We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, tranquility and service that spoils”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #38 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace, tranquility and service that spoils”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My partner and I stayed here in February in one of the pool villas. They were a nice size with a beautifully finished bathroom with a deep 2 person stone bath. The plunge pool was just that, room for a plunge to cool off but very peaceful surroundings. The only tihng that needs improvement with the villa is there was damp earthy smell from beneath our villa because of the rain, which was a little strong at some times. Inclusive yoga classes in the morning along with a guided rice paddie field walk added to the experience and the welcome foot massage was a nice touch. The staff were attentive, friendly and always greeted you with a smile and I felt they really wanted to be of service.

The breakfast and food at the resort restuarant was an excellent quality and reasonably priced for a resort and the breakfast selection was fantastic. The shuttle to a from Ubud was no hassle and was consistently available on the hour.

I would definitely recommend this immaculate resort with its lush surroundings and attention to service detail!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruceyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    189
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
172
579
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a relatively new (6 month) resort located amidst the rural countryside about 5 km to the north of Ubud. It's not a very large site, but has beautiful landscaping all around and a very attractive pool area. The rooms are reasonably spacious, very clean and have nice bathrooms with a large masonry tub. The scented towels were a nice touch.

It's certainly a perfect place to kick back and relax, or if you're more active, to go walking/jogging in the surrounding country roads. They have a free shuttle to take you to and from Ubud center in about 15mins, so don't let the location put you off!

The breakfast at their in-house restaurant is exceptional and highly recommended. We discovered that they had a dedicated pastry/bread chef on site and this is very apparent in the quality of the bakery basket provided. Definitely get the cinnamon toast & bubur udang (savoury porridge) - Latte's & juices are great too. We didn't get a chance to try the lunch, tea or dinner though.

The staff are exceptionally courteous and polite. They even remembered our room number each time and never failed to make us feel welcome. Overall this is a splendid place to spend your time in Bali, and we'd definitely go back in heartbeat.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor units have a more open view, but the 1st floor rooms and villas are great too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bharath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very nice resort, staff helps you arrange trips etc. Located 15 min drive from Ubud, hourly shuttles take you there and back. Food and breakfast is good, only bad thing is wine doesn't come by the glass. Not a big thing :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moinkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Pool Villa for a week in February and it was a 5 star experience.
I've stayed in some really great hotels over the years and this one is right, right up there. That could be because of the enchanting surroundings or beautifully adorned rooms (which are all brand new), but most likely, it is because of the staff. They are just amazing and I always got the sense that they actually really enjoyed what they were doing. They always went the extra mile to make us happy.
For example, we had a 1am flight but had to check out at noon. The staff organised our bags and trips in to town and then offered us a free massage treatment to help pass the time. That kind of service is rare and exceptional - especially after you have checked out.

Quick tips: Best dishes I think are crispy duck and green mango salad with chicken. The spa is just beautiful - you pay a bit more than if you go to a spa outside the hotel but you would be hard pressed to find one as immaculate and serene as the one at the hotel.
I gave myself the name 'Mojito Mike' even though mike isn't my real name because I couldn't resist drinking Mojitos in the plunge pool. P.S Sri makes a great drink!

Room Tip: Splurge on the pool villa! They are immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_Minibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights during a 9 day trip around Bali. From the minute we arrived, it was a fabulous experience. We loved everything about this hotel!! The hotel is located 10-15 minutes outside of the main area of Ubud and is surrounded by tranquil and beautiful rice paddies. The resort was quiet and peaceful and we instantly felt relaxed. The service is great and all of the staff are super friendly and accommodating. They were extremely helpful when we had questions about the area and wanted help making tour reservations. The restaurant is amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed everything we ordered. Definitely try the Balinese pancakes served every morning as part of the Continental breakfast. They were mouth watering! We particpated in one of the complimentary yoga classes that are offered every morning. It was taught by an older man and his daughter. Not only did we learn a lot about yoga, but we got a really good workout! We also took advantage of the spa at the hotel and got a traditional balinese massage. The massage was great and it turned out to be the perfect way to spend a rainy morning at the resort. We had a room with two twin beds and we were very comfortable. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ubud but looking for a hotel that is slightly removed from the busy downtown area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I had the pleasure to stay in this lovely property for ten nights in early February 2012. Sufficiently distant from the hustle bustle of Ubud central to offer a serene haven. Walking through surrounding villages is wonderful, especially around sunset. The staff at Puri Sunia are delightful, my room was great, the free shuttle service into Ubud is useful. The food in the restaurant is beautifully prepared. With special thanks to Ekko, Buda and Mayun, who treated me exceptionally well, with lots of individualised flair.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

...for anyone wishing to experience the full beauty of Bali. Impossible to fault any aspect of this hotel as you can see from the other reviewers. Was fortunate to be there during a local wedding and village ceremony (see http://youtu.be/LV5rl6C3-jA for photos) both of which the hotel arranged access and transport too. This hotel absolutely deserves its success - keep it up - looking forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#26 of 198 in Ubud
709 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.8 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 198 in Ubud
1,012 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#39 of 198 in Ubud
294 reviews
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#32 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing