We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandat Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandat Bali
Ranked #55 of 513 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kuala lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013


I believe i won't be the first to hesitate to review sandat bali. This place is just so special and I totally understand why some of us want to keep this place to ourselves, however, i believe it is our wish that papa and mama will be blessed financially.

This is my very first homestay and I am so glad it is at sandat Bali. The rest have given a comprehensive details on what's available at sandat Bali.

To me, what makes this place truly special are the love and kindness mama and papa have extended to all of us. Of course not forgetting yangbir, putu cantik, kadek and the rest of the extended family that made sandat bali a 'home' for all of us who are far away from home.

They are in the midst of adding more rooms and hopefully by next year more people will get the chance to experience the 'magic' at sandat Bali.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinaTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    26
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
12
48
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I found Sandat Bali by coincidence walking by one morning. Mama helped me to find another buddget place to stay and with many other things. I came for coconut and lunch everyday and evenings wejust chilled out, and these warm and kind people treated me as i was part of the family. Papas treatments were amazing, he truly is a healer and mama's cookings were heaven on earth! I highly recommend!

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank wrrrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

I have traveled the world for years and hands down mama and papa do everthing in their power to make your trip special. Drivers, reflexology by papa, scooters.... Room is large clean and modern designed by their son who picked up a book in Italy on design snd it shows. They are currently adding 6 more rooms to total 11. Mama can get you better prices on everything especially the bali dance nearby. Walk to everywhere although people here dont know why you would walk anywhere when you can ride a scooter.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pablo_espanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. Mama and papa's generosity and friendliness shine through. Not to forget their excellent staff. A real life Bali compound experience with the comfort of a nice small hotel. Our room was basic, comfortable and clean. Also only $25 dollars!!!  

If you can, get a room upstairs. Just a little nicer with your own balcony, they are all nice rooms however. 

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4WDrivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

If you will be in Bali in Ubud, remove all doubt and stay at Sandat Bali! Sdes very friendly hosts, fun atmosphere, and great service! Price per night is very loyal, and the number you get gorgeous!

Special thanks for the excellent physical therapy and massage!!
Thank you for having made ​​our stay unforgettable!!

Sincerely, see you soon!
Inna:)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

The family at Sandat Bali is what makes this place special. I was welcomed and treated like family, even calling them Mama and Papa. Not only do they provide excellent rooms and mouth-watering breakfasts, but they look out for you, giving umbrellas when it looks like rain and traditional Balinese medicine if you're hurt.

I cannot say enough good things about these kind people and their homestay. I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I absolutely loved this place. Every single person who works here will bring a smile to your face. Papa Nyoman is always quick with a joke and a hug, Mama Wayan was constantly inviting (ie. kindly forcing) me to eat lunch or dinner with her from the kitchen, their son (also named Wayan) was always interested in what activities you were up to and eager to help you get a cheaper price for something, Putu and Yan (who serve you breakfast) always had the biggest grins on their faces and they helped me a lot with improving my Bahasa and Balinese (thanks guys!!).
Breakfast is great- banana pancakes and a fruit plate, GREAT coffee (or tea if you're into it) and you can get fresh juice as well. Or, you can get an omelette (one of the best I've ever had) with toast and tomatoes as well as the fruit plate. And, after I got a bit tired of this food (I stayed for over three weeks) they were happy to oblige me when I asked to have toast with tomato and avocado for breakfast.

The rooms come in a couple different varieties. I stayed on the ground floor at the far end- beautiful room, wifi works inside, lovely en suite bathroom and lots of space to hang up clothes and put things away. I paid 150,000/ night. I also stayed a night in one of the first rooms- these are 100,000/night. Doesn't have the same ambience as the more expensive room, but a great deal for what you get- still ensuite bathroom, decent bed, space enough.

But all technicalities aside, this homestay gets its high high ratings because of the family. They are truly tremendous- loving, kind, generous, playful and so so helpful. You won't find a better group of people in Bali. I'm just sad I can't be around for Wayan-son's wedding in mid-March!

Room Tip: Bottom floor room close to the reflexology spot gets wifi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Odah Ayu Guest House
Odah Ayu Guest House
#74 of 513 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santana Bali Home Stay
0.1 mi away
Jati Home Stay
Jati Home Stay
#51 of 513 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Teja Guest House & Gallery
0.4 mi away
Jangkrik Homestay
Jangkrik Homestay
#69 of 513 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desak Putu Putera Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandat Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandat Bali

Property: Sandat Bali
Address: Jl. Sugriwa no. 21, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandat Bali 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandat Bali is a cosy and tranquil family-run homestay located 5 minutes away from Ubud centre. Rooms are delicately furnished in typical Balinese village type setting. All rooms are decorated with Indonesian artifacts and complete with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sandat Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandat Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing