We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOTHING TO FAULT ABOUT THIS AMAZING RESULT”
Review of Puri Sunia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puri Sunia Resort
Ranked #39 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“NOTHING TO FAULT ABOUT THIS AMAZING RESULT”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Puri Sunia is an amazing resort. I am a travel agent and decided to stay there to check out this new resort.
Everything was beyond my expectations. The staff were so friendly and kind. The services the resort offers are great. It is a 10 minute drive from town but there is a shuttle that goes every hour.
The food was fantastic. You will not regret staying here.
We stayed in a one bedroom pool villa. It made the stay as you have a private pool, gazebo and great bathroom.

Room Tip: Pool Villa is a must. There are only 3 so you need to book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HOTworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    194
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
180
587
69
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

spa treatments were excellent and reasonably price
i took advantage of the free hourly shuttle to and from Ubud center

Room Tip: i was on second floor with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnellenma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband & I spent 5 nights at Puri Sunia and had we not organised onward accommodation, would gladly have stayed for the remaining 5 of our holiday! This place allowed us to immediately disconnect and relax and we took advantage of all the property has to offer. From the top notch meals in the restaurant, to the very professional spa treatments to organising drivers for day trips or airport transfers, the amazing staff were always there to assist with a smile. I also particpated in the 7 am yoga sessions (thanks Juli!) which were just bliss; peaceful, with the sun coming up and pure, clean air. What a way to start the day. The rice paddy trek is a great way to see the local surrounds and visit Abangan, the small village just up the road from the resort. The staff, as I mentioned, are just amazing. They love to chat and find out about you and where you are from and you really should reciprocate--they are all happy to fill you in on life in this beautiful part of the world (and have a laugh!). I have read that the location was a bit of an issue for a few people but for us, being able to remove ourselves from the noise of downtown Ubud was a definite plus and the complimentary shuttles run so regularly it was never a problem getting in or out. The resort is quite new and embraces the philosophy of hiring and training local people and is owned and operated by a Balinese company; we like this idea very much. Suksma, Puri Sunia, we look foward to visiting you again soon.

Room Tip: Upper suites have decent sized balconies and are a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisiswhywework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is quite some drive from Ubud itself but the courtesy transport is very efficient and was flexible to fit in with me if no one else was requiring transport at the same time. This is accommodation built as part of a government scheme to encourage locals to stay in rural areas and to provide employment for them where they live. So it's a great place to support.

The rooms are beautiful and well decorated. Plenty of amenities to keep even the fussiest traveller happy. It was very quiet when I was there and I saw hardly a soul. That meant I could indulge of the pool myself and enjoyed one to one yoga classes to myself. Unfortunately the yoga instructor was very fresh and still doing the yoga teacher course so it was not of the standrad I was expecting. However, the spa was good value.
The restaurnat is superb. The breakfasts were delicious, varied, and totally amazing.

Even though it was isolated the surrounding countryside is traditional Bali in its glory and its so peaceful. The little Happy Warung which is a short walk down the road has great food at a very cheap rate.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have lovely private balconies to while away the hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here for 5 days recently (March 2012). The location is outside of Ubud, about a 10 minute drive, in a cute little village. There are rice paddies around and lovely scenery. The resort provides an hourly shuttle service into Ubud and back when needed.
My favourite thing about Puri Sunia is the staff. All the staff are so nice and happy. The resort also provided twice daily room service and got the canopy ready over the bed each night and folded down the bed sheets. As it's a small little resort they get to know all the guests names as well. The complimentary yoga each morning was a great start to the day. The yoga centre is in an open pavillion surrounded by trees and is very peaceful.
The food in their restaurant is absolutely amazing, the chef cooks high quality food and I would highly recommend dining there. The presentation of the food is also impressive and the restaurant staff are so friendly and nice.
And I also had a fun experience making coconut leave offerings with the yoga teacher, was so much fun and very interesting to see how they are made.
I would definately stay here again and recommend this resort to others.
Oh and almost forgot, I had a balinese masssage there in the spa centre and it was the best massage I've had in Bali!

Room Tip: we had a room near the pool and restaurant, even though this room was lovely, if you want more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed at Puri Sunia for 2 nights at the end of my 2 week holiday in Bali and found it to be one of the best resorts I have found. The resort is new and the location is 10 minutes from Ubud in the countryside very pretty, quiet and peaceful. The great thing is that a complimentary shuttle leaves hourly to and from Ubud so you can spend as much time in town as you like without having to worry about taxis. The accommodation was very nice with all the facilities you would expect in a resort of this quality, however the best thing about the Puri Sunia for me was the food. The breakfasts were fantastic and even if you had a huge appetite I would doubt you could eat everything provided, and the overall quality of everything on the menu was top class in both presentation and taste. The chef was interested in feedback and just wanted the guests to enjoy the experience which I really did - Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We decided to stay here for the first three days of our one-week in Bali based on the reviews posted on Trip Advisor. In retrospect, we wished we had booked the resort for the whole week. We found the previous positive reviews to be extremely accurate. The resort is nestled outside of Ubud in a beautiful area among the rice paddies and local villagers. You are quickly immersed in how the locals live when you take an early morning guided two-mile walk in the area around the resort. Upon arrival, you are offered a free 15-minute welcoming foot massage. We took advantage of that on our third and final day. Note: mosquitos were not a problem here as the area around the resort is fogged once a week. The complimentary morning breakfasts were great with a number of options including a traditional American breakfast as well as local food such as Nasi Goreng (fried rice with chicken and vegetables) and Mie Goreng (same dish but with noodles). Service was exceptional and extremely gracious. The rooms were comfortably spacious with very nice marbled finished bathrooms. The grounds of the resort are extremely peaceful. You feel you are in a holistically healthy and spiritual place in a very natural way. The serenity is not forced upon you-it is simply present. Free shuttle service to Ubud was great. Ubud is a great little village that is the center of culture and art in Bali. We stayed in Nusa Dua our last 3 days in Bali but next time will stay at Puri Sunia for a week instead of staying at the beach areas of Kuta, Legian, Seminyak, or Nusa Dua. You can hire a driver to visit those areas. If you want a truly relaxing and spiritual experience, stay at the Puri Sunia for a week. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emptynest1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.8 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#24 of 196 in Ubud
748 reviews
3.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.9 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 196 in Ubud
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
347 reviews
3.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Sunia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Sunia Resort

Property: Puri Sunia Resort
Address: Jl. Tirta Tawar, Br. Abangan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Sunia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Puri Sunia Resort - A Peacefully Home in Ubud Bali, Puri Sunia Resort nestled in its own secluded place surrounded by the natural of environment such as beautiful rice paddies, water, coconut trees, Balinese traditional village of Abangan and Kokokan Village, a home of thousand white herons. It's located only 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and cultural. Puri Sunia Resort is derived from Balinese word 'Puri' and 'Sunia'. Puri mean 'a house of King' and Sunia mean 'quiet or peaceful'. Offering 28 rooms in Balinese architecture with 1 Nandini Family Villa Private Pool, 3 Sunia private pool villas, 8 Nandini Suite and 16 Sunia Deluxe rooms. Enhancing the peacefully with meditation and yoga in yoga centre, relax and rejuvenate yourself in our Spa and sunny side at our main pool. You are surrounded by the textures and colour of nature, dressed slate, tiles, smooth unpainted wood, soft homespun, fabrics, intricate worked copper, fragrant alang-alang grass roofing, natural bamboo, rough cut stone, flowers and foliage. Puri Sunia Resort... Where magic happens and all experiences are enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri Sunia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Sunia Hotel Ubud
Puri Sunia Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing