We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt close to home”
Review of Sandat Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandat Bali
Ranked #50 of 622 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I can not explain in words how wonderful, generous, selfless and kind Mama and Papa were. Making you feel at home straight away is one of their biggest attributes when arriving at Sandat Bali. They were so kind and welcoming, I could not have asked for more. I stayed down stairs in one of the smaller rooms but the bed was a King sized bed and every afternoon when I arrived home the bed was made, the room also had a bathroom with a toilet, shower and sink. Every morning breakfast was made which was lovely to wake up to. They had lovely Balinese furniture which made it seem even more beautiful and traditional. Every moment of my stay with Sandat Bali was lovely and if you are looking for an affordable, traditional Balinese home stay with lovely people then Sandat Bali is just the place you're looking for :)

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs have big traditional Balinese doors with Balinese carvings in them which means...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a great time with Mama and Papa on our two nights at Sandat Bali. We stayed in a room that was almost brand new, amazing for the price really! Lovely furniture, hot shower, big bed. The common eating area was a lovely spot to meet up with fellow travelers, met great people here. We felt part of the family, they were always happy to help us, feed us, laugh with us! I hope this place keeps this special feeling and doesn't become too popular as would love to go back!
So close to the main streets of Ubud, just a short walk away!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinLindwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Sandat Bali is a precious pearl on touristy Bali. Mama and Papa would make everything for you (ex: one day I was asking about some exotic fruits and the next morning mama bought them for me on the market; furthermore they help you out with all other questions you might have). The food commonly prepared is delicous and mama makes you eat as much as you can. Whenever I see the flowers with which our bed was decorated each mornig, I gladly think back at the lovely time in Sandat Bali!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarakurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My only reluctance in writing this review is that this place will get so popular it will book out when I want to come back. I stayed here last year and was delighted to come back a year later and discover that the family had realised their dream of building extra rooms, small restaurant and bar (well its on the way).
Rooms are 200 000 RP ($20) a night for two people including breakfast and wi-fi ($15 for a single). Rooms come with your own bathroom and are cleaned daily. I joked with my friend when we went out one morning and left our shoes facing different directions that by the time we came back an hour later they would be all lined up the same way. Yep, I was right.
Breakfast is omelette or pancakes, fresh tropical fruit and tea/coffee, served with a smile. Never disappoints.
Ok so you will be woken by roosters and doves, but I can sure think of worse ways to be woken. There is some construction noise during the day, but this will be wrapped up by the end of the year and didn't prevent my afternoon naps.
Mama can organise anything you need- laundry, fresh coconuts, transport, tours, you name it. Her English is not awesome so be sure to clarify prices, but she can get you a good price.
But the real selling point of this place is the family. They are sweet and caring and genuinely want only to make your experience a great one. Mama wants to know what you are up to all the time and Papa will do his best to crack jokes. Embrace it and you'll have a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My girlfriend and I can’t recommend Sandat Bali enough. It is in a great location and you couldn’t ask for better hosts than mama and papa. They made us feel like part of the family whilst we were there and we also met so many great people staying there. Papa also offers great reflexology treatment; the man is a true healer. The family can honestly not do enough for you and when we return to Bali we will definitely stay there.

Room Tip: Book early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acalagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I booked Sandat Bali after seeing the great reviews on tripadvisor, and I wasn't disappointed. My boyfriend and I are felt very welcome and found the owners very helpful and approachable. The price is fantastic, especially when you realise how close you are to everything. The breakfasts are very tasty (green banana pancakes, yum). We were sad to leave but hope to return soon!!! Thanks Mama and Papa!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiggins H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

we stayed in sandat bali because of all the enthousiastic reviews on tripadvisor but once we were there we started to regret our choice.
we almost couldn't sleep because the chickens cackled starting from 4 o'clock. mama always wanted to sell us her tours, which was a bit of a nuissance. but the worst came later: we just got kicked out. she confirmed us first that we could stay 4 nights although she wasn't happy because there still was a hole in her booking plan. after 3 nights we had to leave. it seemed that she had found someone who wanted to pay more.
we wouldn't go there a second time!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kesmila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
Sandat Glamping Tents
Sandat Glamping Tents
#63 of 199 in Ubud
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Umah Anila
Umah Anila
#41 of 622 in Ubud
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
Nirwa Ubud Homestay
#14 of 622 in Ubud
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Odah Ayu Guest House
Odah Ayu Guest House
#114 of 622 in Ubud
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sumantra House Ubud
Sumantra House Ubud
#40 of 622 in Ubud
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Batu Empug Cottages
Batu Empug Cottages
#98 of 599 in Ubud
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandat Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandat Bali

Address: Jl. Sugriwa no. 21, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 622 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £21 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandat Bali 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandat Bali is a cosy and tranquil family-run homestay located 5 minutes away from Ubud centre. Rooms are delicately furnished in typical Balinese village type setting. All rooms are decorated with Indonesian artifacts and complete with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandat Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandat Bali Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing