ourselves a little! We made it to the crater in plenty of time to see the sunrise and were given steaming hot coffee, delicious peanuts, boiled eggs, banana sandwiches and chocolate to refuel our bodies. We watched a breathtaking sunrise over an incredible setting before we began to explore the crater. Other trekkers chose to continue approximately 100 metres to the absolute summit for the rim walk, but our guide explained that the ground was loose and slippery and not particularly safe for younger hikers and we appreciated that our children's safety was of such importance to the company. Instead, we explored the steam vents and ventured a little way into the crater. Our guide Nyoman was mindful of our children's safety the entire time and Rocky was knowledgable and informative about the region and its history and culture. I found it a spectacular trip to experience, and something that has created a beautiful memory for my family- standing at the summit of a volcano watching the sun break over the world!. Our tour guides and driver were fantastic. We met other tour guides on this trek who operate for this company and found them to be excellent as well. The trip down was quick and easy and we were rewarded with a cool juice and a comfortable trip home. We were back at the hotel by 10 am and still able to enjoy another full day of our holiday! This was a fantastic way to spend our day and a unique experience to add to our travel diary. I highly recommend the trip to anyone looking for an active holiday experience- don't forget to bring your camera for some spectacular sunrise shots!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali Eco C, General Manager at Bali Eco Cycling, responded to this review, 6 April 2015
Thank you for reviewing the Mt Batur Sunrise trek with Bali Eco Tours.

I'm glad you and your family had a great hike and challenged yourself to the top of Mt Batur. The sunrise is definitely worth it. Wishing you all the best for your world travels this year,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Recommend this tour”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We did this tour it was great having breakfast over looking the mountains breath taking, bike riding was exciting & seeing some "real" Bali excellent would highly recommend this tour to everyone including non Bike riders

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bali Eco Cycling also viewed

 

Been to Bali Eco Cycling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing