We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best accommodations around”
Review of Kertiyasa Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kertiyasa Bungalow
Ranked #163 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best accommodations around”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

When we arrived at this accommodation the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were extremely friendly and couldn't have helped enough. Bags were taken upto our rooms, we were welcomed with a lovely refreshing drink.
Prices were fantastic, and the food was amazing, especially the spring rolls. All freshly made with fast service.
The staff were brilliant with our children, they would sit down and draw with my 5 year old daughter, and always called her by her first name.
It is extremely clean, and in a brilliant location, not far from the monkey forest or other restaurants ( although Kertiyassa is by far the best in the area)
I could not speak highly enough of this place.
We are currently staying at the Novotel and Kertiyassa puts this place to shame.. Wish we hadn't changed accommodation.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savanna8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    44
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
65
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Kertiyasa Bungalows is a group of small cottage style bunglows with nice ambience and decorations.
Plus:-
The door designs and room layout was exciting. The doors and windows are simple wooden frames. The rooms gave a feeling of stay in a village side house. Liked it very much. We stayed for two days and it was fun.
The hotel attached is good option for dinner when you cant venture out in the city. Has nice and tasty menu.

Now the downside:-
The bathrooms were not up the mark. The hot water comes only after keeping the tab open for 3-10 mins. The Spa room was not as advertised. The shower in that room never got hot water.
There is not telephone shower but rather a fixed shower. No shower cap provided.


The AC was not strong enough and used to perform lesser mid way into the night.
The path were slippery and my friend slipped during night time. Luckily he fell on the adjacent lawn. Swimming pool is only from 6 am to 7 PM when people are out for sightseeing. So better dont opt for this hotel unless you are keen on spending time by poolside during the not-so-hot afternoons in Ubud.
The hotel was once full-packed at dinner time and they actually requested us not to order anything more if we are not ready to wait for as long as 40 min to 1 hour. We were a group of 6 people and managed amongs the dishes already arrived after one hour. So never ordered after that. The attitude of the staff serving the breakfast was not so welcoming. The menu was missing an OR at strategic place. We were asked to choose any main dish whereas we thought we could order 2 main dishes. Caused confusion and some face making on the part of the waiters/service persons.

Last day when we returned from our half day tour we were asked to pay in cash. When we asked while cheking in they said cash or card is ok. But on checkout the electricty is not available. We had to scrap out all the available cash and then spend extra 20 min getting the cash converted on the way to Kuta.

Wont recommend unless this is the last option left in whole of UBUD.

Room Tip: choose one with garden view and top floor. checkin early to get to choose rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

The place is very peaceful with good surrounding and clean room. Some of the staff is friendly. Was looking forward for a good spa and massage at the hotel but couldn't find any nearby, not much facilities in the room, requested for laundry bag and toiletries but not attended. Swimming pool is open 24 hour but there was no light at all. Knocked the edge few times and gave up swimming,nice pool tho.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Empress V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were satisfied with our stay here. The gardens are very well tended and the pool is sparkling. The rooms are large and the A/C the best we had in Bali. The staff were smiling and gracious, although we couldn't be certain if anyone there "really" understood english.
That said, we could not get the water to be warm (bizarre considering how hot it is outside) and the room had quite a few ants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Lovely part of Ubud.
Away from the hustle & bustle and only a stones throw to the main area via a passage through Monkey Forest.
Rooms were huge! And good value for money.
Thing to watch is that standard room does not come with a television (which would be considered standard in any other international hotel room).
Service was excellent - a couple of small mix ups and there are some language barriers, but overall excellent.
Food was very good in the restaurant. We loved the breakfast - so much food!
We also had dinner there and the food was fresh & plentiful.
Drop off into Ubud was a little strange (ie timings of 9am, 10am, 3pm & 10pm) but when a taxi is only $5, lets not split hairs!
Would definitely recommend the place.
Also, be mindful there are no phones in the standard room, so if you need anything from front office, you need to walk there (but its ok - its not that far!).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MenaTiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Presented with welcome drink on arrival, bags were taken up to my room. Climb to room was very steep, do not recommend upstairs room to those with bad knees or heart conditions. Chose room with Jacuzzi, large spa bottom was covered in dead mosquitos, took about an hour to fill and same again to empty, only used once. Had to ask for soap as not provided, hotel esp bought soap bar for me, which was lovely. A couple of the staff seemed unimpressed to serve, giving strange looks when I requested a cup of tea after my coffee in the morning, however Lao was very helpful, he went out of his way to be kind and assist. Lovely views and garden. Pool refreshing, but lots of chorline, towels only provided in morning. No cocktails served, at pool or in restaurant. Charged for water, 10,000 rp / 300 ml bottle, no facility to refill, very unimprssed, as drinking water should be offered for free by hotel. Bed was very hard, didn't have mosquito net, some noise from street during the night. Noise from TV in next room made sleep impossible until turned off. Room cleaned daily, laundry service efficient but clothes returned next day, not same day as promised. Drop off in Ubud at certain times only 9am, 3, 6 & 10pm. Pickup scetchy, needed to pre-arrange time with hotel, which was inconvenient as who knows when you'll be finished, picked up from Jazz at 10pm, no prob. Arranged 3 pm pickup from centre was forgotten by hotel & had half hour wait in heat and noisy street. Suggest using taxi to get back. 40-50,000 rp. Walk through Monkey forest is nice. Breakfast simple, had to ask to be given advertised items, servings small. Omlette was not cooked inside. Dinner was nice, tasty, again small servings. This side of Ubud is quiet, nice to be away from the bustle of Ubud central.

Room Tip: Upstairs room has steep steps to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feelingr00vy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I loved my stay here. The room was simple but nice - huge room, great air conditioning, nice view of garden and pool. The location is awesome - Nyuh Kuning Village. Ubud is bustling and noisy, which is great for activities of all kinds, but not great for sleeping. However, this hotel is in a quiet area of town. You will need to take a taxi to/from the city center. The walk would probably be 30 minutes or more, and Ubud streets are confusing. But, it's a quick and cheap taxi ride, about 30,000-50,000IDR or $3-$5. Pool was cool and clean. Breakfast is simple & tasty. The wifi didn't work well in my room, but that was only a minor annoyance. Try the retaurant next door- Swasti Eco Cottages. It's a great little spot with healthy organic options, a cozy pillow covered dining area and great wifi. This place is a great value!

Room Tip: 2nd floor with pool view felt secluded and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Chili Cottage
Chili Cottage
#45 of 542 in Ubud
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ons Hostel
Ons Hostel
#349 of 555 in Ubud
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Frangipani Bungalows
Frangipani Bungalows
#97 of 555 in Ubud
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lodtunduh Sari
Lodtunduh Sari
#1 of 4 in Lodtunduh
102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pekak Mangku Guest House
0.4 mi away
Kamandhani Cottage
Kamandhani Cottage
#136 of 555 in Ubud
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kertiyasa Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kertiyasa Bungalow

Property: Kertiyasa Bungalow
Address: Jl. Nyuh Bojog, Banjar Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kertiyasa Bungalow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Kertiyasa Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kertiyasa Bungalow Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing