We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming and lovely”
Review of Permana Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Permana Cottages
Ranked #452 of 622 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Thank goodness I ran away half way through a booking at a previous location to have been able to discover Permana Cottages. What a find!

This villa I supposes comprises of a number of, maybe 6, individual rooms. They are roomy and well lit and the whole place is set back off the hustle bustle of Jl Bisma. It's still close and walking distance to everything you need and want n Ubud but is accessed by a small path and is charmingly set on lush, gorgeous rice paddies.

For the setting, quietness and solitude, I overlooked small things like a cornice needing repair some walls needing repainting. Some may see these as important, to me, they're inconsequential.

Permana cottages doesn't pretend to be a luxury resort with all its mod cons and this is perhaps why I was so attracted to it. It gave a sense of the 'old' Bali and how simplicity and a beautiful location is all that is needed.

I will definitely make Permana my choice of stay when in Ubud for future trips.

Room Tip: If you want real privacy and a bit of quiet, best not to choose the room directly beside the pool. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitegato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

We had a nice view on the ricefield (ask for a room upstair if you want a better view).
The bathroom is huge and clean.
We had a mosquito net on the bed.
It was one of the nicest breakfast we ever had.
We stayed there 4 nights and we don't regret it.
The good thing that we didn't get harassed by the staff trying to sell us tour like in other hotels!
The bad thing was the swimming pool because it looks a bit dirty and the water is really cold..But the room is really good for the price!

Room Tip: We had a room downstair but ask for a room upstair for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estrella3513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This place was fantastic! It's right in the heart of Ubud, but away from the noise and heat. Because you're in the rice paddies, the temps feel a bit cooler at this place. The pool is awesome and much needed in Ubud. The rooms are spotless too. The guys working here are friendly and will make your eggs to order :) Wayan and Sunday are great guys! They even helped me find another hotel when I returned from Gili Air. I recommend the top corner room, amazing view for both sunrise and sunsets.

Room Tip: Top corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank namastecali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We have stayed at permana cottages a few times and always find the staff cheerful. The rooms are large and the new rooms have air con. The pool needs a bit of maintenance and so do some things in general but that is pretty normal in Bali. The location is great walking distance to everything but still surrounded by rice paddies. A liking for ducks and frogs is a must.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have best views new rooms have aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfcairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The room and terrace is quite spacious, and the view on the ricefields is very nice. This is really the strong point of this stay.
The staff tries to be charming, with good results for people alone or lonely. Yet their service is in fact rather limited: you have to ask continuously for replenishment of hot water, coffee powder, sugar, salt and the weekly changes of blankets and towels. The cleaning is (too) superficially, especially of the bathroom. The water of the swimming pool is turbid, since the dead leaves of the frangipanis besides the pool are falling in it, while it is not cleaned well .
We stayed about 2 months here, but they did not offer a discount for a long stay, though this is custom. So, compare well prices with equivalent places, before accepting any long stay. Credit cards are not accepted.
Choose one of the few rooms, where WiFi is working reasonably. And before finally leaving, check all your belongings, as should be done always.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lodewijkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Permana Cottages is a surprising, special find...a short stroll down a charming laneway draped in greenery and along the edge of the ricefields...Right in Ubud!

Permana Cottages are not really cottages (in the sense that an Australian would imagine). The 3 buildings are 2 or 3 stories high and all of them catch lovely breezes. On a hot afternoon in Ubud, I would wander home to Permana, then sit back on my verandah with a cool drink to enjoy the breeze. The ricefields literally surround Permana, and it is always interesting to watch the goings on in the fields and listen to the distant Gamelan sounds.

There is a swimming pool to enjoy, which is quite beautiful, not huge, and has a section in the shallow end, making it safer for small children. Permana has a boutique hotel feel which I enjoyed very much. A small library of books is available at reception...take a book and keep it if you need to finish it...just leave one in return. Watch the fireflies in the fields under the stars at night. There is no restaurant at Permana, but tea and coffee is always available at your little private table to make for yourself as you please.

I loved Permana and am heading back in the Christmas holidays. It is contemporary, clean, has great views, delicious breakfasts at your little table on your veranda, and is walking distance to everything in Ubud. There are grocery stores in Jalan Bisma as well as shops, internet cafes, beauty spas and art galleries. The fantastic Cafe des Artistes, where I go for my rare steak fix, is just accross the road from the laneway. The boys will be waiting for you to carry your bags to your accommodation and will do everything to make you feel welcome and comfortable. They will organize transport, book your tours, find you a motorbike to hire, advise you on the best places to visit.

You can turn right at the top of the laneway onto Jalan Bisma and walk, cycle or motorbike your way a couple of km's down to Monkey Forest. The views are gorgeous and you will meet friendly Balinese along the way.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loufinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I have stayed at Permana on my last 3 trips to Bali. Whilst there are better places to stay I love Permana for its location next to the rice paddies and away from the main road. Having the ducks, frogs and roosters next to you makes you feel like you are in Bali. It has a casual relaxed feeling due mainly to the great staff there. Breakfasts are delicious and delivered to the outdoor table on your balcony. The rooms and bathrooms need a bit of sprucing up but this is easily overlooked when you take in the overall charm of staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dior101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,874 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
1.4 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 5 in Mas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Permana Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Permana Cottages

Address: Jalan Bisma street, Ubud 80572, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #452 of 622 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £13 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Permana Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Permana Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Permana Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing