We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, lovely gardens” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kertiyasa Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kertiyasa Bungalow
Ranked #162 of 514 Ubud B&B and Inns
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location, lovely gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were satisfied with our stay here. The gardens are very well tended and the pool is sparkling. The rooms are large and the A/C the best we had in Bali. The staff were smiling and gracious, although we couldn't be certain if anyone there "really" understood english.
That said, we could not get the water to be warm (bizarre considering how hot it is outside) and the room had quite a few ants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    42
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
63
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Lovely part of Ubud.
Away from the hustle & bustle and only a stones throw to the main area via a passage through Monkey Forest.
Rooms were huge! And good value for money.
Thing to watch is that standard room does not come with a television (which would be considered standard in any other international hotel room).
Service was excellent - a couple of small mix ups and there are some language barriers, but overall excellent.
Food was very good in the restaurant. We loved the breakfast - so much food!
We also had dinner there and the food was fresh & plentiful.
Drop off into Ubud was a little strange (ie timings of 9am, 10am, 3pm & 10pm) but when a taxi is only $5, lets not split hairs!
Would definitely recommend the place.
Also, be mindful there are no phones in the standard room, so if you need anything from front office, you need to walk there (but its ok - its not that far!).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MenaTiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Presented with welcome drink on arrival, bags were taken up to my room. Climb to room was very steep, do not recommend upstairs room to those with bad knees or heart conditions. Chose room with Jacuzzi, large spa bottom was covered in dead mosquitos, took about an hour to fill and same again to empty, only used once. Had to ask for soap as not provided, hotel esp bought soap bar for me, which was lovely. A couple of the staff seemed unimpressed to serve, giving strange looks when I requested a cup of tea after my coffee in the morning, however Lao was very helpful, he went out of his way to be kind and assist. Lovely views and garden. Pool refreshing, but lots of chorline, towels only provided in morning. No cocktails served, at pool or in restaurant. Charged for water, 10,000 rp / 300 ml bottle, no facility to refill, very unimprssed, as drinking water should be offered for free by hotel. Bed was very hard, didn't have mosquito net, some noise from street during the night. Noise from TV in next room made sleep impossible until turned off. Room cleaned daily, laundry service efficient but clothes returned next day, not same day as promised. Drop off in Ubud at certain times only 9am, 3, 6 & 10pm. Pickup scetchy, needed to pre-arrange time with hotel, which was inconvenient as who knows when you'll be finished, picked up from Jazz at 10pm, no prob. Arranged 3 pm pickup from centre was forgotten by hotel & had half hour wait in heat and noisy street. Suggest using taxi to get back. 40-50,000 rp. Walk through Monkey forest is nice. Breakfast simple, had to ask to be given advertised items, servings small. Omlette was not cooked inside. Dinner was nice, tasty, again small servings. This side of Ubud is quiet, nice to be away from the bustle of Ubud central.

Room Tip: Upstairs room has steep steps to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feelingr00vy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I loved my stay here. The room was simple but nice - huge room, great air conditioning, nice view of garden and pool. The location is awesome - Nyuh Kuning Village. Ubud is bustling and noisy, which is great for activities of all kinds, but not great for sleeping. However, this hotel is in a quiet area of town. You will need to take a taxi to/from the city center. The walk would probably be 30 minutes or more, and Ubud streets are confusing. But, it's a quick and cheap taxi ride, about 30,000-50,000IDR or $3-$5. Pool was cool and clean. Breakfast is simple & tasty. The wifi didn't work well in my room, but that was only a minor annoyance. Try the retaurant next door- Swasti Eco Cottages. It's a great little spot with healthy organic options, a cozy pillow covered dining area and great wifi. This place is a great value!

Room Tip: 2nd floor with pool view felt secluded and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Sometimes it doesn't take more than just a smile to make people feel good and the staff in this bungalow seem to understand that.

As we first stepped in to the lobby we were greeted with a very warm welcome from the staff. It was raining that night and we were soaking wet from riding the motor bike. One of the staff immediately took a quick action to dry up our small luggage and helmets. They offered us a welcome drink, a cucumber juice with a hint of celery which was completely refreshing! They also offered us a cold face towel, and trust me it smelled really good.

We stayed in the Standard Jacuzzi room. The room was big, yet it looked a little bit tired. Our room has a huge balcony which overlooks the volcano, and I was really happy with it. I loved the bathroom though, it somehow holds an exotic, mystical aura.

They have 3 options for breakfast which were American, Continental, and Indonesian. I chose the American breakfast and the price was reasonable! It wasn't a buffet and I was glad because everything was made fresh, including the cinnamon roll which I loved the most.

The location is perfect for us. It was next to the monkey forest and it was just behind the Monkey Forest Road with strips of shops and restaurants.

Overall we had a pleasant stay at the Kertiyasa Bungalow. Great value, great staff, and great food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pa_war21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

I have stayed here a number of times and keep coming back. Kertiyasa is on the quiet side of the Monkey Forrest in Ubud which I find a blessing. The grounds are very well maintained and allow you to fully relax after being out amongst the hustle and bustle of bali, like a visit to the Ubud markets.

We stayed in a standard bungalow that was nicely outfitted, clean, presentable and attended to regularly. After breakfast you'll find the room fixed and the aircon on again. Of an evening you will find your bed turned down and a mosquito coil lit outside; it's the small things that amount to service in my books. The room size and bathroom size was excellent and sitting outside on the balcony looking out at the grounds was great for just relaxing and chatting.

The staff are very helpful and the included breakfasts are great. I very much enjoyed my daily mihun goreng, juice, tea/coffee and fruit platter, although the "American breakfast" was great too.

Try and meet Made, he is extremely helpful and a wonderfully warm inviting host. He organised a few day trips for us that were wonderful. Personally I like a warm friendly smile and someone to talk to you about your day.

The niggles were minor like patchy wifi. I will most certainly be back again. I'm sitting writing this in Seminyak and in my room I can hear the traffic, I'd give up the TV here for the peace and quite back in Nyuh Kuning any day.

Room Tip: All the rooms I've stayed in so far have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at Kertiyasa Bungalow for over two weeks in January. January is the rainy season so we were happy to see large umbrellas in every room. We had a suite with an upstairs bedroom and kitchen, with 2 tv's. The large bed was comfortable, the air conditioning worked when we needed it, ( just a few times after hot walks to Ubud) but the fans were enough most of the time. There is a clean pool, open meeting room, welcoming staff and a view of Mt. Agung from upstairs. The grounds are well kept and the rooms cleaned thoroughly daily. But my favorite was the restaurant I only ate the Indonesian and vegetarian dishes but the was enough variety for a different meal every day for 2 weeks. The hotel is located on the other side of the monkey forest from Ubud in a quiet community. NOT FOR PARTY CROWD. Ideal for writing and relaxing.

Room Tip: Look for upper rooms if you want a view of the Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciniecalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#143 of 193 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ons Hostel
Ons Hostel
#168 of 514 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puri Asri Villa & Spa
Puri Asri Villa & Spa
#74 of 522 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loka Pala Villa
Loka Pala Villa
#90 of 522 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bali Putra Villa
Bali Putra Villa
#226 of 514 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chili Cottage
Chili Cottage
#39 of 522 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kertiyasa Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kertiyasa Bungalow

Property: Kertiyasa Bungalow
Address: Jl. Nyuh Bojog, Banjar Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 514 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kertiyasa Bungalow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Kertiyasa Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kertiyasa Bungalow Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing