We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded expectations; exceptional staff!”
Dining room 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room 2
Living Room to Pool Bathroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Dining room 2
Living Room to Pool
Bathroom 1
Dining Room
Bathroom 2
Bathroom
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Living room
Kitchen
View from pool
Bar between Living Rm. & Kitchen
Daybed/Sofa
Bathroom entry
Bathroom sinks
Pool area
Cut-Stone Tub
From Pool to Living Room
W. Bathroom
Dining Table
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Samantha...
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations; exceptional staff!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Maia (and the entire Villa Agung Khalia complex) is run exceptionally well from start to end. From our pick up to our departure, our stay was nothing short of exceptional. Reservations and booking were efficient, and the staff even provided additional guidance, recommendations and advice even before we arrived and it helped in our vacation planning. Upon arrival at the villa, we were very pleasantly surprised when we realized the villa was actually nicer than the photos we saw on Trip Advisor. The villa is located in a scenic, peaceful, and secluded area on the outskirts of Ubud. Though Ubud is not in walking distance, the villa's drivers are made available almost on demand, but always within 15 minutes either to town, or back to the villa from town (approximately a 10 min drive depending on traffic). Both bedrooms are spacious, with king size beds, well appointed bathrooms and lounge benches. The common area is quite big and a/c is available if needed. The pool was a good size for our two young children, and they enjoyed it tremendously.

The staff here is exceptional! In addition to the wonderful villa, the staff truly makes the stay feel personable and enjoyable.

Only very minor criticism - the couches for the TV area are not very comfortable........but we weren't there to watch TV so wasn't a problem. Also, internet was in and out, but it was definitely more consistent and reliable than what we had in the Seminyak area so I attribute it more to a Bali infrastructure problem more than to anything the Villa can control. When it did work, it was fast enough to stream video.

Overall, a great stay, and we look forward to visiting again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Exceptional staff, comfortable villa
Liked least: TV room furniture
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustySpik...
Yamba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing Setting, Lovely Staff”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We arrived at the villas and we happily surprised by the very friendly staff that made the place cosy to start off with. We were shown to our room and the key facts were explained by the host. After we examined the villa and were very happy with everything especially the bathrooms and the kitchen. Also there were king beds. The was wifi access that was usable but not brilliant. Since our villa was out of town there was about four drivers to drop you in and out of town willingly. We had a good experience with the drivers with one driver only being late once for about 15 minutes. The breakfast provided was nothing flash but it gave out a good vibe. The villa was cleaned every day and was left spotless. Overall this villa was very nice and peaceful with no outside noise. This a perfect location to getaway from the loud noises of the city Ubud. Very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathrooms, friendly staff, views.
Liked least: The couch
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozteddy
brisbane australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I booked this villa based on reviews and they proved to be 100% correct. We stayed for 10 nights and it wasn't enough!
Not sure I could fault anything about the place or the staff who were always smiling and helpful and seemed genuinely interested in our daily itinerary.
It was very peaceful to be surrounded by the rice fields and even though there was building work going on reasonably close by, there was so little machinery used that noise was not a problem. Everything was very well maintained and very private from the rest of the villas at the complex, yet only a minute to reception where there was always a car ready to take us into Ubud. We used the drivers from the villa for several day trips and found them to be excellent, with prices about the same as you could negotiate in Ubud.
Early morning walks through the rice fields as the sun was coming up and the local villagers starting their day was a fantastic experience that I wish I had done every morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naihe
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The villa itself is a good reason for us to come again.”
Reviewed 8 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Villa Agung Maia (its full name) is a new building (less than 1 year). It is separated from Villa Khalia. The distance between each other is about 20 meter. Villa Maia is located in the rice field, you can have a great view: infinite green rice field dotted by a few white heron. You can sit in the shed, enjoy the breeze, read a book, it is so relaxing.
Villa provide transport to and from Ubud centre, therefore, you can have the tranquility in a countryside while not worrying about the isolation from the pubs/crowded people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean swimming pool and the small shed facing to the rice field.
Liked least: no aircon in the living room (you can open the door but be ware of the mosqitos at night)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie1963
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Total relaxation with friendly helpful staff in magnificent surroundings.”
Reviewed 25 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here at Villa Maia for 8 nights and really didn't want to leave. The villa driver collected us from the airport and transported us to our home or the next week. We woke to paradise. The staff were helpful and lovely and always available. We were given a mobile for our trips to town and this really helped us to relax as we would be picked up at our own leisure. We booked massages with two lovely ladies each afternoon at 4pm which just sealed the deal....heaven. The food was always tasty and fresh, and it was great to just laze around our own private pool on some days and have the meal delivered. Ubud itself was terrific as well with plenty of excellent places to eat at and much to see and do. Agung and Guru were easy to organise things with and a pleasure to talk to at all times. We really didn't want to leave and can't wait to get back. Terrific place, highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The setting and the pool.
Liked least: Leaving....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcandga...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Amazing villa in paradise”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely loved this place - could not fault any aspect of our stay. To begin with, the villa is superb - two large air conditioned bedrooms with beautifully appointed decor, both with large outdoor bathrooms with two showers each. the central area is large, spacious and again, fantastically appointed.
The staff are so friendly and attentive (although not overly so). they will arrange anything for you, and because this villa is a little way out of central ubud, they will drive you into the town at a moment's notice, they give you a mobile phone for the duration of your stay, and you just phone them up when you want to be collected. amazing service!
the food, which you can have in the restaurant (there are 4-5 villas in the complex) or in your room is very good. I recommend the nasi goreng! The villa looks out over the paddy fields - wonderful view.
The owners arranged for us to be collected from the airport where we were met by a very friendly chap who had chilled bottles of water for us and drove us in a modern air conditioned SUV.
The property has high speed internet available everywhere and cable tv - not that you will watch it because the view is so amazing. this villa is so peaceful and being out of the hustle and bustle of Ubud is a genuine advantage.

For eating out in Ubud, i recommend the Melting Wok - but you will need to book.

Villa Maia is quite possible the best place I have ever stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful villa, infinity pool, excellent customer service
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal4858
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pleased and blessed to have found, stayed and enjoyed Villa Maia”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

A modern designed villa surrounded by greenery and felt welcomed daily by friendly and gracious staff and Agung himself.

We enjoyed the villa so much that we only stepped out of the villa to have breakfast (you can choose to have it in the villa as well but we are always up late) and dinner out in Ubud via the free shuttle. Massage at the gazebo was a very pleasant experience with fresh breezes of air and nature (i.e. no cheesy chill music in a usual spa)

This place is for serious people who wants to have a quiet retreat and yet not too far away from great ubud food in town and the supermarket. The only troublesome thing is the internet, as we have multiple devices per person (ipad, smartphone, laptops) and have to login each time we like to surf.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: modern facilities in a very peaceful village and served by welcoming hospitable staff
Liked least: internet
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$135
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing