We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, needs some improvements”
Review of Indira Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indira Cottage
Ranked #64 of 604 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Indira Cottage is in a great location although driving there gives you the impression you’re staying miles off on a random track. The road does end up meeting a pathway onto the bend in Monkey Forest Road, right by the forest.

This is less a cottage and more a small guesthouse and looks quite new. We stayed in a room at the back which overlooked part of the forest. It was very quiet and the only thing we were disturbed by is the wildlife in the forest outside.

We heard from other guests that the rooms facing the front had a lot of noise from bikes driving up the laneway. It was sometimes noisy in the corridors of the hotel and the staff don’t seem to be especially considerate of guests sleeping

The room was an OK size with high ceilings. It was sort of lacking in furniture and our ‘twin share’ room was a double bed and a mattress on the floor. There was a nice view into the forest with big sliding doors onto the view but no chairs to sit on to enjoy it. There was no safe deposit box.

Other things I liked were the shower which was powerful and a large cubicle and the green pancakes at breakfast. Breakfast, however, is quite small.

Most of the staff were pleasant but the manager was quite rude and not very useful. He insisted on rudely butting into discussions we had with other stuff and never contributing anything of use and usually ended up aggravating someone.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel away from the noise of the motobikes in the lane
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talltaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Indira Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is a beautiful small resort which represents excellent value for money.
The rooms are spacious and modern, the bathrooms are marble and contemporary.
The staff bend over backwards to attend to your every needs.
Although this hotel does not have a restaurant (but does provide an adequate cooked hearty breakfast), the staff will pick up your pre-ordered food from a modern inexpensive restaurant just 50 metres away (which also provide a discount for in-house guests!!!!)
I have been travelling to Bali for many years staying mostly in 5 star resorts, but I would have to say this resort offers the best value for money!! I can not recommend this place enough.
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank princesssaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

It took a looong way to get to Indira cottage. It’s on the end of the road - jl.Bisma, about 500m from the main road. Through the river and a bumpy road which only fit for 1 car.. i feel like i’m in an offroad journey. But when i got there, i’m impressed because the cottages is so beautiful.. it is located in front of a river an near the monkey forest.. also, it has access to the monkey forest road for person and motorbike only. They has a small parking lot, maybe only fit for 2-3 cars. This is a small hotel with 11 room.

Me and my family stay for 2 nights in superior room (108-110) with garden view. The room was clean, big, and has modern minimalist style. They provide daily mineral water, refrigerator, TV with local channel, AC, plus free WIFI . The bathroom was huge.. very big.. i think i can dance in it. There are shower, bathtub – with hot and cold water, wardrobe, and basic amenities (toothpaste, soap and shampoo). However, there’s no level between room and bathroom and no water drainage near bathtub, so if you take a bath in the bathtub, the water will spill over the floor and make it wet.

The breakfast was good, we can choose 3 types of breakfast : continental, balinese and american. I chose continental breakfast which are omelete & toast, juice and tea, while my husband prefer balinese breakfast - banana pancake, fruit and tea.

Other facilities in this hotel are small swimming pool, laundry service, and 20% discount at Kopi Bali House Cafe, which located near the hotel. Me and my family had dinner in this cafe.. twice.. the food was sooo delicious, and crunchy vanilla was soo yummy.. we really had a great time stayed in Indira cottage. Plus.. treated nicely by the staff and worth the price (about 58 dollar/night). I would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: take the deluxe room on second floor, it has a great view to the river and monkey forest.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rhily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Service is great and the staff are so polite and try and be as helpful as possible. The rooms are nice, but NO hot water for the entire stay, despite constant complaints. This ruined it for me because it is not hot enought to have freezing cold showers. Apparently the owner is not to be disturbed, so the issue cannot be sorted out. Not good enough, I am paying to stay here!! The breakfast was fine, nothing special. Coffee horrid! Unfortunately the location means that it is noisy as it is right on the scooter path onto the main road, motorbike traffic starts from about 5.30am and is very loud. Overall okay, but to be honset I wouldn't stay here again. It wasn't cheap, so the issues should have been sorted out at the beginning. Thanks to the kind staff though for being welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Weezsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

New boutique hotel in Ubud which is clean and has best value for money. As there are only a few rooms available, you really feel like home and the staff with Made is always here to help you.

In comparison to other places in Ubud, the bed linens are clean and the modern and big bath room lets you feel like in a 5 star hotel for a great price. Location is a bit hidden but 2 min to the main road of Ubud.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: bigger bath room in lower floors
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alex p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed in Artini 2 which was highly rated on tripadvisor, but had such a bad experience that we decided to check out after the first night and luckily discovered this place. The hotel is new and hidden in the rice fields next to the Monkey Forest in Ubud. As the hotel does not belong to a big hotel chain there is no marketing done and only few rooms are available.

Advantages:
- Clean and new rooms in a modern design
- Quiet place with a small pool away from the main street and looking over a river towards the monkey forest
- Great location, about 50 meters away from Monkey Forest street (main street in Ubud)
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Best price for value in Ubud

Disadvantages:
- Small street to Monkey Forest street is not paved and take a torch for those few meters at night.

Try to book early as there are only a few rooms available.

Room Tip: Bathrooms in the lower floor are incredible, but on the higher floor it is lighter when sitting in t...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Djuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Really like this place was very good and the prices was good. Was new! The thing I found with all places carry air plugs but other then that is a great great place love the stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MicalleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ubud Inn
Ubud Inn
#160 of 199 in Ubud
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bumi Muwa Ubud
Bumi Muwa Ubud
#63 of 604 in Ubud
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wenara Bali Bungalow
Wenara Bali Bungalow
#169 of 604 in Ubud
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pondok Pundi Village Inn & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dewangga Bungalow
Dewangga Bungalow
#41 of 604 in Ubud
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indira Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indira Cottage

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £17 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indira Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Indira Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indira Cottage Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing