We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, amenities are king here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lokasari Bungalows Spa & Gallery
Ranked #357 of 598 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Ubud is a noisy place, hidden in the jungle of inner Bali, and Lokasari is JUST off one of the merchant roads, but once inside the doorway a lot of the noise disappears. A convenient shuttle will get you into town, so don't worry about the location unless location is your thing. We appreciated the seclusion (3-5k from city center if that's what you can call the middle of a road with shops and restaurants on it) and the family bungalow. The stone-set paved pathways with vegetation, the koi-filled moat around our bungalow, the Japanese style bathing pool with poolside pagoada were all things we relished. The only downside was the open air holes above the door for gecko entry/egress (who keep the Mosquitos in check?) which kept the AC from being very effective. As parents we appreciated the separate bedroom, though...
There is a kitchenette in that style bungalow,mand dining area, though no real groceries around to make it effective? Perhaps the hotel could recommend some in coming years...
The in-house restaurant offers standard Indonesian fare; the honey fried chicken was especially tasty. Other places to stay? I'm not sure there were really any other sin the vicinity, most places ad eshops for export. Probably more in town, but they were far more expensive...

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Diplonot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed in Lokasari in September 2011. We booked the "Balinese Bungallow". DON'T DO THAT! The bungallow looked very nice from the outside. But inside it was very old and stale. The Bathroom was not really clean and we were not able to close all the windows by ourselves. The toilette-flush was running and noisy. So we changed the room. There are the standard room who are newer than the bungallows. We were more happy whit this room.

Breakfast was included and was quiet good. They have also a restaurant and you can eat very good there. The stuff was very friendly but a little shy.

They have free drop off and pick up from ubud center 5 times a day.

In front of the hotel is a noisy street.

All in all we had pleasant stay in lokasari.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fromin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This is one of those places that looks better in the brochure than what it actually is. Whilst not totally awful, it does have some negatives as well as positives that are worth mentioning.

Positives:
Outside areas - the traditional architecture and well kept garden areas provide a nice contrast to the busy road outside.
Staff - the staff are helpful and polite and tend to leave the guests alone so if you're looking for privacy then this box gets a tick. They even dropped us off in central Ubud for free.
Cleaning service - although its not uncommon to have your room cleaned and fresh towels daily, in this price range it is either non existent or inconsistent. The cleanliness plus the staff helpfulness earn this place three stars.

Negatives:
Road noise - don't think that just because this place is not in central Ubud that it will be peaceful. The road outside the bungalows is as busy, if not busier than Monkey Forest Rd.
A/C - It's unlikely that all a/c units at this place are the same so we probably drew the short straw but the one in our room sounded like a hurricane in our room - even on the lowest setting.
Fish tank - this is a weird one, but the giant fish tank in our bungalow (that only has 2 fish in it) has a water pump that sounds like someone left the tap on. Unless you like the sound of a toilet that won't stop running then you'll need to close the bedroom door.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has quiet A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaliJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: de 4 persoonshuisjes zijn mooier dan de 2 persoonskamers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank judithboogaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank cechviid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jeannine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.1 mi away
Garden View Cottage
Garden View Cottage
#138 of 199 in Ubud
104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#155 of 199 in Ubud
111 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rumah Pakir Dormy Inn
Rumah Pakir Dormy Inn
#218 of 598 in Ubud
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Friendly House Bali
Friendly House Bali
#193 of 598 in Ubud
38 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jalan-Jalan Villa and Spa
0.6 mi away
Citrus Tree Villas - Mangosteen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokasari Bungalows Spa & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokasari Bungalows Spa & Gallery

Address: Jalan Andong - Petulu, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 598 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £12 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lokasari Bungalows Spa & Gallery 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Zenrooms, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lokasari Bungalows Spa & Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokasari Bungalows Spa & Gallery Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing